Menu
badayuni92
Just joined
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Simple tp link router

Hi all

I know this question has probably been asked loads of times however I would be grateful for assistance

I am new to virgin and have the hub 3. I am having serious WiFi issues. The connection at the router and in virgins network is fine no issues. The issue is only WiFi related

Essentially Poor speeds and frequent drop outs on all devices even close to the router. I've tried the usual splitting bands changing channels. Running a WiFi analyser and putting my router on the least congested channel. None of which has made any difference at all. I don't have a lot of WiFi devices, my router isn't near any other electrical equipment that could cause interference 

I am not after a top of the line mesh system as that's not required for my needs

Can anyone recommend a simple tp link router below £100 that can offer stable wifi in a average sized 3 bed semi. I am only on the 100mbps package I do see those speeds hard wired. I am okay with only receiving half that over wifi just at long as it is stable

Will the archer a7 or c7 old routers I know. Will they be up to the job?

Any help would be greatly appreciated 

0 Kudos
g0akc
Well-informed
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Simple tp link router

Does it have to be TP Link - it may be worth looking at other makes.  Asus, D Link and others are worth considering

There are some review websites that list routers according to budget and features such as these;

PC Mag 

Expert 

Tech 

Check your requirements in terms of coverage, size of house and speed of the Ethernet ports.  Any Wi-Fi 6 requirement for the future?

The TP Link AX10 looks good value for Wi-Fi 6 ?  I may be missing important features though.

Bear in mind it's Prime Day tomorrow - if you have Amazon Prime - there may be some bargains?