Menu
Mark0405
Joining in
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Mesh network advice

Hi,

I'm a reasonably tech savvy person but mesh networks really have me stumped.  I've always lived in modern new builds where the standard OEM wi-fi hubs have been sufficient.

I now live in a three storey Edwardian town house with very thick walls.  My Hub 3 is in the living room at the front of the house and wi-fi in there is fine.  I've used the Connect app and all rooms say they are fine, expect that the. wi-fi is much slower.

I am on the M100 package and by the router I get 100MB+ speeds.  However in my study, which is on the top floor at the back of the house I am getting 10-20MB, sometimes less than 10MB.

Would a mesh network be advisable, if so which is likely to suit me the most?

Best wishes in advance,

Mark

0 Kudos
tehwolf
Superfast
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Mesh network advice

@Mark0405 wrote:

Would a mesh network be advisable, if so which is likely to suit me the most?

Probably.

What’s the budget?

Tri-band mesh units are better than dual band (they use a dedicated radio for backhaul). but they come at a premium.  You also need to decide whether you’re happy with AC speeds or whether you want to future proof a little and buy a Wi-fi-6 version, again, comes at a premium.

ASUS & TP-Link are well regarded around here.. Netgear and Zyxel too but not as popular as the first two..

expect to pay £100 for an entry level dual-band mesh system from TP-Link all the way up to £500 for a top of the line Wi-fi-6 mesh from ASUS.. with varying prices in between..

the alternative, and gold standard, would be to run ethernet cables to a couple of suitable places in the house and attach wireless access points.. but this is (relative to deploying a mesh) a lot of effort routing and terminating cables etc.. which is why mesh systems seem to be a popular alternative...

0 Kudos
Mark0405
Joining in
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Thanks for getting back to me.