Menu
Reply
chriskewin
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
269 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Hi Virgin Tech Team, 

Been getting this again causing drop outs every hour or so each day.  Worse in the mornings.

Last time this happened an engineer was despatched and fixed some corroded connections in the street.  Please can you send someone again.

 

The router is showing the following logs on a regular basis:

Upstream bonded channels

Channel

Channel Type

T1 Timeouts

T2 Timeouts

T3 Timeouts

T4 Timeouts

1

ATDMA

0

0

10

0

2

ATDMA

0

0

8

0

3

ATDMA

0

0

0

0

4

ATDMA

0

0

0

0

 

 

06/2021 10:27:43

critical

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

03/06/2021 10:27:7

Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

03/06/2021 10:27:7

critical

SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

03/06/2021 10:23:0

Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

 

Please help

 

Thanks 

Chris

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 23.86K
  • 2.53K
  • 4.33K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
265 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Post up all the data as per this
__________________________

Copy/paste as “Formatted Text” (not images) 3 FULL sets of data onto here – 2 pages from the Downstream, 2 from the Upstream, & the Network Logs page. Don't worry too much about the formatting it can be easily read & DON’T include personal data or MAC addresses - blank them out - if you copy/paste the data, the board software will do this for you (you may need to click the "submit" button again.

Also, in the meantime... If you haven’t already, set up a free and secure “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts , latency issues, packet drops, etc - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” to the “share live graph” (as per instructions on the TB website) when it starts to develop.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
chriskewin
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
258 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Thanks John, 

Logs below as requested.

 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12030000005.840256 qam9
22110000005.640256 qam10
32190000005.640256 qam11
42270000005.540256 qam12
52350000005.340256 qam13
6243000000540256 qam14
72510000004.940256 qam15
82590000004.940256 qam16
9267000000540256 qam17
102750000005.140256 qam18
112830000004.940256 qam19
122910000005.140256 qam20
132990000004.640256 qam21
143070000005.440256 qam22
153150000004.940256 qam23
16323000000540256 qam24
173310000005.140256 qam25
183390000004.638256 qam26
193470000004.940256 qam27
203550000004.540256 qam28
213630000004.440256 qam29
223710000003.738256 qam30
23379000000440256 qam31
243870000003.540256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.3109882055
2Locked40.3104362131
3Locked40.3103522063
4Locked40.3105331855
5Locked40.9128431737
6Locked40.3123241720
7Locked40.3106901517
8Locked40.398551358
9Locked40.391491580
10Locked40.374841338
11Locked40.364531445
12Locked40.358071066
13Locked40.380811363
14Locked40.958711046
15Locked40.341211131
16Locked40.33779986
17Locked40.33311960
18Locked38.93245951
19Locked40.33157833
20Locked40.33050910
21Locked40.33301830
22Locked38.93068856
23Locked40.32788790
24Locked40.32520724

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13940000043.5512064 qam7
24620000044512064 qam3
35370000044.5512064 qam2
46030000045512064 qam1

 

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA00260
2ATDMA0090
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

Network Log

Time Priority Description

03/06/2021 10:56:20criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/06/2021 10:56:20Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/06/2021 10:55:50criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/06/2021 10:55:27criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/06/2021 10:29:3Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/06/2021 10:27:43criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/06/2021 10:27:7Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/06/2021 10:27:7criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/06/2021 10:23:0Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/06/2021 10:22:37criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/06/2021 10:19:8Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/06/2021 10:19:8criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/06/2021 10:18:48Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/06/2021 10:05:42criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/06/2021 10:04:43criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/06/2021 10:00:55criticalUnicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/06/2021 10:00:55criticalRanging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/06/2021 10:00:55criticalUnicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/06/2021 10:00:55criticalRanging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/06/2021 10:00:11criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 23.86K
  • 2.53K
  • 4.33K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
251 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Logs look poor and lots of T3's is not good. Lets see the BQM asap.

Also can you do this
________________

Switch the Hub off and unplug it for a few minutes and then start up. When done, check back in the settings and ensure that the RS error counts and T3's have all reset to 0. Then check every hour or two for the next day or two to see if they start reappearing - they shouldn't.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
Corey_C
  • 3.92K
  • 214
  • 326
Forum Team
Forum Team
121 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Thanks for your post and welcome to the Community Forums, chriskewin,

 

Sorry to hear that you have been having broadband connection issues. I've done a remote diagnostic on your connection and it shows our phone care team has set an appointment for you.  You can also view and/or reschedule appointments here: https://www.virginmedia.com/help/virgin-media-manage-engineer-appointment

 

Cheers,

Corey c

0 Kudos
Reply
chriskewin
  • 3
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
99 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Thanks Cory, 

One of engineers arrived yesterday, identified and fixed the fault and its now working great! thankyou.

 

Kind regards

Chris

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Corey_C
  • 3.92K
  • 214
  • 326
Forum Team
Forum Team
97 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Thanks for your reply and update, chriskewin, glad to hear it's now working.

0 Kudos
Reply
Drummond96
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
93 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

How to get Comcast to help me with "No Ranging Response received - T3 time-​out" ? I have been having T3 timeouts over the course of 3 years.

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 2.54K
  • 190
  • 462
Trouble shooter
86 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out


@Drummond96 wrote:

How to get Comcast to help me with "No Ranging Response received - T3 time-​out" ? I have been having T3 timeouts over the course of 3 years.


I'd say you need to contact comcast.




------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

Corey_C
  • 3.92K
  • 214
  • 326
Forum Team
Forum Team
69 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Hi Drummond96, 

 

Have you tried contacting Comcast?

 

Cheers,

Corey C

0 Kudos
Reply