Menu
Reply
andybananas
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
164 Views
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Really intermittant connection...

Since joining in January, my wifi and connection has been pretty hopelessly intermittant.  Ive tried loads of stuff like seperating the 2.4 and 5 GHz, moving closer to the router etc etc. 

The problem is the connection seems to cut out completely, dead, not just loss of 'bars', but completely dead.  It then comes back about 30s later as if by magic, and normally not time for me to see what the light on the router is doing.

Ive read a few posts where people show their network logs, is this something worth doing and if so, what should I be posting?

Thanks in advance

Tags (1)
0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 838
  • 56
  • 118
Well-informed
159 Views
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Really intermittant connection...

Can you post your Hub status and logs?
Someone should be spot if there is a problem
Navigate to http://192.168.0.1 (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode)
Don't log in!
Click on 'router status'
Copy/paste the data from each of the tabs. The forum software will remove the MAC addresses for you (you may need to click the 'post' button again).

Also, set up a 'Broadband Quality Monitor'. This will monitor the state of your connection and record any network dropouts etc - You can do this at ThinkBroadband (https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality)
Give it a while to gather data and then click 'Share Live graph' and paste the 'Direct Link' into the forum!




------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
sophist
  • 2.13K
  • 369
  • 529
Problem sorter
157 Views
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Really intermittant connection...

sounds like automatic channel "optimisation" 🙂

disable this in advanced -> smart wifi options and see if that improves things

0 Kudos
Reply
andybananas
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
147 Views
Message 4 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Really intermittant connection...

OK thanks for the quick advice.  In order, here are the logs (sorry there are a lot of them!).

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
203000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
32600000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online
 

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12030000004.140256 qam9
22110000003.440256 qam10
32190000002.538256 qam11
42270000002.238256 qam12
52350000002.240256 qam13
62430000002.740256 qam14
72510000002.740256 qam15
82590000002.740256 qam16
92670000002.540256 qam17
102750000002.540256 qam18
112830000002.540256 qam19
122910000002.540256 qam20
132990000002.738256 qam21
14307000000340256 qam22
15315000000340256 qam23
16323000000340256 qam24
173310000003.240256 qam25
183710000002.440256 qam26
193790000002.238256 qam27
203870000002.240256 qam28
213950000002.540256 qam29
224030000002.240256 qam30
234110000001.738256 qam31
244190000001.540256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.3490
2Locked40.9530
3Locked38.9980
4Locked38.91430
5Locked40.31270
6Locked40.91250
7Locked40.31360
8Locked40.9990
9Locked40.31400
10Locked40.31380
11Locked40.31300
12Locked40.31330
13Locked38.91550
14Locked40.3890
15Locked40.31090
16Locked40.3830
17Locked40.3500
18Locked40.31090
19Locked38.91100
20Locked40.3810
21Locked40.31170
22Locked40.31020
23Locked38.91300
24Locked40.3910

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13260000040.5512064 qam11
23940000040.8512064 qam8
34620000041.3512064 qam7
42580000040512064 qam12



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0030
2ATDMA0010
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0020

 

0 Kudos
Reply
andybananas
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
144 Views
Message 5 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Really intermittant connection...

And finally the network log.  There seems to be a LOT of 'critical' and 'error' which doesnt look good.  Any help would be great as driving me nuts

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

28/04/2021 10:48:23noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/04/2021 23:57:29criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/04/2021 23:07:15ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/04/2021 19:26:5criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/04/2021 23:24:29ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/04/2021 23:58:44criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/04/2021 09:50:5ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/04/2021 02:38:29criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/04/2021 21:50:5ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/04/2021 16:38:24criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/04/2021 09:50:5ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/04/2021 23:04:25criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/04/2021 21:50:4ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/04/2021 03:16:23criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/04/2021 09:50:4ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/04/2021 12:43:17criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/04/2021 04:43:9ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/04/2021 02:59:41criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/04/2021 13:28:56noticeNOTICE ATOM is restarted as part of Self Healing Mechanism;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:40criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

0 Kudos
Reply
andybananas
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
141 Views
Message 6 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Really intermittant connection...

Smart wifi settings are also set to 'Disable Channel Optimisation'.  Seem to remember advised to do that early on

0 Kudos
Reply
sophist
  • 2.13K
  • 369
  • 529
Problem sorter
107 Views
Message 7 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Really intermittant connection...

nothing obviously wrong with your connection stats or logs (some t3 timeouts, but the log goes back quite a way and a few isn't unusual or a problem).

do you have anything connected to the hub via ethernet?  if so, do wired devices suffer from the same dropouts at the same time as the wifi issues? (my guess would be that they continue to operate as normal, given the state of your connection - it doesn't look like there are any underlying issues)..

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Akua_A
  • 575
  • 12
  • 35
Forum Team
Forum Team
31 Views
Message 8 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Really intermittant connection...

Hi @andybananas.

 

Welcome back to our forums.

 

Sorry to hear about your intermittent connection.  As asked by @sophist do you experience these dropouts on wired devices too? Do all devices lose connection at the same time? Are the drop outs sporadic? 

 

Thanks,

Akua_A
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply