Menu
Reply
Spooklez
  • 26
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
255 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

PostRS errors

Hi all,

I've recently had an engineer out to try and address the PostRS error rate I seem to be getting. He replaced my hub with a brand new one, I'm seeing reduced upstream and upload speeds. I've called the automated line and its not showing any local faults.

Broadband Monitor: 

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/5a9c4264495b03919e58bed3542995e8e865333e

Downstream: 

Downstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1203000000-1.440256 qam9
2211000000-1.540256 qam10
3219000000-1.440256 qam11
4227000000-1.440256 qam12
5235000000-1.240256 qam13
6243000000-2.238256 qam14
7251000000-2.540256 qam15
8259000000-2.540256 qam16
9267000000-2.740256 qam17
10275000000-340256 qam18
11283000000-340256 qam19
12291000000-338256 qam20
13299000000-2.938256 qam21
14307000000-338256 qam22
15315000000-338256 qam23
16323000000-338256 qam24
17331000000-338256 qam25
18339000000-3.238256 qam26
19347000000-3.540256 qam27
20355000000-3.738256 qam28
21363000000-3.740256 qam29
22371000000-4.238256 qam30
23379000000-4.538256 qam31
24387000000-4.538256 qam32


Downstream bonded channelsChannel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1Locked40.3117147
2Locked40.3185156
3Locked40.9120176
4Locked40.9134101
5Locked40.374198
6Locked38.6161103
7Locked40.314591
8Locked40.3163151
9Locked40.320978
10Locked40.3240129
11Locked40.329396
12Locked38.919083
13Locked38.921078
14Locked38.620277
15Locked38.921398
16Locked38.9200100
17Locked38.614685
18Locked38.619496
19Locked40.321989
20Locked38.922959
21Locked40.321955
22Locked38.625964
23Locked38.934267
24Locked38.931529

 

Upstream: 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13939990850.8512064 qam4
24619996650512064 qam3
36030003449.3512064 qam1
45370002949.8512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0030
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 2.54K
  • 189
  • 462
Trouble shooter
241 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: PostRS errors

Upstream power looks borderline high! - That could be it!

How are you measuring the speed reduction - wifi or ethernet? How big is the speed drop?



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
Spooklez
  • 26
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
227 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: PostRS errors

I measured it via Ookla Speedtest, I know its not 100% reliable but thats showing some speed dropout. I normally get 20Mpbs and I'm getting 7Mpbs atm 

11611842656

0 Kudos
Reply
Tudor
  • 8.47K
  • 675
  • 1.52K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
207 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: PostRS errors

Yes, but was it via WiFi or an Ethernet cabled device?


Tudor
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't and F people out of 10 who do not understand hexadecimal c1a2a285948293859940d9a49385a2
0 Kudos
Reply
Spooklez
  • 26
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
143 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: PostRS errors

Via Ethernet cable, I have the box in my office next to my PC.

0 Kudos
Reply
Katie_WT
  • 5.02K
  • 304
  • 569
Forum Team
Forum Team
105 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: PostRS errors

Hi there @Spooklez

 

Welcome back to our Community; so sorry that you're having some errors and upstream issues after getting your new Hub. 

 

I have located your account from your forum information and can see that it's been around 5 days since your hub was rebooted; there are no known area issues showing and no errors listed. However, we can see the same as @lotharmat mentioned your upstream power is looking a bit out of specification. 

 

Can we ask you to do a quick PIN hole reset for us so we can refresh and see what the power levels are once completed? If they are still out of specification we'll get a technician out to take a closer look. 

 

Cheers 

Katie - Forum Team


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
Spooklez
  • 26
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
89 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: PostRS errors

I've done the reset and the problem seems to be getting worse. I'm now seeing 16QAM and upload speeds are dropping to 6Mbps

Upstream bonded channelsChannel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
13940000045.7512016 qam4
24620000045.8512016 qam3
36030000047.5512016 qam1
45370017646512064 qam2


Upstream bonded channelsChannel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0030
3ATDMA0020
4ATDMA0030

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Spooklez
  • 26
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
87 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: PostRS errors

Its now showing 16QAM across the board. 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13940000046512016 qam4
24620000046.5512016 qam3
36030000047.2512016 qam1
45370000047512016 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0030
3ATDMA0020
4ATDMA0030
0 Kudos
Reply
Molly_G
  • 812
  • 38
  • 100
Forum Team
Forum Team
50 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: PostRS errors

Hey @Spooklez,

 

Thanks for dropping back and confirming that. I'm so sorry to see you're continuing to have these issues.

 

Following some further checks since your reset, your levels are still looking out of spec and some download channels seem affected too.

I would like to book another visit so that our engineer can investigate further as to what could be causing this, since this does not appear resolved even with your new hub, .

 

I'll send you a private message and get this booked in with all this noted for the visit. Just look out for the purple envelope please.

 

Kind regards,

Molly_G
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
Molly_G
  • 812
  • 38
  • 100
Forum Team
Forum Team
42 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: PostRS errors

Hey @Spooklez

 

Thanks for coming back to me via private message, this is booked in for you and fully noted for our engineer.

 

Appointments can be viewed and edited via your online My VM Account if needed.

 

Please keep us posted on this - hopefully our engineer will be able to fix this quickly and shed some light on the issue!

 

Many thanks,

Molly_G
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply