Menu
Reply
Heimriel
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
208 Views
Message 1 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Setup Problem - Wifi Problem - Networking Problem

Hello 

My name is Ralph and I live in Hertford within Hertfordshire, the problem i seem to be having is this:

My router is based in the back room and 9/10 it drops out even with computers connected directly via a network cable or wifi, we also have boosters in our house that do not work properly, we have about 8 devices total that use the wifi. 

2x Laptops

1x Ipad

3x Mobile Phones

2x Amazon Smart devices

The boosters provided have to constantly be reset and reconfigured because for some reason when the router drops it dumps its settings as well. 

I'm using the latest Superhub I know to date as we had an engineer check it out last year in August/November time, he didn't enter the house due to well we shield but he checked it out and said ok he could see there were issues but they would get sorted out. 

My mum runs her own yoga studio and we've had to move all of her equipment from the upstairs studio room to the back room where the router is located just so she can get signal to print documents and use the wifi but still has problems even though she's within breathing distance of the super hub. 

I spoke to someone today at virgin media, I didn't get her name but i'm gonna be honest and say i've just had the worst level of customer support, i've ever received from the technical support team, she sounded so down it makes me feel bad complaining but overall support was awful. 

She checked out the issues and reported there were no problems on her end, as i continue to try and connect devices to the WiFi with no avail, she told me she can't raise an engineer because and i quote "No options on my system to provide additional support" she told me it was a speed issue and I need to raise a complaint before I can even speak to a line manager or troubleshoot my additional issues. 

I have to now wait 24-48 hours before someone calls me to talk about my complaint, but i didn't want make a complaint I wanted to talk to someone who could either help me sort my issue out or direct me to someone who can send a engineer out to have a look at my hardware, as a network engineer myself I know there's a serious issue with the hardware provided ie router losing configuration, boosters constantly resetting w/o interaction. 

We have been with VM since before NTL days so a very long time, I pay a monstrous amount of money each month for our tv service and broadband and we just don't get what we pay for just to put in perspective.

https://www.virginmedia.com/shop/broadband/speeds

I'm paying for M600 and i'm getting M50 and it doesn't matter how many times I talk about this to virgin media support they just ask me to raise a complaint not provide a solution.

Hopefully maybe someone can help me?

0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 30.49K
  • 1.89K
  • 4.05K
Alessandro Volta
205 Views
Message 2 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Setup Problem - Wifi Problem - Networking Problem

What speeds do you get wired direct to the hub and not via the boosters?


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Heimriel
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
195 Views
Message 3 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Setup Problem - Wifi Problem - Networking Problem

This is the wifi and i just restarted the box, it was 40-50 before this post.

Heimriel_0-1619696446960.png

DOWNLOAD Mbps
66.43
 UPLOAD Mbps
36.69

 

Wired i can't currently test at this time. 

Although based on the last speed test I did, I was getting about DOWNLOAD Mbps 120-130 which even then doesn't match up to speed values on their website.

0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 30.49K
  • 1.89K
  • 4.05K
Alessandro Volta
191 Views
Message 4 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Setup Problem - Wifi Problem - Networking Problem

Wifi speeds and connectivity aren’t guaranteed.

Which is why you need to do a wired speed test. 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Heimriel
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
187 Views
Message 5 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Setup Problem - Wifi Problem - Networking Problem

Just to clarify

Wired: 15MS / Download MBPS 67.67 / Upload MBPS 35.47 28/04/2021
Wireless: 13MS / Download MBPS 192.58 / Upload MBPS 36.92 28/04/2021

These were my last two comparison speed tests when I was speaking to my friend yesterday on discord about my issues.
0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 30.49K
  • 1.89K
  • 4.05K
Alessandro Volta
179 Views
Message 6 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Setup Problem - Wifi Problem - Networking Problem

Post the Network, Upstream and Downstream logs from the hubs admin pages back here as text 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Heimriel
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
70 Views
Message 7 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Setup Problem - Wifi Problem - Networking Problem

Downstream:

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

13230000005.140256 qam24
21390000006.440256 qam1
31470000006.540256 qam2
4155000000640256 qam3
5163000000640256 qam4
6171000000640256 qam5
7179000000640256 qam6
81870000005.940256 qam7
91950000005.640256 qam8
102030000005.640256 qam9
112110000005.440256 qam10
122190000005.440256 qam11
13227000000540256 qam12
142350000004.940256 qam13
152430000004.540256 qam14
162510000004.440256 qam15
172590000004.440256 qam16
182670000004.540256 qam17
192750000004.840256 qam18
202830000004.940256 qam19
212910000005.140256 qam20
222990000005.440256 qam21
23307000000540256 qam22
24315000000540256 qam23

Downstream P2:

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.3350
2Locked40.3810
3Locked40.3920
4Locked40.9760
5Locked40.3920
6Locked40.3710
7Locked40.31170
8Locked40.3660
9Locked40.9490
10Locked40.9350
11Locked40.3560
12Locked40.9480
13Locked40.3340
14Locked40.9430
15Locked40.9600
16Locked40.3600
17Locked40.3570
18Locked40.3590
19Locked40.3490
20Locked40.9420
21Locked40.3560
22Locked40.3380
23Locked40.9430
24Locked40.3420

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Heimriel
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
68 Views
Message 8 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Setup Problem - Wifi Problem - Networking Problem

Upstream:

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

12580000043.8512064 qam12
23940000043.8512064 qam8
34620000044512064 qam7
43260000044512064 qam9

Upstream P2:

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0010
4ATDMA0000

 

Network Log for this month: 

Time Priority Description

02/05/2021 09:15:50noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/05/2021 13:21:34ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/04/2021 07:49:17criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/04/2021 11:26:16Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/04/2021 10:37:5noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/04/2021 10:36:23Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/04/2021 16:53:47criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/04/2021 13:09:1Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/04/2021 11:55:1criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/04/2021 11:22:10Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/04/2021 07:01:44criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/04/2021 02:12:7ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/04/2021 19:00:46criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/04/2021 02:12:6ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/04/2021 06:46:40criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/04/2021 14:12:5ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/04/2021 03:20:51criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/04/2021 02:12:4ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/04/2021 01:47:7criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/04/2021 04:05:53ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Heimriel
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
65 Views
Message 9 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Setup Problem - Wifi Problem - Networking Problem

The woman at virgin media told me to enable "Smart WiFi" but since enabling it, our internet will drop for 3-4 hours each day, unsure if this is an issue at Virgin Media's side or not.

Also its been 48 hours since my call on Thursday and i've not received a call back from their Complaints team which is typical, I told them it wouldn't happen this weekend.
0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 30.49K
  • 1.89K
  • 4.05K
Alessandro Volta
56 Views
Message 10 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Setup Problem - Wifi Problem - Networking Problem

What device are you Speedtesting with?

Are you wired direct to the hub and not via a switch or powerline/extender?


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply