Menu
Reply
Jamie-owens
  • 23
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
208 Views
Message 1 of 24
Flag for a moderator

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Hello,

I have been getting this error in my network log;

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

Can anyone from Virgin Media support help me please?

0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 30.57K
  • 1.89K
  • 4.06K
Alessandro Volta
205 Views
Message 2 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Post the full network log along with the downstream and upstream logs

*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
Jamie-owens
  • 23
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
202 Views
Message 3 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

 

25/04/2021 08:59:42criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/04/2021 12:13:37noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/04/2021 12:13:37ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/04/2021 10:47:55criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/04/2021 10:47:55Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/04/2021 10:47:29Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/04/2021 10:47:25Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/04/2021 10:47:25criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/04/2021 10:47:25Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/04/2021 10:47:25criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/04/2021 10:47:24Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/04/2021 10:47:24criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/04/2021 03:47:2criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/04/2021 00:13:38noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/04/2021 00:13:38ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/04/2021 17:49:32criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/04/2021 14:09:24Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/04/2021 17:57:8criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/04/2021 00:59:49noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
18/04/2021 00:59:49ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Jamie-owens
  • 23
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
200 Views
Message 4 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

14190000001.238256 qam32
2203000000140256 qam9
3211000000138256 qam10
42190000000.738256 qam11
5227000000038256 qam12
6235000000-0.238256 qam13
7243000000038256 qam14
82510000000.438256 qam15
92590000000.738256 qam16
102670000001.240256 qam17
11275000000140256 qam18
122830000001.240256 qam19
132910000001.240256 qam20
142990000001.538256 qam21
15307000000240256 qam22
16315000000240256 qam23
17323000000238256 qam24
18363000000140256 qam25
19371000000140256 qam26
203790000001.440256 qam27
213870000001.240256 qam28
223950000001.740256 qam29
234030000001.540256 qam30
244110000001.740256 qam31



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.9363114278
2Locked40.394698
3Locked38.910011616
4Locked38.6126700
5Locked38.6507716
6Locked38.6590780
7Locked38.9576677
8Locked38.921311602
9Locked38.9251521957
10Locked40.3202522035
11Locked40.9194922004
12Locked40.3199222146
13Locked40.3200021852
14Locked38.9223121041
15Locked40.3599017525
16Locked40.3881413870
17Locked38.9125409974
18Locked40.91291611436
19Locked40.31239013244
20Locked40.31000417262
21Locked40.3648216295
22Locked40.3357414689
23Locked40.3328815416
24Locked40.3364814453
0 Kudos
Reply
Jamie-owens
  • 23
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
199 Views
Message 5 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

14620000048512064 qam3
23940000048512064 qam4
35370000049.5512064 qam2
46030000049.5512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA00480
2ATDMA00350
3ATDMA00160
4ATDMA00320
0 Kudos
Reply
Jamie-owens
  • 23
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
173 Views
Message 6 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Any idea?

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Ayisha_B
  • 681
  • 19
  • 68
Forum Team
Forum Team
93 Views
Message 7 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Hi @Jamie-owens,

 

Welcome back to our Community Forums and thank you for posting. 

 

Sorry to hear you are having some issues. 

 

I have located your account and can see you are currently in Modem mode. Please can you put the hub back into router mode so I can carry out some diagnostics this end?

 

Hope to hear from you soon 🙂 

Ayisha_B
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
Jamie-owens
  • 23
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
65 Views
Message 8 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Hello @Ayisha_B,

I have reset my router back to its default settings and is no longer in modem mode.

Kind regards,

Jamie.

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Tom_F
  • 3.06K
  • 182
  • 379
Forum Team
Forum Team
59 Views
Message 9 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Thanks for getting back to us Jamie. I have run some checks from here and everything appears to be fine & in order.

 

There are more timeout's in the logs than we'd like to see ideally - have you noticed any performance issues? It might be worth monitoring things over the next 24hrs and get back to us with fresh data. 

 

Also consider setting up a Broadband Quality Monitor to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any network dropouts.  It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections: https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

 

Tom

0 Kudos
Reply
Jamie-owens
  • 23
  • 0
  • 1
On our wavelength
56 Views
Message 10 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Hello,

Thanks for getting back.

I had to start using a mesh router system as the router I have is useless in my house, I don't a connection in some parts of the house for example.

I have noticed though that I do sometimes get buffering issues which I never thought I would get with a 200M connection. I had this issue with my 100M also.

I have setup a BQM anyway so see what happens...

Jamie.