Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 24
  • 0
  • 3
On our wavelength
278 Views
Message 1 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Poor speed and intermittent loss of service

Hi, just in the last couple of days I've noticed performance issues, including complete loss of service at times. It looks like the dropouts may have subsided, but I am still only getting 90 Mbps on a 200Mbps service. Prior to this weekend all has been fine. I have included my logs and a new BQM below. Any thoughts? Thanks 🙂

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/31dddf87c297d6cec88ecf321a6b9f271809087e

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12990000002.238256 qam21
21870000003.237256 qam7
3195000000337256 qam8
42030000002.737256 qam9
52110000002.737256 qam10
62190000002.937256 qam11
72270000002.937256 qam12
82350000002.738256 qam13
92430000002.538256 qam14
102510000002.538256 qam15
112590000002.238256 qam16
122670000002.238256 qam17
132750000002.238256 qam18
14283000000238256 qam19
15291000000238256 qam20
16307000000238256 qam22
173150000001.937256 qam23
18323000000237256 qam24
194430000000.237256 qam25
20451000000037256 qam26
214590000000.237256 qam27
224670000000.237256 qam28
234750000000.237256 qam29
24483000000037256 qam30



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.650
2Locked37.6140
3Locked37.6200
4Locked37.3130
5Locked37.6110
6Locked37.6140
7Locked37.6130
8Locked38.9300
9Locked38.9150
10Locked38.6100
11Locked38.680
12Locked38.9120
13Locked38.6130
14Locked38.690
15Locked38.6150
16Locked38.6280
17Locked37.6120
18Locked37.6150
19Locked37.640
20Locked37.3120
21Locked37.6110
22Locked37.6210
23Locked37.6240
24Locked37.3120

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

16030001042.3512064 qam1
23940000041.5512064 qam4
34620000041.5512064 qam3
45370000041.8512064 qam2


Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0070
2ATDMA0020
3ATDMA0060
4ATDMA0050

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 24
  • 0
  • 3
On our wavelength
276 Views
Message 2 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor speed and intermittent loss of service

Network Log

Time Priority Description

08/11/2020 10:58:23noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/11/2020 10:57:58Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/11/2020 23:38:24criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/11/2020 10:10:38ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/11/2020 04:47:26criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/10/2020 22:10:37ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/10/2020 10:25:46criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/10/2020 10:10:36ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/10/2020 15:40:53criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/10/2020 22:10:36ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/10/2020 19:23:53criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 10:10:36ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/10/2020 09:13:15criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/10/2020 22:25:28noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/10/2020 22:24:50Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/10/2020 05:15:37criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/10/2020 23:24:57ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/01/1970 00:01:39criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/10/2020 02:48:45noticeSW download Successful - Via NMS
15/10/2020 02:46:15noticeSW Download INIT - Via NMS
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 17.35K
  • 1.82K
  • 3.02K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
250 Views
Message 3 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor speed and intermittent loss of service

All Hub stats look fine - need 24h on the BQM to see if anything is happening.

So are your issues on wifi connected devices only or do you get them on a computer/laptop connected by Cat5e/6/7 ethernet cable? If you dont know (or even if you do) can you run a speedtest like this - if you haven't.

------------
As you expect >100Mbps then connect a 1GB NIC card, enabled computer/laptop, with up to date drivers, via a known good and working Cat5e (or better) ethernet cable, directly to the Hub which you have put into “modem mode” (see VM website for “How To”). Test at speedtest.net (not the App!) to your nearest VM server - try on 2 different browsers.

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
Highlighted
  • 4.37K
  • 743
  • 1.78K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
246 Views
Message 4 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor speed and intermittent loss of service

@jbrennand All Hub stats look fine 

Apart from the T3 timeouts across all upstream channels? 

And what I can see so far of the BQM looks pretty rough, with evidence of momentary packet loss events and massive latency spikes.  I'd agree 24 hours is needed for a full picture, but if it continues like this then it would be the connection, not the OP's devices or network cable.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Highlighted
  • 17.35K
  • 1.82K
  • 3.02K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
238 Views
Message 5 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor speed and intermittent loss of service


@Andruser wrote:

@jbrennand All Hub stats look fine 

Apart from the T3 timeouts across all upstream channels? 


