cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Second router as WiFi extender

Ismorsman741
Just joined

Hello all, 

I know this post has been recreated in so many ways, so i appreciate any help in fixing this issue i'm having. Also, apologies in advance for any errors in terminology i'm very new to this!

I have a virgin media hub 3.0 downstairs, i have followed all the VM videos about positioning etc etc. i have always had poor signal upstairs, if i try and stream something on netflix sometimes it works, sometimes it buffers for ages, so i decided to but a second router (Wavlink Wi-Fi router Aerial G2) and run an ethernet cable to the second router via the LAN ports. I now have 1 VM wifi network, and 2 networks from my wavlink, i believe these are the 2.4gHz and 5ghZ signals. 

I have done this, and set it up so that anything upstairs is connected to one of the Wavlink wifi networks, and anything downstairs is connected to the VM network. below are the questions i need solving

1: Do i need to change any of the settings on either the VM or wavlink router so that they are talking to each other correctly and not clashing IP address' etc, i've tried reading in to this, but when i get to setting the 'channel' the VM router is on i can't seem to do that in the settings page. if i do, could someone please give me a step by step guide on how to do this (i know that will be hard but if you could it would be the biggest help)

2: is there a way in which i can alter the setting so that the networks, are all one and i do not need to go around connecting everything to the correct router? similar to if you are in a large building, you only connect to one network, but throughout the building there are various routers that your device automatically connects to (i'm assuming the one with the strongest signal)