Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
492 Views
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Repeated Network/Hub 'failure' - no network loop

Hi, first up I can't post any logs at this time as I'm unable to even connect to the Hub homepage for diagnostics. 

Everything has been running fine but suddenly, around an hour or so ago, I lost all connectivity and the Hub lights showed that services were 'restarting'. I'm now in a loop where the network appears briefly - but I'm unable to connect to it (same issues I've had before where I get told wrong password, despite using the factory settings). Soon after that the network disappears completely. 

Hub main light is alternating between solid white, then briefly flashing green, then flashing white.

I've forced a reboot of the hub once, and got about 10 minutes of connection shortly after that, but then it dropped again. 

No issues in the neighbourhood, according to the service status website

 

Any clues on where to start diagnosing this?

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
485 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Repeated Network/Hub 'failure' - no network loop

Managed to retrieve these having got back online (temporarily?)

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

29/12/2019 13:15:48criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/12/2019 13:15:49criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/12/2019 13:15:49criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/12/2019 13:15:50criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/12/2019 13:15:50criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/12/2019 13:15:51criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/12/2019 13:15:51criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/12/2019 13:15:52criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/12/2019 13:15:52criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/12/2019 13:15:53criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/12/2019 13:19:31criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/12/2019 13:19:31criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/12/2019 13:19:32criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/12/2019 13:19:32criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/12/2019 13:19:33criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/12/2019 13:19:33criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/12/2019 13:19:34criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/12/2019 13:19:34criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/12/2019 13:19:35criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/12/2019 13:19:35criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
484 Views
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Repeated Network/Hub 'failure' - no network loop

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

14350000005.340256 qam28
22190000003.440256 qam11
3227000000338256 qam12
42350000002.938256 qam13
52430000002.438256 qam14
62510000001.938256 qam15
72590000002.238256 qam16
8267000000338256 qam17
92750000003.438256 qam18
102830000003.740256 qam19
112910000003.738256 qam20
12299000000438256 qam21
133070000004.140256 qam22
143150000004.340256 qam23
153230000004.540256 qam24
164110000005.140256 qam25
174190000005.340256 qam26
184270000005.140256 qam27
194430000005.340256 qam29
20451000000540256 qam30
214590000005.140256 qam31
224670000005.140256 qam32
23475000000540256 qam33
24483000000540256 qam34



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.300
2Locked40.360
3Locked38.940
4Locked38.940
5Locked38.900
6Locked38.660
7Locked38.670
8Locked38.970
9Locked38.950
10Locked40.350
11Locked38.950
12Locked38.960
13Locked40.350
14Locked40.350
15Locked40.350
16Locked40.300
17Locked40.940
18Locked40.300
19Locked40.360
20Locked40.350
21Locked40.350
22Locked40.350
23Locked40.340
24Locked40.330
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.32K
  • 1.15K
  • 1.81K
Alessandro Volta
476 Views
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Repeated Network/Hub 'failure' - no network loop

You need to bite the bullet and call it in as a fault and see what they say when they test your connection. If there is a known fault get a reference number.

Meanwhile post up the upstream data as well

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
469 Views
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Repeated Network/Hub 'failure' - no network loop

Upstream below, seems stable again for now, but if/when I get it again I;ll log it with them. The thing that confuses me most is the network/hub not even being visible when/after it resets

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1394001394.525512016 qam2
2258000004.525512016 qam4
3325998034.525512016 qam3
4461998614.525512016 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.67K
  • 151
  • 332
Forum Team
Forum Team
372 Views
Message 6 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Repeated Network/Hub 'failure' - no network loop

Hello flipsix3

Thanks for your post 

Sorry though for the past issues you have had 

I have checked a few things from here and everything is looking perfect 

Up and downstream levels are within range 

If it happens again please pop back on here 

Gareth_L

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 6.76K
  • 523
  • 1.12K
Legend
362 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Repeated Network/Hub 'failure' - no network loop

@Gareth_L surely 16 QAM is not the norm and is not good?


Tudor
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't and F people out of 10 who do not understand hexadecimal c1a2a285948293859940d9a49385a2
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.67K
  • 151
  • 332
Forum Team
Forum Team
283 Views
Message 8 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Repeated Network/Hub 'failure' - no network loop

Hello flipsix3

How are things looking now?

Any improvements 

Gareth_L

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 12
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
235 Views
Message 9 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Repeated Network/Hub 'failure' - no network loop

Hi Gareth, apologies hadn't kept track of responses and, to be honest, things *had* been reasonable again however the past couple of days I'm back into frequent repetition of the issue encountered - internet will drop completely and then the hub seems to go into a loop of 'resetting', allowing me to briefly connect, and then falling over again. I've just had the third instance within a 12 hour period. 

 

Is it worth posting further logs at this stage, or do we need to go down the route of booking an engineer visit? It's really quite frustrating because, when the service is up and running, I can;t fault it - but when these "outages" occur they can take a long time to finally resolve themselves (30-40 mins last night)

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 1.33K
  • 67
  • 107
Forum Team
Forum Team
232 Views
Message 10 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Repeated Network/Hub 'failure' - no network loop

I can sense the frustration flipsix3, let me send you a Private Message so I can take a look and try and get to the bottom of it.

 

Lisa

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply