Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 27
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
140 Views
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Poor Broadband speed in Bromley area

Back in July, VM were apparently doing work to improve the situation in Bromley. My broadband speed has once again gone down below 10Mb after being back up to usual levels the past week or so. I have got a letter saying to expect work on 20th August to fix an issue, but there;s no mention of this at all on the service status page.

Currently getting < 10mb and it is almost unusable for work. Tried calling and after having to call twice to get past the automaton gave up as on hold for too long.

Setup is Google nest hooked into Hub3 in modem mode. Light on front of Hub looks red to me but I guess could be classed as "Magenta" as it was never red before I switched to modem mode.

Nest is reporting poor internet speed.

How can I find out if there is an area issue once again? VM seem to be good at hiding the actual status of their network and I Can't get through to support.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 7.01K
  • 517
  • 907
Legend
134 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor Broadband speed in Bromley area

Have you checked the 'Check Service Status' at the top of the page ?

If nothing is showing try phoning 0800 561 0061, this will tell you of more local issues that may be affecting the area. Be aware that it isn't a manned line.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 27
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
129 Views
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor Broadband speed in Bromley area

No area issues according to that line, but I remember we had issues for a month and I was receiving credits and not mentioned on that line at all. As I say, I suspect VM deliberately downplay these issues.

Not sure what else to try other than booting the Hub at this point

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 7.01K
  • 517
  • 907
Legend
123 Views
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor Broadband speed in Bromley area

Can you set up a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com - this will give you an insight into what is happening with the signal at the other side of the Hub, it will take a few hours to get any kind of trend showing although you can post the link straight away.

Post a link to your BQM on here.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

 In the URL box paste the link you copied and then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

Then

 

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow warning click the Post button again.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.


My Broadband Ping - 26_Aug_2020
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 27
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
117 Views
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor Broadband speed in Bromley area

Here are the tabs from the Hub page:

 

Downstream

 

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1402750000038256 qam29
22507500000.938256 qam15
32587500000.738256 qam16
42667500000.538256 qam17
52747500000.438256 qam18
62827500000.538256 qam19
72907500000.538256 qam20
82987500000.737256 qam21
9306750000138256 qam22
10314750000138256 qam23
11322750000138256 qam24
123307500000.738256 qam25
133787500000.238256 qam26
14386750000038256 qam27
153947500000.238256 qam28
16410750000-0.238256 qam30
17418750000-0.438256 qam31
18426750000-0.438256 qam32
19434750000-0.438256 qam33
20442750000-0.538256 qam34
21450750000-0.438256 qam35
22458750000-0.738256 qam36
23466750000-138256 qam37
24474750000-1.238256 qam38



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.6140771720
2Locked38.6138371785
3Locked38.95817479
4Locked38.93965418
5Locked38.62131666
6Locked38.91848452
7Locked38.62377511
8Locked37.68055463
9Locked38.94674376
10Locked38.65448381
11Locked38.64594404
12Locked38.62907398
13Locked38.612310573
14Locked38.99279312
15Locked38.68765322
16Locked38.6197354460
17Locked38.92338114995
18Locked38.93930219038
19Locked38.64453425497
20Locked38.64563440046
21Locked38.63630036287
22Locked38.63562933153
23Locked38.94013915661
24Locked38.9268395352

 

Upstream

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1457999814.225512064 qam1
2537000094.225512064 qam4
3274000003.975512064 qam3
4357999884.225512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA000

0

 

I am having to split in 2 because it keeps saying I've exceeded the char limit every time I click Post

I will post the monitor results later.

 

Thanks for your help MikeRobbo

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 27
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
116 Views
Message 6 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor Broadband speed in Bromley area

Network Log

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description
13/08/2020 10:30:42Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/08/2020 19:31:51criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/08/2020 02:33:37noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/08/2020 02:33:37ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/08/2020 02:11:8criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/08/2020 02:01:1criticalDHCP FAILED - Discover sent, no offer received;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/08/2020 01:59:52criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/08/2020 01:58:12criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/08/2020 01:52:9Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/08/2020 01:52:8criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/08/2020 00:08:58criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/08/2020 11:27:57noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsl10016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/08/2020 11:27:57ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/08/2020 01:37:16ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/08/2020 20:19:17criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/08/2020 15:46:40ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/08/2020 02:26:55criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/08/2020 15:35:26noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-rtsl10016u-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/08/2020 15:35:26ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/08/2020 07:42:54ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 7.56K
  • 596
  • 1.28K
Legend
112 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor Broadband speed in Bromley area

Power levels are fine, but the RS errors look high. Unfortunately these re accumulative since the hub was last power cycled, so we need an update set for them to be any use. Please power cycle your hub and post a new full set of stats after a few hours.


Tudor
There are 10 types of people: those who understand binary and those who don't and F people out of 10 who do not understand hexadecimal c1a2a285948293859940d9a49385a2
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 27
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
103 Views
Message 8 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor Broadband speed in Bromley area

I've rebooted the hub and will post results later today.

 

Thanks for your help.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 15.74K
  • 1.65K
  • 2.69K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
100 Views
Message 9 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor Broadband speed in Bromley area

And post a link to the BQM - as per instructions on the TB website for "sharing data"

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 27
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
91 Views
Message 10 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: Poor Broadband speed in Bromley area

I booted my hub about 3 hours ago. Performance is still not great. I don't see any additional alerts in the Network log.

Downstream

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1402750000038256 qam29
22507500000.938256 qam15
32587500000.738256 qam16
42667500000.438256 qam17
52747500000.238256 qam18
62827500000.538256 qam19
72907500000.438256 qam20
82987500000.737256 qam21
9306750000138256 qam22
103147500000.938256 qam23
11322750000138256 qam24
123307500000.738256 qam25
133787500000.238256 qam26
14386750000038256 qam27
15394750000038256 qam28
16410750000-0.238256 qam30
17418750000-0.438256 qam31
18426750000-0.438256 qam32
19434750000-0.538256 qam33
20442750000-0.538256 qam34
21450750000-0.538256 qam35
22458750000-0.738256 qam36
23466750000-138256 qam37
24474750000-1.238256 qam38



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.950
2Locked38.650
3Locked38.950
4Locked38.670
5Locked38.660
6Locked38.6120
7Locked38.6110
8Locked37.650
9Locked38.940
10Locked38.660
11Locked38.670
12Locked38.610
13Locked38.950
14Locked38.650
15Locked38.950
16Locked38.650
17Locked38.650
18Locked38.950
19Locked38.650
20Locked38.960
21Locked38.950
22Locked38.650
23Locked38.950
24Locked38.600
     

 

Upstream

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1457999884.225512064 qam1
2536999664.225512064 qam4
3274000314.025512064 qam3
4357999664.225512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA000

0

 

Log

(no new messages since I booted at 13:00)

Time Priority Description

13/08/2020 10:30:42Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply