Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
138 Views
Message 1 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Poor wifi

4BEE752D-328B-4FF7-953A-6DE5B9DB1AC3.png

I’ve had poor wifi since Thursday morning haven’t been able to do my online uni classes or play Xbox or even watch things on youtube. I’ve set loads of times still doesn’t change anything tried to book an engineer and it said page link has moved. The service status said there is interference in my area but doesn’t say when it would be fixed. On Friday for some reason it worked most of the day except the evening but Thursday and now Saturday it’s not working at all

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.57K
  • 898
  • 1.48K
Alessandro Volta
129 Views
Message 2 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor wifi

What is your contracted speed ?

Which Hub do you have ?

What speed do you get at >> speedtest.net << with a direct connection using a Cat 5E/6 or better cable between the Hub in Router Mode and a 1Gbs capable Pc/Mac/Chromebook and no other devices connected ?

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
125 Views
Message 3 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor wifi

Contracted speed 100mbps

hub 3

it goes up to 100mbps but never finishes a speed test as it keeps dropping every few seconds making it unusable

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.57K
  • 898
  • 1.48K
Alessandro Volta
122 Views
Message 4 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor wifi

Have you checked the 'Check Service Status' at the top of the page ?

If nothing is showing try phoning 0800 561 0061, this will tell you of more local issues that may be affecting your district. Be aware that it isn't a manned line.

Go round all the accessible internal and external co-ax connections and ensure that they are finger tight.

If everything above is OK we need do some more troubleshooting; to start with …

Disable any VPNs that you have running.

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you should post the link straight away.

Post a 'Live Link' to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

Then

 

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

Hub 2 & 3 When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Hub 4 When the page appears LOG IN then click ‘Check Router Status’.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream, Configuration and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow / straw box warning click the Post button again. Use one post for each tab if you wish. Please do not use screen grabs.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 24.46K
  • 1.4K
  • 3.11K
Alessandro Volta
118 Views
Message 5 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor wifi


@Dante135 wrote:

Contracted speed 100mbps

hub 3

it goes up to 100mbps but never finishes a speed test as it keeps dropping every few seconds making it unusable


Is that via an Ethernet connection?


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
115 Views
Message 6 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor wifi

Yes it is with an Ethernet connection

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
111 Views
Message 7 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor wifi

My bqm 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
103 Views
Message 8 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor wifi

My downstream 

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

13310000005.340256 qam25
2203000000740256 qam9
32110000006.940256 qam10
42190000006.940256 qam11
52270000006.840256 qam12
62350000006.540256 qam13
72430000006.540256 qam14
82510000006.140256 qam15
92590000006.340256 qam16
102670000006.140256 qam17
112750000006.440256 qam18
12283000000640256 qam19
132910000006.440256 qam20
14299000000640256 qam21
153070000006.340256 qam22
163150000005.640256 qam23
173230000005.940256 qam24
183390000005.440256 qam26
19347000000540256 qam27
203550000004.940256 qam28
213630000004.340256 qam29
22371000000440256 qam30
23379000000438256 qam31
24387000000440256 qam32

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.57K
  • 898
  • 1.48K
Alessandro Volta
101 Views
Message 9 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor wifi

Looking at your BQM there is a bad connection somewhere on the WAN side.

Double check all the accessible co-ax connectors inside and outside to ensure that they are nice and tight.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
93 Views
Message 10 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor wifi

my downstream

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.340
2Locked40.340
3Locked40.950
4Locked40.970
5Locked40.970
6Locked40.340
7Locked40.350
8Locked40.940
9Locked40.350
10Locked40.3120
11Locked40.360
12Locked40.980
13Locked40.380
14Locked40.960
15Locked40.3180
16Locked40.3130
17Locked40.3170
18Locked40.950
19Locked40.370
20Locked40.360
21Locked40.940
22Locked40.3110
23Locked38.9130
24Locked40.320
0 Kudos
Reply