@Andruser   Mmmm - I whizzed past that table to go straight to the logs where there are an odd few well scattered T3's which AIUI is normal - so thought no more about it.  Could the ones noted in the table be "historical accumulation" that would clear out on power off/on?

As you say BQM needs more time, I dont think the first 4 hours looks too bad - not a lot different to mine at "peak time" where everything is fine.  But of course time will tell.     EDIT: they do have evidence of some packet drops though whereas I dont !

Screenshot 2020-11-08 at 14.33.41.png


--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
Highlighted
  • 24
  • 0
  • 3
On our wavelength
213 Views
Message 6 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor speed and intermittent loss of service

Thanks to all for the responses.

Everything is connected with cat5e except one router (see below). I have a funny shaped house and wifi wasn't cutting it so we have wired gigabit routers (three downstairs and two upstairs). One of the upstairs routers is currently connected by cat5 and it serves wifi to half of the upstairs. It's due to be changed (eventually) but to be honest it's not a priority as the devices (phones/tablets) are getting around 50Mbps. All tests were done on a laptop and a desktop, connected via cat5e to a gigabit router, which is connected in turn via cat5e to the hub. The superhub connected devices page reports that everything (bar the upstairs router I mentioned earlier) is connected at 1000Mbps.

I recycled power to the hub yesterday and again today, allowing about five mins downtime yesterday and about 20 mins today. I also recycled all the routers yesterday.

I have just checked the drivers to the laptop nic but they are up to date.

Now, one interesting thing that has happened since I started typing this. The desktop performance has reverted to normal (>200Mbps) but the laptop remains the same (~90Mbps). I did unplug some of the cables on the router in my office and plug them in again and I am afraid I am unsure if they were plugged into the same ports.  Could that have an impact? This I can live with, as the laptop is only used for browsing, email, admin and voip/video conferencing, whereas the desktop is used to upload and download large amounts of raw video data to clients (I'm a video producer). However, I am unclear why the laptop, which seemingly has identical networking spec, would be half the speed. 

Thanks again for your insights. I will continue to monitor performance and report anything of interest.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4.37K
  • 743
  • 1.78K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
212 Views
Message 7 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor speed and intermittent loss of service

@jbrennand Could the ones noted in the table be "historical accumulation" that would clear out on power off/on?

They might be.  The D/S errors are so low that it looks like the hub's very recently been restarted, so if they're "legacy" counts it would mean the U/S error count doesn't get cleared on power cycling, which I suppose is feasible but seems an odd choice. 

Another area where we have no knowledge, and no route to ask the question of VM's experts..

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Highlighted
  • 17.35K
  • 1.82K
  • 3.02K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
207 Views
Message 8 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor speed and intermittent loss of service

I have been on threads where people say they have rebooted the Hubs but the error numbers are the same in the repost. That's why I usually say now... "switch off and unplug for a few minutes" 🙂

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
Highlighted
  • 17.35K
  • 1.82K
  • 3.02K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
202 Views
Message 9 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor speed and intermittent loss of service


@ianstark wrote:


Now, one interesting thing that has happened since I started typing this. The desktop performance has reverted to normal (>200Mbps) but the laptop remains the same (~90Mbps).

Thanks again for your insights. I will continue to monitor performance and report anything of interest.

 


It may still be a network issue as Andruser has suggested, but 90Mbps is always a suspicious number to me as it suggests something in the connection has "defauted" to a 10/100 connection.  Often that is due to the "failing" of an ethernet cable - has happened on a few of mine over the years - so I would always say change that cable to a new solid core Cat6 one (better shielding!).  Or it could be that the NIC card in the device has reset to 10/100 for some reason (software update? bad driver?) - have a look in the lappy's setting for that


--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
Highlighted
  • 24
  • 0
  • 3
On our wavelength
193 Views
Message 10 of 28
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor speed and intermittent loss of service

Just changed the cable for a brand new cat 5e and no change, but I will see if I can dig out a cat 6. I agree that it does look like something has slipped back to 10/100. I have started to look at settings - haven't found anything obvious, but will continue digging. Cheers!

0 Kudos
Reply