Menu
Alphabeat2003
Just browsing
Message 1 of 17
Flag for a moderator

MacBook Air not connecting to Hub 3

Please help. I’m a university student. Don’t have high level of tech knowledge and have tried the solutions posted in other forums. 

new router is a 3HUB and has connected to my iPhone and housemates other PCs but will not connect to my MacbookAir from 2016 at all. Have tried changing the IP address and adding two DNS where there were none. 

Quite stressed as Virtual University starts in the morning and the VM phone line isn’t open until the morning. Please help 

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
jbrennand
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 2 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: MacBook Air not connecting to Hub 3

I type this on my 2015 Air. Its connecting just fine to my wifi - but I have my own router and the Hub is in modem mode.

So does the Air connect fine on wifi in other places? Then does the Air "see" your SSID (Network name) in its list of available networks? If so, what "error" messages are you seeing when it triess to connect?

often these are related to DNS. What DNS do you have in the Air's Network Setting ? These are mine...
-------------------------------

Screenshot 2021-01-31 at 20.26.25.pngScreenshot 2021-01-31 at 20.25.59.png

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Alphabeat2003
Just browsing
Message 3 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Hi jbrennand

Thanks for your response 

at the moment I have nothing on my DNS page should I add what you have in both columns? 

thank you again. I am so confused 

0 Kudos
Alphabeat2003
Just browsing
Message 4 of 17
Flag for a moderator