Dialled in
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

SH 2 in Modem Mode: Unable to ping 3rd party Mail Server

Set up:

SH 2 in Modem Mode

Ubiquity UDM Router

Pi Hole for DNS (OpenDNS)

I have a VPS that runs as a personal mail server.   I have just recent upgraded the VPS and its IP address has changed.  The new IP attached to the FQDN has propagated around to all the major DNS providers.   With the above setup I can no longer ping the IP address or FQDN of the VPS returns the standard "Request Timed Out".   I have gone through 2 VPN services I own and it all works fine.  Other family member on other networks have no issues getting to the server.

Through a process of elimination I have now gotten to the SH 2 being the issue. The SH 2 has been in Modem Modem since the day it was installed well over 5 + years now.  I put the SH 2 into its standard router mode and I can ping my server and access webmail through its FQDN.  This is not my preferred configuration. 

I am a cyber security professional with a good understanding of networks.  Can someone please explain why this work in one configuration but not another. I have checked to see if my Modem Mode IP was blacklisted for some reason but that's fine.  Its plain that the problem lies with the SH 2.

With all of the above, I would be grateful if the Mods could raise a ticket please to have my SH 2 replaced as it appears to be faulty.  More than happy and competent to do self install. Please DM/PM me for account details.

Many thanks 

Thyper

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: SH 2 in Modem Mode: Unable to ping 3rd party Mail Server

Hello

If the ping / webmail works in router mode I very much doubt that the issue is with the hub in modem mode as all traffic is passed to your your router.

If you ping from the pi Hole what happens ?

I don't know the Ubiquity UDM Router but is there any way you can ping from that device ?