Menu
Reply
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
434 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

For the last 2 days, I keep getting. No Internet

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Any ideas what is going on?

 

I got an old SupHub 2 over 10 years old. Should I ask for a new router?

 

Many Thanks 

Chris

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4.46K
  • 510
  • 1.46K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
419 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Hi Chris

As that is a common error that is usually not significant it would be helpful to see the whole network log along with the downstream and upstream figures from the hub status screen.

______________________
Scott

My setup: V6 TV box, M350 Fibre broadband with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

As a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share my knowledge. I don't work for Virgin Media.

Click to learn more about VIP

Use Kudos to say thanks

 

Mark as Helpful Answer if I've helped

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
416 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Hi Scott

Thank you for taking the time. 

Cable Modem Status

ItemStatusComments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)

475000000

Locked

Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)

0

Success

Provisioning State

In Progress

Phy Synchronized

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
414 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

 

Downstream


DS-1DS-2DS-3DS-4DS-5DS-6DS-7DS-8

Frequency (Hz)

475000000

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

Lock Status(QAM Lock/FEC Sync/MPEG Lock)

Locked

Unlocked

Unlocked

Unlocked

Unlocked

Unlocked

Unlocked

Unlocked

Channel ID

9

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

Modulation

256QAM

Unknown

Unknown

Unknown

Unknown

Unknown

Unknown

Unknown

Symbol Rate (Msym/sec)

6.952000

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

Interleave Depth

I=12
J=17

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

Power Level (dBmV)

-5.53

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

RxMER (dB)

31.14

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

Pre RS Errors

287904

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

Post RS Errors

1309

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

 

Upstream


US-1US-2US-3US-4

Channel Type

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

Channel ID

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

Frequency (Hz)

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

Ranging Status

Other

N/A

N/A

N/A

Modulation

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

Symbol Rate (Sym/sec)

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

Mini-Slot Size

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

Power Level (dBmV)

N/A

N/A

N/A

N/A

T1 Timeouts

0

0

0

0

T2 Timeouts

0

0

0

0

T3 Timeouts

7

0

0

0

T4 Timeouts

0

0

0

0

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
412 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

 

General Configuration

Network Access

Denied

Maximum Number of CPEs

 

Baseline Privacy

 

DOCSIS Mode

EuroDOCSIS 3.0

Config File

 

Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID

 

Max Traffic Rate

0 bps

Max Traffic Burst

0 bytes

Min Traffic Rate

0 bps

Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID

 

Max Traffic Rate

0 bps

Max Traffic Burst

0 bytes

Min Traffic Rate

0 bps

Max Concatenated Burst

0 bytes

Scheduling Type

 

 

 

 

 

 

Network Log

First Time

Last Time

Priority

Error Number

Description

Time Not Established

Time Not Established

Critical (3)

82000200

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Time Not Established

Time Not Established

Critical (3)

82000200

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Time Not Established

Time Not Established

Critical (3)

82000200

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Time Not Established

Time Not Established

Critical (3)

82000200

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Time Not Established

Time Not Established

Critical (3)

82000200

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Time Not Established

Time Not Established

Critical (3)

82000200

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Time Not Established

Time Not Established

Critical (3)

82000200

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Time Not Established

Time Not Established

Critical (3)

82000200

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Time Not Established

Time Not Established

Notice (6)

84000510

Downstream Locked Successfully

Time Not Established

Time Not Established

Notice (6)

84000510

Downstream Locked Successfully

Time Not Established

Time Not Established

Warning (5)

84020300

MDD message timeout

Time Not Established

Time Not Established

Warning (5)

84020200

Lost MDD Timeout

22/02/2020 22:09:36 GMT

22/02/2020 22:09:36 GMT

Critical (3)

82000200

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

22/02/2020 22:09:34 GMT

22/02/2020 22:09:34 GMT

Warning (5)

82000900

B-INIT-RNG Failure - Retries exceeded

22/02/2020 22:09:28 GMT

22/02/2020 22:09:28 GMT

Critical (3)

82000200

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

22/02/2020 22:08:49 GMT

22/02/2020 22:08:49 GMT

Critical (3)

82000200

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

22/02/2020 22:08:49 GMT

22/02/2020 22:08:49 GMT

Critical (3)

82000200

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

22/02/2020 22:08:21 GMT

22/02/2020 22:08:21 GMT

Critical (3)

82000200

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

22/02/2020 22:07:57 GMT

22/02/2020 22:07:57 GMT

Critical (3)

82000200

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

22/02/2020 22:07:43 GMT

22/02/2020 22:07:43 GMT

Critical (3)

82000200

No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4.46K
  • 510
  • 1.46K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
397 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

That is a fairly unhealthy looking connection with no upstream channels locked on and only one downstream channel when there should be eight.

Unless there is a local area outage (check HERE or call 0800 561 0061) this will probably need a technician to visit and adjust the power levels.  You can try calling VM and report the issue or wait for the forum team to get to this thread and they can check your connection and arrange a tech visit.  I'd suggest the latter as the quality of support from the call centres is a bit hit and miss.

______________________
Scott

My setup: V6 TV box, M350 Fibre broadband with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

As a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share my knowledge. I don't work for Virgin Media.

Click to learn more about VIP

Use Kudos to say thanks

 

Mark as Helpful Answer if I've helped

Highlighted
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
393 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Thank you, Scott. I called them this morning. Told me there is an issue in my area. However, the house next door to me is also on Virgin and internet is working fine. 

 

Is there a possibility the modem is ageing? Is SHub2  2010

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 269
  • 24
  • 37
Fibre optic
373 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

You can either check after the fault has been fixed, or try download the connect app & then it will request you get a Hub 3, which I believe is free for those on a Hub 1,2/ac. 


**
I work for Virgin Media - but all opinions posted here are my own
Highlighted
  • 2.44K
  • 137
  • 241
Forum Team
Forum Team
310 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out

Hi ChrisAslanis,

 

Thank you for reaching out to us in our community and welcome back, I am sorry to hear you are having issues with your connection, I have had a look our end and I can see most of your levels are totally out, a technician is definitely needed.

 

I will send you an invite into a private chat so I can arrange this with you, please click on the purple envelope to accept.

 

Regards

 

Paul.

Highlighted
  • 4.46K
  • 510
  • 1.46K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
307 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out


@ChrisAslanis wrote:

Thank you, Scott. I called them this morning. Told me there is an issue in my area. However, the house next door to me is also on Virgin and internet is working fine. 

 

Is there a possibility the modem is ageing? Is SHub2  2010


Sounds like you were fobbed off by the call centre if next door was working OK.  It could be the hub or maybe some wiring needs replacing, whatever the issue the technician that visits should sort it out.

Let us know how the tech visit goes.

______________________
Scott

My setup: V6 TV box, M350 Fibre broadband with Hub 3 in modem mode connected to a Netgear R7000 router. Telewest/VM user since 2001.

As a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share my knowledge. I don't work for Virgin Media.

Click to learn more about VIP

Use Kudos to say thanks

 

Mark as Helpful Answer if I've helped

0 Kudos
Reply