Menu
Highlighted
Tuning in
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

SIP blocked, Discord blocked, Steam often failing to connect

Hi,

I've recently moved into a property and SIP is disabled. Would it be possible to get this fixed?

Secondly, Discord & Steam seem to be blocked on this connection too. I can tether the same device to my phone, and these services work normally again. I can also connect a corporate VPN & steam/discord work normally again on the Virgin connection.

However, I shouldn't need to connect to a VPN just to access normal services. Why would these be blocked on a Fibre connection? Is this setting determined at the ISP level, or is someone with admin access to the router messing with me? Did I miss the memo about net neutrality or something?

I've tried all the obvious things, as I work in IT for a living - but in my experience this is very likely being blocked by the ISP

Thanks in advance

Ben

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: SIP blocked, Discord blocked, Steam often failing to connect

Have you disabled websafe?
I work for Virgin Media and my posts are my own opinions
Highlighted
Tuning in
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Hi jb

Unfortunately since I'm a tenant I don't have admin access to my router. I would have loved to log in and check.

I also dont think it's anything to do with Websafe - since certain [adult] sites work normally & there's never been children in the house. I could be mistaken though

Many thanks

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

There is a section called virus safe, ive seen that cause issues with VPN and torrents. I might be wrong but it might be worthwhile asking who is in charge of your broadband to log into there account and disable all blocks

Highlighted
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Hello