Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
289 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Replacement for Faulty Superhub 2

We have an old Superhub 2 that looks like it's on the way out. It keeps getting into a cycle of continually rebooting itself, sometimes for over an hour at a time. The Superhub itself completely powers off, slowly starts up again, gives a minute or so of connection and then powers off again. I'm connected directly to the hub via ethernet cable so this isn't something like the wifi dropping out. The hub doesn't respond to pings while this process is going on and the System Up Time in the web UI when things are finally stable again shows just a few minutes, i.e. it really is the hub itself powering off and not a problem with any of our devices connecting to it.

The tests at https://virg.in/service say nothing is wrong but this is what it looked like on Friday and Saturday:

My Broadband Ping - Virgin Media

My Broadband Ping - Virgin Media


I've tried requesting a free upgrade to a Superhub 3 with this link: https://www.virginmedia.com/shop/hub-swap.html?buspart=uk_app_connect2_hubswap but the final confirmation page is for a new contract that adds £5-10 (changes when I go through the form multiple times) to our bill, despite the upgrade FAQ saying there should be no new contract.

I've had no luck getting through on the phone either. Would it be possible for VM staff here to get a replacement hub sent out to us?

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 17.34K
  • 1.82K
  • 3.02K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
278 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Replacement for Faulty Superhub 2

If it is faulty then the quickest option is to call in and report it. See what they say when they test your connection and look at the Hub stats.

Can you post that data here so we can take a look too.

Try calling at 08.00 although I got through fine in 20' on a midweek afternoon. A VM person will get to this but can take several days

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
270 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Replacement for Faulty Superhub 2

Would love to call it in but after ages on hold and multiple recorded messages telling me the call centres are busy and I should try online, I decided to post here. I guess I can set my alarm for 8am tomorrow and try then!

Hub stats are in the spoilers below.

Downstream:

Spoiler
Downstream  DS-1 DS-2 DS-3 DS-4 DS-5 DS-6 DS-7 DS-8
         
Frequency (Hz)203000000211000000219000000227000000235000000243000000251000000259000000
Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)LockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLockedLocked
Channel ID910111213141516
Modulation256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM256QAM
Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)6.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.9520006.952000
Interleave DepthI=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
I=12
J=17
Power Level (dBmV)5.896.165.616.175.625.715.895.43
RxMER (dB)37.3637.9437.3637.9437.9438.2637.9437.94
Pre RS Errors6941637477641522545947492
Post RS Errors547382461389521544946489

 Upstream:

Spoiler
Upstream  US-1 US-2 US-3 US-4
Channel Type2.02.02.02.0
Channel ID9121110
Frequency (Hz)60300000394000004620000053700000
Ranging StatusSuccessSuccessSuccessSuccess
Modulation64QAM64QAM64QAM64QAM
Symbol Rate (Sym/sec)5120000512000051200005120000
Mini-Slot Size2222
Power Level (dBmV)39.5038.0038.0039.50
T1 Timeouts0000
T2 Timeouts0000
T3 Timeouts0000
T4 Timeouts0000

Network Log:

Spoiler
Network Log First Time Last Time Priority Error Number Description
19/10/2020 02:57:16 GMT 19/10/2020 02:57:16 GMT Error (4) 68000411 TOD error 4840 msec
18/10/2020 03:14:24 GMT 18/10/2020 03:14:24 GMT Warning (5) 66050310 Auth Success - Web login successful.
18/10/2020 02:22:46 GMT 18/10/2020 02:22:46 GMT Error (4) 68010302 DHCP WAN IP - xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
18/10/2020 02:21:38 GMT 18/10/2020 02:21:38 GMT Error (4) 68000407 TOD established
Time Not Established Time Not Established Notice (6) 84000510 Downstream Locked Successfully
18/10/2020 02:17:40 GMT 18/10/2020 02:17:40 GMT Error (4) 68010302 DHCP WAN IP - xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
18/10/2020 02:16:30 GMT 18/10/2020 02:16:30 GMT Error (4) 68000407 TOD established
Time Not Established Time Not Established Notice (6) 84000510 Downstream Locked Successfully
18/10/2020 02:12:36 GMT 18/10/2020 02:12:36 GMT Error (4) 68010302 DHCP WAN IP - xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
18/10/2020 02:11:25 GMT 18/10/2020 02:11:25 GMT Error (4) 68000407 TOD established
Time Not Established Time Not Established Notice (6) 84000510 Downstream Locked Successfully
18/10/2020 02:07:32 GMT 18/10/2020 02:07:32 GMT Error (4) 68010302 DHCP WAN IP - xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
18/10/2020 02:06:18 GMT 18/10/2020 02:06:18 GMT Error (4) 68000407 TOD established
Time Not Established Time Not Established Notice (6) 84000510 Downstream Locked Successfully
17/10/2020 16:13:25 GMT 17/10/2020 16:13:25 GMT Error (4) 68010302 DHCP WAN IP - xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
17/10/2020 16:12:23 GMT 17/10/2020 16:12:23 GMT Error (4) 68000407 TOD established
Time Not Established Time Not Established Notice (6) 84000510 Downstream Locked Successfully
17/10/2020 10:51:47 GMT 17/10/2020 10:51:47 GMT Error (4) 68010302 DHCP WAN IP - xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx
17/10/2020 10:50:45 GMT 17/10/2020 10:50:45 GMT Error (4) 68000407 TOD established
Time Not Established Time Not Established Notice (6) 84000510 Downstream Locked Successfully
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4.06K
  • 190
  • 320
Forum Team
Forum Team
146 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Replacement for Faulty Superhub 2

Good Morning dsm_

 

Thanks for your post on our Community Forums and a very warm welcome to you!

 

Sorry to see you've been experiencing issues with the Super Hub 2. 

 

I've been able to look into the stats of the hub and everything is currently appearing to be within spec.

 

Can you tell me if you're still experiencing any connection issues? Can you also tell me if you've been made aware of any local area outages that may have effected your services? 

 

Do you have any updated BQM graphs we can also take a look into?

 

Kindest regards,

 

David_Bn

Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
140 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Replacement for Faulty Superhub 2

Hi David_Bn. Yes, we're still having connection issues - this is from Saturday:

My Broadband Ping - Virgin Media

One thing I should have mentioned in my original post is this didn't start last week, it's been going on for months but there's usually just long enough between restart cycles to trick us into thinking the problem has disappeared.

I've regularly checked the Virgin Media status pages and I've never seen any local area outages reported.

Another thing of note is our WAN IP address changed on Monday at 1am GMT for the first time in years. I'm not sure if this is relevant at all.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4.06K
  • 190
  • 320
Forum Team
Forum Team
123 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Replacement for Faulty Superhub 2

Thanks for coming back to me @dsm_

 

I've gone the to liberty of booking an engineer to come out to see you to replace the hub and run tests on the connection

 

If you log into your self-care account, you will see when the visit is due to take place, and will be able re-schedule this to a more appropriate time and date if required

 

Do please feel free to update the thread once the engineer has finished the required work in your property for the benefit of our other posters

 

Kindest regards,

 

David_Bn

Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
115 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Replacement for Faulty Superhub 2

Hi @David_Bn, thanks for working with us here. Unfortunately, an engineer visit would not be ideal given our home situation under COVID, I hope that's understandable.

Can we try a different track? I would like to complete the Hub swap at https://www.virginmedia.com/shop/hub-swap since I'm fairly confident this would solve our problems but it tries to give us a new, more expensive 12-month contract at the final confirmation.

The page says "Just ordering some free kit? If you can see an unexpected cost on this page, please contact us and we’ll get that sorted".

Could you get this sorted for us, i.e. could you complete the swap for a Hub 3 without changing our contract (as promised in the FAQ)?

Thanks again.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4.06K
  • 190
  • 320
Forum Team
Forum Team
99 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Replacement for Faulty Superhub 2

Thanks for your response dsm_

 

I'll seek to cancel the engineer for you and will order a new hub to be delivered to you

 

This will arrive to your home address and hopefully arrive to you before the end of the week, if not, we may be looking at Monday morning.

 

Do please let the thread know how you get along with the self installation and the connection moving forward

 

Kindest regards,

 

David_Bn

Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
56 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Replacement for Faulty Superhub 2

Thanks again for looking at this, David_Bn.

Would it be possible for you to message me with tracking information for the new hub?

It has yet to arrive and https://my.virginmedia.com/trackorder/view-orders tells me "It looks like you don't have any open orders". I've also tried to get through on the phone again but can't continue until I enter a mobile number. Doing so disconnects me immediately and I get a text with a link to this website.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
29 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Replacement for Faulty Superhub 2

Update on this: the new hub arrived today and is now set up. I'll keep an eye on things for the next few days but hopefully that should be everything sorted.

Thanks again, David_Bn!

0 Kudos
Reply