Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
264 Views
Message 1 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Randomly disconnecting

I hope someone can help. I have a SuperHub 3 and have been a VM customer for many years and have been very happy. However I have recently been experiencing random disconnects. I have the VM Hub in Modem Mode and have 2 Asus routers in a mesh setup and this setup has worked flawlessly for a number of years. I have had an engineer visit a number of times and he has replaced / checked all connections and he can find no faults. I have been running TB monitor and can see packet dropouts most days. I'm not sure what I can do next. Hoping someone could take a look at some of the VM settings in case something is not right. Many thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 24.31K
  • 1.39K
  • 3.09K
Alessandro Volta
258 Views
Message 2 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Randomly disconnecting

Post a live view to your BQM graph


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
255 Views
Message 3 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Randomly disconnecting

<a title="Broadband Ping" href="https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/3ae6956e66aa7bebd5963da7a37f0b27b7fb246b">My Broadband Ping</a>

 

Many thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
193 Views
Message 4 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Randomly disconnecting

Could someone take a look at the power levels - are they slightly high and could that make the hub re-boot ?   Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12030000009.640256 qam9
21390000001138256 qam1
314700000010.640256 qam2
415500000010.540256 qam3
516300000010.440256 qam4
617100000010.540256 qam5
717900000010.540256 qam6
818700000010.440256 qam7
91950000001040256 qam8
102110000009.438256 qam10
112190000009.440256 qam11
122270000009.440256 qam12
132350000009.338256 qam13
14243000000938256 qam14
15251000000940256 qam15
16259000000940256 qam16
172670000008.940256 qam17
182750000008.540256 qam18
192830000008.540256 qam19
202910000008.538256 qam20
212990000008.838256 qam21
223070000008.538256 qam22
233150000008.538256 qam23
243230000008.638256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.350
2Locked40.360
3Locked40.350
4Locked40.360
5Locked40.9130
6Locked40.9130
7Locked40.9200
8Locked40.3180
9Locked40.350
10Locked38.940
11Locked40.340
12Locked40.340
13Locked40.300
14Locked40.300
15Locked40.300
16Locked40.300
17Locked40.340
18Locked40.960
19Locked40.950
20Locked38.950
21Locked38.950
22Locked38.940
23Locked38.960
24Locked38.950
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.36K
  • 888
  • 1.45K
Alessandro Volta
187 Views
Message 5 of 17
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Randomly disconnecting

Some of your Downstream Power Levels are too high. (+10dBmV max)

This will need an engineer to put right.

You can either call in (08:00 is the best time) or wait on here for a few days (6 to 7 days average) until one of the VM Forum Staff comes along.

If you wait on here Do Not bump the thread it will put it further down the VM 'to do list'.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 1.86K
  • 69
  • 136
Forum Team
Forum Team
118 Views
Message 6 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Randomly disconnecting

Hi Hamilton62, 

 

Thank you for posting and our apologies for the delay in response. 

 

I am very sorry to hear of the issue you have been experiencing with the service. 

 

After taking a look from our side, I can see you have spoken with the team and had a visit from. 

How have things been since then? Have you seen any improvements?

 

 

Nat
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
106 Views
Message 7 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Randomly disconnecting

Many thanks for your reply .. I was beginning to think the issues had been sorted ! I had no restarts over the weekend however for around 2 hours today i had multiple restarting of the hub. The engineer has adjusted the downstream bonded power levels - i will post the current levels and also a link to the TB live graph. I have no idea what is causing the hub to randomly restart. Has been doing this for the last 3 or 4 months. Sometimes worse than others. Again I appreciate that you are looking into this for me

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/3ae6956e66aa7bebd5963da7a37f0b27b7fb246b

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

120300000010.140256 qam9
22110000009.938256 qam10
32190000009.940256 qam11
42270000009.940256 qam12
52350000009.840256 qam13
62430000009.540256 qam14
72510000009.540256 qam15
82590000009.440256 qam16
92670000009.440256 qam17
10275000000940256 qam18
11283000000940256 qam19
12291000000938256 qam20
132990000009.138256 qam21
14307000000940256 qam22
15315000000938256 qam23
163230000009.140256 qam24
173310000009.140256 qam25
183710000008.940256 qam26
193790000008.940256 qam27
20387000000940256 qam28
213950000008.940256 qam29
22403000000940256 qam30
23411000000940256 qam31
244190000008.540256 qam32

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
92 Views
Message 8 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Randomly disconnecting

Nat 

Hub has been constantally restarting. Managed to take a screenshot just after a restart and the power levels are still too high. I know the engineer has attempted to adjust but as u can see a number are over 10 and those that are below are just below. Could this explain why the hub crashes and restarts ? and can it be adjusted to take levels well below the max ?

Many thanks

Screenshot 2020-11-16 at 23.58.13.png

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 17.22K
  • 1.82K
  • 2.98K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
81 Views
Message 9 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Randomly disconnecting

Did the tech not fit an attenuator onto the co-ax connection to reduce power levels? If so can you check it is still connected and check for a tight fit.

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
50 Views
Message 10 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Randomly disconnecting

Hi John - the engineer that came out removed the attenuator that was fitted and checked and replaced all other connections. I have sent him messages over the last week and he promised to take steps to reduce the levels and overt the weekend things were great and levels mostly below 10 but only just .. most sitting around 9 - 10. But from yesterday afternoon the hub is frequently restarting and power levels are over 10. Just to confirm there is no attenuator fitted.

Many thanks

0 Kudos
Reply