Menu
Reply
IDHDC
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
313 Views
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Hi

I've just moved to Virgin broadband and I am experiencing wifi drop out in certain rooms in the house.  Having checked on the forums  and looked at my network log and I can see that there are a number of error messages stating "No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out".  Please could someone check my logs below and let me know what I need to do?  The drop outs are happening more frequently than the log would seem to indicate.  I have checked the cables and turned the router on and off (numerous occasions).

Both my wife and I are working from home and this issue is beginning to be a real problem with our online working.  

Logs are posted below:

Network log

14/06/2021 18:27:5noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/06/2021 09:54:50criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/06/2021 20:02:7noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/06/2021 20:02:7ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/06/2021 08:59:21noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/06/2021 07:17:35criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/06/2021 12:01:18noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/06/2021 11:58:18criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/06/2021 09:33:55noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/06/2021 02:18:13criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/06/2021 01:08:24noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
09/06/2021 01:08:24ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/06/2021 07:11:10noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/06/2021 23:55:21criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
06/06/2021 16:36:48noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/06/2021 23:00:32noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
05/06/2021 23:00:32ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/06/2021 13:03:13criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/06/2021 07:07:34noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/06/2021 06:32:10criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;



Other logs to follow

0 Kudos
Reply
IDHDC
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
312 Views
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Other logs

Downstream log

14187500004.940256 qam32
22027500006.340256 qam9
32107500006.440256 qam10
42187500006.440256 qam11
52267500006.340256 qam12
62347500006.140256 qam13
7242750000640256 qam14
8250750000640256 qam15
92587500005.840256 qam16
102667500005.540256 qam17
112747500005.140256 qam18
122827500005.140256 qam19
132907500005.140256 qam20
142987500005.440256 qam21
153067500005.140256 qam22
163147500005.140256 qam23
173227500005.340256 qam24
183307500005.440256 qam25
193707500005.540256 qam26
203787500005.540256 qam27
21386750000540256 qam28
223947500005.440256 qam29
234027500005.340256 qam30
244107500005.140256 qam31



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.3110
2Locked40.32819
3Locked40.3130
4Locked40.9290
5Locked40.9310
6Locked40.3470
7Locked40.9350
8Locked40.3110
9Locked40.9260
10Locked40.3200
11Locked40.3250
12Locked40.9280
13Locked40.9250
14Locked40.3320
15Locked40.3330
16Locked40.3300
17Locked40.9280
18Locked40.9170
19Locked40.3170
20Locked40.3180
21Locked40.3410
22Locked40.3200
23Locked40.9250
24Locked40.3190

 

Upstream bonded channels log

15370003433512064 qam10
26030000732.5512064 qam9

 

Upstream bonded channels

1ATDMA0010
2ATDMA0020
0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 7.04K
  • 1.22K
  • 3.08K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
309 Views
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Your upstream power levels are too low and you're missing two U/S channels.  I've flagged for staff to advise - if it needs a technician to fix they will arrange it for you.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

IDHDC
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
296 Views
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Thanks Andrew for the prompt response. Hope VM are as responsive!
0 Kudos
Reply
Zach_R
  • 882
  • 27
  • 56
Forum Team
Forum Team
285 Views
Message 5 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Hi @IDHDC,

Thank you for your posts and welcome to our community forums. We're here to help.

I am so sorry to hear that you're having these problems with your broadband services recently.

Along with providing your network logs, I can also see that you've mentioned turning the router off and back on again on multiple occasions. May I ask if you've also performed a factory reset of the router yet? If not, can you give this a go and let us know if you see any improvements off the back of it?

Thanks,
 



Zach - Forum Team


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
IDHDC
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
270 Views
Message 6 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Hi Zach

Thanks for the response.  I haven't done a factory reset (only had the hub up and running for less than a month) but I will try and see what happens.  Is it usual to have to perform such a reset?  I have just switched to you from Sky (none fibre) where in the last ten years I have never had to reset their router.

Thanks

Ian 

0 Kudos
Reply
Zach_R
  • 882
  • 27
  • 56
Forum Team
Forum Team
267 Views
Message 7 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Hi @IDHDC,

I certainly appreciate your apprehension, but in some circumstances performing a factory reset can help to clear a number of service faults, including the one that you're currently experiencing.

Let us know how you get on either way and we can go from there.

Thanks,
 



Zach - Forum Team


New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
IDHDC
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
225 Views
Message 8 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Hi Zach

I've factory reset the router and it was ok for a few hours this afternoon but I've had problems in the last few minutes.  The router log is showing the same No ranging problem.

5/06/2021 16:55:9criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

I've set up a Broadband Quality Monitor and I don't profess to know what the graph shows but there is a think red line (at the same time as the ranging problem.

IDHDC_2-1623774219451.png

 

Please can you advise what to do next?

0 Kudos
Reply
Paulina_Z
  • 1.11K
  • 34
  • 69
Forum Team
Forum Team
217 Views
Message 9 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Hi @IDHDC,

 

Thank you for getting back to us about this issue!

 

I can see that you have reset your Hub. Thank you for doing so. 

 

I have taken another look at your power levels and they are looking really good. No issues showing at the moment.

 

I would advise you monitor your connection over the next 24 hours and then get back to us with a live link to your BQM chart so we can see what the connection was doing over the past day.

 

We'll be able to run more in depth tests after this.

 

Thanks! 🙂

Paulina_Z
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
IDHDC
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
164 Views
Message 10 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Hi Pauline

I've checked the log again today and there does not appear to be any new notifications.  However the internet has been very patchy today particularly on the second floor of the house (the router is on the first floor) which has been causing problems for my wife and her work.  I have checked with the Virgin Media app and the quality of signal fluctuates from great to no signal at all.  Also we have a number of Echo Dots in the house which are losing connection with the router on a daily basis and have to be reconnected manually each time.

As requested please find attached the link to the Broadband Quality Monitor as requested:

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/a339d9f7e7275c08660ece4b44a4e1be795f9284

As I said the internet connectivity has been particularly poor today (more so in the morning) hopefully the graph can shed some light on what the issue might be.

I would appreciate if someone could take a look at this as the last 24 hours service have not been acceptable.  If anything else is needed from me please just let me know.

Many thanks 

0 Kudos
Reply