Menu
SuttonGreen
Tuning in
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Received email saying I'm infected with Malware

I am concerned by the unnamed malware issue.  I have McAfee AV on all my connected devices (except tv, phone & tablets).  I keep a daily firewall log and haven't spotted any dodgy outbound traffic. I have recently reported being the target of incoming attacks on port 23.

Is it possible to know what type of traffic the malware is generating - spam email / port scanning / website attacks etc and whether the destination is one specific site / user or flooding?

I was an IT system engineer by trade, so understand technical replies.

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
g0akc
Well-informed
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Received email saying I'm infected with Malware

Run Wireshark on the interface and go through the traces.

Where did this email come from?

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I know a bit about Wi-Fi, Telecoms, and TV as I used to do it for a living but I'm not perfect so don't beat me up... If you make things you make mistakes!
0 Kudos
SuttonGreen
Tuning in
Message 3 of 13
Flag for a moderator