Menu
Reply
tom2021
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
258 Views
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

OK to add 3rd and 4th Poweline wi-fi AP to single wired booster?

I have a working PG-9073LG-VM wired booster with 2 working PG-9072LG-VM wi-fi access points, but there are still a few wi-fi black-spots in my house, so I want to add more APs.

I have a 3rd PG-9072LG-VM wi-fi access point which I wanted to add. When I tried this, by pushnig the Sync button on my wired booster and the sync button on the 3rd AP, it worked well for the 3rd AP but both my existing APs then went wrong. They were still broadcasting their SSID and I could connect to them but they lost their internet connection.

So it looks like the existing 2 APs lost Sync with the wired booster when I added the 3rd.

Does anyone know why this would happen? Is there a limit of 2 APs per wired booster? Did I hold the sync button too long? Do I need to add a 2nd wired booster to support a 3rd and 4th AP?

Any assistance would be greatly appreciated. Thanks

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
Reply
legacy1
  • 16.6K
  • 722
  • 1.64K
Alessandro Volta
251 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: OK to add 3rd and 4th Poweline wi-fi AP to single wired booster?

Get your own router and AP's you likely find that better.

---------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Reply
tom2021
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
246 Views
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: OK to add 3rd and 4th Poweline wi-fi AP to single wired booster?

That's probably a fair sugestion. I already have all the Virgin Poweline kit though (and I'm too tight to fork out for another lot). So I'd rather try get that working first. I'm sure if I can sync all 3 APs then I won't have to think about it again for a few years. Thanks for responding.

0 Kudos
Reply
Zak_M
  • 4.68K
  • 268
  • 446
Forum Team
Forum Team
137 Views
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: OK to add 3rd and 4th Poweline wi-fi AP to single wired booster?

Good morning @tom2021.

 

Welcome back to the forums and thank you for taking the time to post. 

 

I am sorry to hear that you have had some issues with your WiFi connection in your property. 

 

Unfortunately we no long offer the WiFi boosters, instead we now offer intelligent WiFi pods we can arrange for these to be sent out. 

 

Here are a few things to consider,  the pods don't work with the existing boosters and we are only able to send the pods out one at a time. 

 

Kind regards,

Zak_M

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
tom2021
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
136 Views
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: OK to add 3rd and 4th Poweline wi-fi AP to single wired booster?

Thanks Zak.

I know about the Intelligent WiFi Pods, but when I checked on the Virgin website, Virgin had run out of all of these pods and weren't taking orders.

Have they now got stock? Can you help get me some?

Tom

0 Kudos
Reply
Zak_M
  • 4.68K
  • 268
  • 446
Forum Team
Forum Team
132 Views
Message 6 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: OK to add 3rd and 4th Poweline wi-fi AP to single wired booster?

Thank you for coming back to me. 

 

They are now back in stock and I can get them sorted for you. 

 

A few additional points, the charges are £5 a month unless you are on the ultimate oomph bundle. 

 

Kind regards,

Zak_M

0 Kudos
Reply
tom2021
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
127 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: OK to add 3rd and 4th Poweline wi-fi AP to single wired booster?

Great. I need to get some of these.

How many access points can I get? We need to cover 3 main areas where the Hub 3.0 signal doesn't reach - the rear rooms of the house, the 1st floor and the 2nd floor.

Will I get those covered for £5/month?

0 Kudos
Reply
Zak_M
  • 4.68K
  • 268
  • 446
Forum Team
Forum Team
113 Views
Message 8 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: OK to add 3rd and 4th Poweline wi-fi AP to single wired booster?

Thank you for coming back to me. 

 

We can only order the 1 at a time with a maximum of 3, the charge is £5 per booster per month. 

 

Kind regards,

Zak_M

0 Kudos
Reply
tom2021
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
99 Views
Message 9 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: OK to add 3rd and 4th Poweline wi-fi AP to single wired booster?

What's the minimum commitment for the boosters? Is it a 1yr contract?

Can I separately order 3, but all at the same time?

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Travis_M
  • 1.23K
  • 45
  • 101
Forum Team
Forum Team
95 Views
Message 10 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: OK to add 3rd and 4th Poweline wi-fi AP to single wired booster?

Hi @tom2021

 

With the boosters, there isn't exactly a minimum commitment - if you don't need them anymore they can be sent back. 

 

As for the ordering, we wouldn't be able to order them at the same time as we'd need the first order to close down (once delivered) to be able to send the next pair out.

 

Regards

Travis_M
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply