Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
261 Views
Message 1 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Router going offline

Hey

I really need some help. Up to 3 to 4 times a day my router knocks off-line. I generally see this has happened as my v6 box shows two broken arrows in white pointing in opposite directions and i have no wifi access. Any v6 is connected via ethernet.

 

There is no set time of day. Some times i get up in the morning and it’s off line even though no one has used a device all night. When it happens i lose services like netflix. 

I tried to take the dynamic wifi function off the router and now my connected oven will not reconnect to it.

Virgin have attended 3 times. I have had 2 replacement hubs and all my wires replaced. They now refuse to attend again (clearly think i am making it up)

Ang ideas? Should i just buy my own router? if so which one?

This is madness

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 15.68K
  • 1.64K
  • 2.67K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
256 Views
Message 2 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Router going offline

If you believe/know that wired connections are ok - is that correct on a computer/laptop connected on ethernet cable? - and you have had several Hubs - the problem lays elsewhere.

So can you try this to see if anything obvious shows up.

-----
First do a quick check that all of your coax cable connections are in nice and "finger" tight - at the Hub and wall box and also at any splitters/attenuators/etc. Ensure there are no “unterminated cable loose ends. Disconnect all the connections and reconnect to be sure. Also check that the internal wiring is ok with no kinking or chaffing, check that all looks good with the outside cabling and wall box.

Then do a Hub “pinhole reset” - disconnect any ethernet cables and with the Hub "switched on" throughout, press pin in firmly with paper clip/SIM tray tool and hold it there for 60 seconds – release the pin then leave it 10’ to stabilise. But, make sure the 2 passwords on the Hub sticker are still there and legible first !

Then Post up your Hub/network connection details and someone will check to see if there is a problem there. In your browser’s URL box type in http://192.168.0.1 (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode) and hit return. On the first page up [there should be no need to login if you have done so before] click on the “router status” icon/text at bottom-middle of first page up and then copy/paste as “Formatted Text” (not images) 3 FULL sets of data onto here – from the Downstream, Upstream, & Network Logs pages. Don't worry too much about the formatting it can be easily read & DON’T include personal data or MAC addresses - blank them out - if you copy/paste the data, the board software will do this for you (you may need to click the "submit" button a second time).

Also, in the meantime, if you haven’t already, set up a free “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” (as per instructions on the TB website) when you have the first 24h period.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
184 Views
Message 3 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Router going offline

Hey

Thanks so much.  I have tried the hard re-start.  I have managed to reconnect my oven which is great but router appeared to go offline at about 13.38 today.  Here's the data.  Does it mean anything?

Downstream bonded channels

Channel

Locked Status

RxMER (dB)

Pre RS Errors

Post RS Errors

1

Locked

38.9

17

0

2

Locked

38.9

7

0

3

Locked

38.6

0

0

4

Locked

38.9

5

0

5

Locked

38.6

13

0

6

Locked

38.6

13

0

7

Locked

38.6

4

0

8

Locked

38.9

0

0

9

Locked

38.6

0

0

10

Locked

38.6

0

0

11

Locked

38.6

0

0

12

Locked

38.6

6

0

13

Locked

38.9

0

0

14

Locked

38.6

0

0

15

Locked

37.6

0

0

16

Locked

38.9

0

0

17

Locked

38.6

0

0

18

Locked

38.6

0

0

19

Locked

40.9

0

0

20

Locked

38.9

0

0

21

Locked

38.9

14

0

22

Locked

40.3

0

0

23

Locked

38.6

5

0

24

Locked

38.9

4

0

Upstream bonded channels

Channel

Frequency (Hz)

Power (dBmV)

Symbol Rate (ksps)

Modulation

Channel ID

1

53700029

4.475

5120

64 qam

2

2

39399959

4.475

5120

64 qam

4

3

46200041

4.475

5120

64 qam

3

4

60300012

4.475

5120

64 qam

1




Upstream bonded channels

Channel

Channel Type

T1 Timeouts

T2 Timeouts

T3 Timeouts

T4 Timeouts

1

ATDMA

0

0

0

0

2

ATDMA

0

0

0

0

3

ATDMA

0

0

0

0

4

ATDMA

0

0

0

0

Network Log

Time

Priority

Description

31/08/2020 12:43:40

notice

LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

30/08/2020 19:14:59

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

30/08/2020 13:50:13

notice

LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

30/08/2020 13:49:55

Warning!

LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

30/08/2020 08:52:33

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

30/08/2020 07:36:20

notice

LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

30/08/2020 07:35:17

Warning!

LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

30/08/2020 04:35:48

notice

NOTICE ATOM is restarted as part of Self Healing Mechanism;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

29/08/2020 19:20:31

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

29/08/2020 19:20:31

critical

Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

29/08/2020 19:20:11

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

29/08/2020 19:20:11

critical

Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

29/08/2020 19:19:12

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

29/08/2020 19:19:11

critical

Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

29/08/2020 19:18:52

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

29/08/2020 19:18:51

critical

Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

29/08/2020 19:17:32

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

29/08/2020 19:17:32

critical

Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

29/08/2020 19:16:12

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

29/08/2020 19:16:12

critical

Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6.19K
  • 460
  • 1.08K
Hero
172 Views
Message 4 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Router going offline

Your stats are good but your log shows too many T3 timeouts. I think that there is noise on the line somewhere.

--
Hub 3.0, TP-Link Archer C8, TP-Link TL-SG1008D 8-port gigabit switch, V6
My Broadband Ping - Roger's VM Broadband Connection
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 15.68K
  • 1.64K
  • 2.67K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
165 Views
Message 5 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Router going offline

You are missing another table of downstream data - can you post that.

Also set up a BQM (like in Roger's sig.) - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” (as per instructions on the TB website) when you have the first 24h period.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality



--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
160 Views
Message 6 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Router going offline

Whoops

Sorry

Just struck up the monitor but think I need to leave 24 hours before getting useful data?

 
Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
14190000005.838256 qam30
21870000004.538256 qam7
3195000000438256 qam8
42030000004.338256 qam9
52110000004.138256 qam10
62190000003.538256 qam11
7227000000438256 qam12
82350000004.438256 qam13
92430000003.438256 qam14
102510000003.537256 qam15
112590000004.538256 qam16
122670000003.738256 qam17
132750000004.338256 qam18
142830000005.540256 qam19
15291000000538256 qam20
162990000004.638256 qam21
17307000000640256 qam22
183150000005.638256 qam23
193230000005.538256 qam24
203790000005.938256 qam25
213870000006.540256 qam26
22395000000638256 qam27
23403000000538256 qam28
244110000006.138256 qam29


Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked38.650
2Locked38.6200
3Locked38.600
4Locked38.650
5Locked38.600
6Locked38.600
7Locked38.660
8Locked38.900
9Locked38.600
10Locked37.600
11Locked38.900
12Locked38.600
13Locked38.600
14Locked40.300
15Locked38.900
16Locked38.9120
17Locked40.300
18Locked38.950
19Locked38.640
20Locked38.900
21Locked40.370
22Locked38.670
23Locked38.680
24Locked38.900
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 1.57K
  • 79
  • 158
Forum Team
Forum Team
114 Views
Message 7 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Router going offline

Hi gster1977, thanks for posting and welcome to our community.

I am sorry that you're experiencing frequent drop outs.  I'd like to take a closer look.  To enable me to do so, I am going to send you a private message.  Please look out for the purple envelope in the top right of your screen.

Regards

 

Lee_R

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 1.57K
  • 79
  • 158
Forum Team
Forum Team
98 Views
Message 8 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Router going offline

Hi gster1977

Just a quick post to confirm, that you're satisfied the forum team have responded and we're willing to help?  If you need us, please don't hesitate in reaching out.

Regards

 

Lee_R

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
90 Views
Message 9 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Router going offline

 

CAn someone tell me how to upload a copy of the broadband monitor into here? 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
76 Views
Message 10 of 22
Flag for a moderator

Re: Router going offline

Does anyone know how to copy a pic of the broadband monitor? If these issues are in relation to a wifi device knocking my router offline, can anyone recommend a router that I could buy that would be more stable than the one provided by virgin media?
0 Kudos
Reply