Menu
abrar-mohammed
Tuning in
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

New Customer - Broadband Speed & Reliability

Dear Community Users

This is my first post so apologies if the question has already been raised by other users before.

At my current property I have BT Fibre BB which has been very reliable in terms of speed, WiFi coverage and connectivity.

In a couple of months time, I am moving into a new home which doesn't have any Fibre Broadband Connectivity except for Virgin Media.

I work in IT and have 2 young kids. Due to COVID, I am currently working from home and kids also spend a lot of time online for their education as well as for leisure. 

I have read some really worrying reviews about the quality of BB service offered by Virgin Media. Customers have complained about the speed, network reliability as well as lack of customer services despite spending hours on the call to VM customer services.

I am hoping if you could share some experience (good or bad) in helping me make a decision. Worst case scenario, I will have to go with a 4G mobile BB (which indeed isn't as great as fibre BB but hopefully can offer consistent 20 mbps speeds - which is essential for my work as I am online and on Skype calls most days during the week).

Any feedback you can share would be most gratefully appreciated.

Thanks in advance

Abrar

0 Kudos
jbrennand
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: New Customer - Broadband Speed & Reliability

A few comments. VM works fine for the vast majority of their 5.5m customers - including me.

However there are some things to be aware of.