Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
233 Views
Message 1 of 18
Flag for a moderator

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Hey all,

We have been experiencing intermittent wifi issues for most of lockdown, we notice it the most on the evening between 7-10 every day. Wired connections (PS4) seem to have no issues.

I have noticed in the error logs a recuring critical error of No Ranging Response:

Network Log

29/07/2020 11:25:13noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/07/2020 12:00:25criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/07/2020 03:23:53noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt062+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/07/2020 03:23:53ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/07/2020 13:20:29criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/07/2020 13:20:22Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/07/2020 13:20:22criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/07/2020 13:20:21Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/07/2020 13:20:21criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/07/2020 13:20:21Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
23/07/2020 08:51:55criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/07/2020 10:16:39noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt062+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
22/07/2020 10:16:39ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/07/2020 16:12:45criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/07/2020 17:40:3noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt062+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/07/2020 17:40:3ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/07/2020 07:17:54criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/07/2020 19:38:32noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/07/2020 19:38:14Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
17/07/2020 19:26:31noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

Here are my current router stats:

Downstream

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1411000000-0.740256 qam33
2219000000240256 qam11
3227000000240256 qam12
42350000001.740256 qam13
52430000001.540256 qam14
62510000001.440256 qam15
72590000001.240256 qam16
8267000000140256 qam17
92750000000.740256 qam18
102830000000.740256 qam19
112910000000.540256 qam20
122990000000.440256 qam21
133070000000.440256 qam22
143150000000.240256 qam23
153230000000.240256 qam24
16347000000040256 qam25
17355000000040256 qam26
18363000000040256 qam27
19371000000040256 qam28
20379000000-0.438256 qam29
21387000000-0.740256 qam30
22395000000-0.540256 qam31
23403000000-0.740256 qam32
24419000000-0.940256 qam34

 

 Upstream:

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1603000004.525512064 qam9
2394000234.325512064 qam12
3462000344.375512064 qam11
4537000244.525512064 qam10



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

 

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
A,.iyewrkldJKDHSUBsgvca69834n



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID570
Max Traffic Rate402500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID569
Max Traffic Rate38500089
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

 

 

 

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 15.57K
  • 1.63K
  • 2.65K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
224 Views
Message 2 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

You are missing the down channel data with the RS error counts.

Here is an older explanation of the RCS errors...

--------
RCS (Receive Channel Set) Partial Service. The hub ‘knows’, for example that it should have 24 bonded downstream channel but for some reason, generally noise or interference, it is unable to properly lock onto one or more of them. If this happens then rather than the hub simply going offline, it carries on with a slightly degraded service - which may or may not even be noticeable to the user. If and when the conditions improve, the hub will recover it’s full service although this isn’t logged. Getting some of these infrequently is not uncommon and can usually be ignored.
_____

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
219 Views
Message 3 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Thanks for the reply jbrennand 

Where do I find the down channel data with the RS error counts to post?

In the explanation you provided for us we are noticing it, we are on 300mb and it drops down to sometimes 0.90. 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 15.57K
  • 1.63K
  • 2.65K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
214 Views
Message 4 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Try this first.

First do a quick check that all of your coax cable connections are in nice and "finger" tight - at the Hub and wall box and also at any splitters/attenuators/etc. Ensure there are no “unterminated cable loose ends. Disconnect all the connections and reconnect to be sure. Also check that the internal wiring is ok with no kinking or chaffing, check that all looks good with the outside cabling and wall box.

Then assuming the Hub's sticker is still there and the passwords are still legible or you will be stuffed.

With the Hub switched "on", disconnect any ethernet connections and then push in the “reset pin” with the end of a paperclip/thin nail or similar (bigger items like ball point pen ends may not press it in far enough) until you feel it at the “stop point” and hold it there firmly for a "timed" minimum of 60 seconds do NOT restart the Hub after that. Leave it 10' or so to stabilise and then your passwords/passphrase for both the Hub settings and the Wifi networks will revert to the two printed on the Hub sticker on its base/side/card. Make sure you use the wifi one for devices connecting to the wifi and the settings/admin one to access the Hub (it is a six digit numeric one).

Also, in the meantime, (if you haven’t already) set up a free “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any network dropouts - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” when you have the first 24h period.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality


--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
209 Views
Message 5 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Cheers John, I've check everything I can access is finger tight so will now do the hard reset as advised.

I set up a thinkbroadband profile at midday today so will report back with the results here tomorrow.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
150 Views
Message 6 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 15.57K
  • 1.63K
  • 2.65K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
144 Views
Message 7 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Thats a lovely looking BQM 🙂 That and the good Hub stats (did you find the RS error count table ? - its in the Downstream tab somewhere - I dont use the Hub3) suggests to me your issue is wifi only.

If you have a computer/laptop connected on ethernet cable does it have the same issues at the same time as the wireless ones ? If you dont know can you test it? If thats ok - then its just wifi - there are a few options then that will sort that out completely

EDIT: just noted that in post1 you said no issues on ethernet - still the case?  If so do you want cheap and cheerful options that might work to "fix it" or dont mind spending some monies to get it sorted once an for all - its what I and many others on here) did years ago - never had a VM related wifi issue in all that time 😀


--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
139 Views
Message 8 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Hi John, thanks for replying again. No the wired connection doesn't have the same issues at the same time.

Here are the other stats you asked for since reboot yesterday:

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.3100
2Locked40.3200
3Locked40.3210
4Locked40.9220
5Locked40.380
6Locked40.360
7Locked40.9100
8Locked40.3100
9Locked40.3130
10Locked40.390
11Locked38.9140
12Locked38.9100
13Locked40.3110
14Locked40.3100
15Locked40.3130
16Locked40.3150
17Locked40.3100
18Locked40.390
19Locked40.370
20Locked38.9100
21Locked40.3200
22Locked40.9180
23Locked40.3180
24Locked40.3110

 

EDIT: Happy to do whatever it takes to sort it out!

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 15.57K
  • 1.63K
  • 2.65K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
134 Views
Message 9 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

No probs there either - looks to be wifi only.

VM supply boosters free to those on the higher packages - do you qualify? If so they are worth a go first. If not they will charge you £3/mo and they arent - you are better spending those monies on your own better quality kit.
What is your property - detached/semi/flat/etc? How large an area are you wanting to cover? How many floors? What is the house construction - that is plasterboard walls or 2ft thick stone, old iron rich brick, lightweight Cheshire brick, etc? Do you need more sophisticated routing than the Hub3 offers (timed access, QoS,etc)?- if you dont know - then its no. How many devices are connecting (wifi and ethernet)? How tech minde are you for setting up ?
Finally how much cash are you prepared to spend - I would say the range is £50-500 depending on the property - with the "sweet spot" being ~£100-150.

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
127 Views
Message 10 of 18
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

We are not on the higher package.

We have put the Hub3 in modem mode and use a TP-Link AC1750 as our main router, I can get extenders for this to tie in and make a mesh network?

Standard 1950's 2 floor, 3 bed residential home, drops are noticeable in the living room and start of garden.

I have QoS turned on in the AC1750.

I have 3 devices connected via Ethernet and roughly 15+ devices connected wireless.

I'm open to spending some cash, but probably like to stay down the lower end of the budget (£100)

I'm quite tech-savvy so looking forward to hearing your suggestions. 

 

0 Kudos
Reply