Menu
Reply
NiceOneJoey
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
190 Views
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Packet loss

I've been having constant packet loss for a few days now, i first noticed this when playing Escape from Tarkov and assumed it was the game's servers but then web pages and live streams would be really slow to load or randomly buffer unlike before.

I created a BQM and this is my live graph:

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/1709a776c385bd5afe0fe8f12e86068ba4... 

My speed tests have been pretty normal for the most part, however i have noticed that every few tests i will get really low download and upload speeds compared to what i normally get but that will only last for 1 test and be back to normal for the next few tests. I'm not sure if this coincides with packet loss spikes or not, I'm not great with this sort of stuff.

I'd love to know if there's anything i can do on my end, thanks in advance for any help.

 

Andruser
  • 5.55K
  • 972
  • 2.29K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
147 Views
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss

Connect to the hub by clicking on this link http://192.168.0.1/  That should pull up the log in page for the hub.  But don't log in, just click on the link "Check router status"  That'll bring up a window with five tabs.  Open the Downstream tab.  Select all the text (Ctrl-A if using a keyboard), copy it (Ctrl-C), then paste it (Ctrl-V) into a reply here.  Post that, do the same for the Upstream and Network log.  You'll get an error message when you post the Network log, just click on "post" a second time.

Then we can check for any obvious problems with power, noise or error counts.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
NiceOneJoey
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
142 Views
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss

Downstream bonded channels
ChannelFrequency (Hz)Power (dBmV)SNR (dB)ModulationChannel ID
14270000000.540256 qam33
22190000000.540256 qam11
32270000000.540256 qam12
42350000000.440256 qam13
5243000000040256 qam14
62510000000.240256 qam15
72590000000.240256 qam16
82670000000.240256 qam17
92750000000.240256 qam18
102830000000.540256 qam19
112910000000.540256 qam20
122990000000.740256 qam21
133070000000.740256 qam22
14315000000140256 qam23
15323000000140256 qam24
16331000000140256 qam25
173710000000.740256 qam26
18379000000140256 qam27
193870000000.740256 qam28
203950000000.740256 qam29
214030000000.940256 qam30
224110000000.740256 qam31
234190000000.740256 qam32
244350000000.540256 qam34


Downstream bonded channels
ChannelLocked StatusRxMER (dB)Pre RS ErrorsPost RS Errors
1Locked40.970
2Locked40.960
3Locked40.350
4Locked40.370
5Locked40.960
6Locked40.350
7Locked40.930
8Locked40.350
9Locked40.350
10Locked40.370
11Locked40.360
12Locked40.380
13Locked40.3170
14Locked40.3160
15Locked40.960
16Locked40.300
17Locked40.300
18Locked40.950
19Locked40.380
20Locked40.3140
21Locked40.3120
22Locked40.950
23Locked40.350
24Locked40.3170
 
Upstream bonded channels
Channel      Frequency (Hz)Power (dBmV)Symbol Rate (ksps)ModulationChannel ID
13260000048.7512016 qam3
22580000049.7512016 qam4
33940000049512032 qam2
44620000049512064 qam1

Upstream bonded channels
Channel      Channel Type    T1 Timeouts   T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
NiceOneJoey
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
141 Views
Message 4 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss

Network Log

Time Priority Description

17/02/2021 18:56:44criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/02/2021 17:41:17Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/02/2021 03:20:8criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/02/2021 03:20:7criticalUnicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/02/2021 02:44:53criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/02/2021 17:49:57noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/02/2021 17:49:57ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/02/2021 15:41:16criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/02/2021 05:49:57noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/02/2021 05:49:57ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/02/2021 18:17:44criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/02/2021 17:49:57noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/02/2021 17:49:57ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/02/2021 04:10:40criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/02/2021 05:49:57noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt053-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/02/2021 05:49:57ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
02/02/2021 00:27:52criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/02/2021 18:23:35Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/02/2021 18:23:33criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/02/2021 18:23:33Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Andruser
  • 5.55K
  • 972
  • 2.29K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
121 Views
Message 5 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss

Your upstream connection is faulty - modulation is all over the place, and that affects the reliability of the whole connection.  I'll flag that for staff to advise, chances are you'll need a technician visit to fix it, they can arrange that if needed.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
NiceOneJoey
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
105 Views
Message 6 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss

this is the upstream status at the moment

Upstream bonded channels

ChannelFrequency (Hz)Power (dBmV)Symbol Rate (ksps)ModulationChannel ID
13260000049512064 qam3
22580000048.5512064 qam4
33940000049512064 qam2
44620000049512064 qam1

 

also i'm seeing a huge increase in errors on the downstream status page:

Downstream bonded channels

ChannelLocked StatusRxMER (dB)Pre RS ErrorsPost RS Errors
1Locked40.95653917
2Locked40.3136654
3Locked40.3426759
4Locked40.9596757
5Locked40.3586787
6Locked40.9577073
7Locked40.3427424
8Locked40.9427172
9Locked40.9328291
10Locked40.9549251
11Locked40.3277262
12Locked40.95804504
13Locked40.95454597
14Locked40.35924489
15Locked40.95984447
16Locked40.35384579
17Locked40.95954347
18Locked40.96024403
19Locked40.95564032
20Locked40.35614058
21Locked40.35774010
22Locked40.957212708
23Locked40.359212657
24Locked40.364912619

 

The packet loss seems to have gone down to 0% according to my BQM and the overall connection seems stable for now, not sure what any of this means though but that seems like a lot of errors.

0 Kudos
Reply
Chris_W1
  • 3.65K
  • 163
  • 214
Forum Team
Forum Team
62 Views
Message 7 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss

Hi NiceOneJoey, thanks for the message and welcome to the forums. I am sorry to see that you are having issues with the service and will send you over a private message so that this can be looked into further ^Chris

0 Kudos
Reply
Andruser
  • 5.55K
  • 972
  • 2.29K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
38 Views
Message 8 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Packet loss

@NiceOneJoey Error counts are since the last hub restart, and the ones that count are uncorrected - that's the post-RS.  Regarding the upstream modulation, it's quite normal to see it fluctuate.  It SHOULDN'T, but what's happening is that the upstream connection is subject to a noise fault, the hub lowers its modulation rate (the data transfer rate, as an approximation) to try and maintain a stable connection, when it gets too bad then channels are dropped, and that can be either downstream or upstream, leading to dropped connections, poor speeds and packet loss.  When the hub is restarted, or if it gets a sufficiently faulty connection, then it will renegotiate all channels from scratch.  From a user point of view if the hub sees a need to do this it appears like a spontaneous reboot of the hub, but isn't, it's just dropping all channels and trying to secure a working connection from first principles.  This is why a restart often temporarily "fixes" this sort of problem, but it then recurs.  Sometimes the noise is caused by an intermittent connection or equipment fault, which can make finding it a lot trickier for the technicians.

As there's some underlying fault causing these outcomes, it is that underlying fault that needs fixing, and it can be either unique to your connection, requiring a technician, or an area fault (where a technician has to fix it but won't need to visit you).  It COULD be the hub, but on a balance of probability it is vastly more likely to be a noise issue.  So if you get sent a new hub, then don't be too surprised if that doesn't resolve the issue.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks