Menu
Reply
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
119 Views
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Router constantly rebooting, and lots of network log errors

Good morning VM community. 

Since Thursday last week i've been having loads of issues with my internet and/or router.

Said issues include the router rebooting every so often - sometimes more than others - and also loss of connection, whilst the router seems to display no issue on the outside (no warning lights ect however my phone will have the wifi sign with "!" next to it, and will also be using 4g.).

 Anyway, here's a network log i've removed MAC adresses as i've not sure if they're safe to post online... Either way:

Time Priority Description

12/11/2020 10:54:5Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=:af;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/11/2020 10:53:8criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=;CMTS-MAC=;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/11/2020 10:52:46Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=c;CMTS-MAC=:af;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/11/2020 10:52:1criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=c:0b;CMTS-MAC=:af;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/11/2020 10:51:57Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=c0b;CMTS-MAC=:af;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/11/2020 10:51:43criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=0b;CMTS-MAC=2:af;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/11/2020 10:51:36Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=b;CMTS-MAC=02:af;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/11/2020 10:51:19criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=c9:0b;CMTS-MAC=2:af;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/11/2020 10:51:8Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=c:0b;CMTS-MAC=:af;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/11/2020 10:50:59criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=0b;CMTS-MAC=2:af;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/11/2020 10:50:45Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=cb;CMTS-MAC=00f;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/11/2020 10:50:39criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=cb;CMTS-MAC=0f;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/11/2020 10:50:24Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=cb;CMTS-MAC=:af;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/11/2020 10:49:43criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=cb;CMTS-MAC=0f;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/11/2020 10:49:34Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=cb;CMTS-MAC=02:af;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/11/2020 10:49:24criticalUnicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=b;CMTS-MAC=0af;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/11/2020 10:49:19criticalRanging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=cb;CMTS-MAC=0af;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/11/2020 10:49:5criticalUnicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=cb;CMTS-MAC=002:af;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/11/2020 10:49:0criticalRanging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=cb;CMTS-MAC=:af;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/11/2020 10:48:44criticalUnicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=c0:b;CMTS-MAC=002:af;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

I couldnt get hold of VM over phone or chat, and after two days they replied to my tweet and sent me here. I really hope someone can guide me to what the issue is, and how to fix it. 

Thank you in advance

P

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 25.22K
  • 1.45K
  • 3.21K
Alessandro Volta
116 Views
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Router constantly rebooting, and lots of network log errors

Post the downstream and upstream logs too please

*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
114 Views
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Router constantly rebooting, and lots of network log errors

Thanks for such a fast reply, here are the following logs - 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1330750000-10.533256 qam25
2266750000-7.435256 qam17
3274750000-935256 qam18
4282750000-10.734256 qam19
5290750000-8.735256 qam20
6298750000-8.734256 qam21
7306750000-1133256 qam22
8314750000-9.934256 qam23
9322750000-8.735256 qam24
10370750000-1431256 qam26
11378750000-13.432256 qam27
12386750000-15.930256 qam28
13394750000-15.730256 qam29
14402750000-13.231256 qam30
15410750000-14.530256 qam31
16418750000-16.528256 qam32
17426750000-14.930256 qam33
18434750000-1530256 qam34
19442750000-1827256 qam35
20450750000-1827256 qam36
21458750000-16.529256 qam37
22466750000-19.227256 qam38
23474750000-2125256 qam39
24482750000-1927256 qam40



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked33.937430
2Locked35.790
3Locked35240
4Locked34.35050
5Locked35.580
6Locked34.9410
7Locked33.443450
8Locked34.36480
9Locked35260
10Locked31.65059310
11Locked32.31708090
12Locked30.343426230
13Locked30.156041410
14Locked31.92008200
15Locked30.533455470
16Locked28.9174847310
17Locked30.247697720
18Locked30.150086120
19Locked27.92530487025234
20Locked27.625721738226749
21Locked29.2140349660
22Locked27.2243647151839979
23Locked25.86051526181413
24Locked27.2242492051962206

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1603000614.775512064 qam1
2394000044.475512064 qam4
3461999864.525512064 qam3
4537000314.575512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

I have had to restart the router in the last 10-15 minutes, so hopefully it still holds the data you require.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 25.22K
  • 1.45K
  • 3.21K
Alessandro Volta
109 Views
Message 4 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Router constantly rebooting, and lots of network log errors

Your downstream levels are too low and there’s a lot of noise on the line.

Unless there’s an area issue you’ll need an engineer.

*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
104 Views
Message 5 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Router constantly rebooting, and lots of network log errors

Crikey ok, there's no area issue listed on the vm status update, but i'm not sure how accurate that is either... What would cause something like this? Should I try find the nearest cab and see if there's any obvious damage? 

Unfortunately the internet is all under my landlords name, so getting her to book an engineer will be a nightmare as she's not the one affected by it. Is there any other way I can book an engineer do you know? 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 25.22K
  • 1.45K
  • 3.21K
Alessandro Volta
93 Views
Message 6 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Router constantly rebooting, and lots of network log errors

You’d need the account holder to do it

*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply