Menu
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
170 Views
Message 1 of 12
Flag for a moderator

M100 slow upload only

Hi everyone,

I'm having upload issues on my M100 package (hub 3), download is absolutely fine though! I'm using only the Wifi on two laptops, the speed test is consistent wherever I place them.

Upload is constantly between 0.8 and 1.5 and should be 10mbps, right?

Screenshot 2020-11-12 110052.png

I've checked other messages on the forum and seems that upstream QAM should be on 64 and not 16? (it varies, the last two ones go up to 32 sometimes), the traffic max rate seems to be set properly, so I'm not sure what the problem can be, wifi blackspots (none), and the signal is strong in the whole flat.

Thanks for your help, I'm a little bit unsure that I can find a fix alone for that one.

G

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
167 Views
Message 2 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: M100 slow upload only

These are the status router data I have

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12587500003.440256 qam16
22507500003.240256 qam15
32667500003.440256 qam17
42747500003.540256 qam18
52827500003.240256 qam19
62907500003.240256 qam20
7298750000440256 qam21
8306750000440256 qam22
9314750000440256 qam23
10322750000440256 qam24
11330750000440256 qam25
123707500003.940256 qam26
133787500003.940256 qam27
14386750000440256 qam28
153947500003.940256 qam29
164027500003.540256 qam30
174107500003.540256 qam31
184187500003.440256 qam32
194267500003.240256 qam33
20434750000340256 qam34
214427500002.740256 qam35
224507500002.740256 qam36
234587500002.540256 qam37
244667500002.540256 qam38



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.3170
2Locked40.9230
3Locked40.9220
4Locked40.9220
5Locked40.9220
6Locked40.9910
7Locked40.3180
8Locked40.9490
9Locked40.3380
10Locked40.3350
11Locked40.9440
12Locked40.9510
13Locked40.9910
14Locked40.9890
15Locked40.31130
16Locked40.91050
17Locked40.91230
18Locked40.3960
19Locked40.91430
20Locked40.91380
21Locked40.91870
22Locked40.91850
23Locked40.32100
24Locked40.32070

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1537000004.675512064 qam1
2461999634.525512064 qam2
3394000004.621512016 qam3
4326002304.446512016 qam4



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057-b.cm



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID141564
Max Traffic Rate117000047
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID141563
Max Traffic Rate10500047
Max Traffic Burst16320
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
162 Views
Message 3 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: M100 slow upload only

I've also registered here to the thinkbroadband website to get a snapshot of the wifi data

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/7abf17306e8b840920c5eb53d2573a237c1cf27b

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 25.21K
  • 1.45K
  • 3.21K
Alessandro Volta
156 Views
Message 4 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: M100 slow upload only

What are wired speeds like?


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
142 Views
Message 5 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: M100 slow upload only

So actually they are a bit better, I have around 5-6Mbps so that's better but still halfway from 10mbps

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
67 Views
Message 6 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: M100 slow upload only

Hi,

I still have these issues since last week, low upload between 0.8 and 2.5mbps upload, downstream sometimes drop to 30 Mbps, but comes back to 100 so that's fine I can live with it 😄

I rely a lot on upload speeds though for work so any help would be greatly appreciated! Here are new upstream/downstream data, I'm thinking is it already worth buying either a mesh or other router to get better Wifi upload here? Hub 3.0 is in the living room well exposed, and I have a bedroom just nearby (10 meters away, one wall in between) where I work.

I can't read these properly but seems I have now a lot of Pre/Post RS errors, and some upstream Timeout

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

13307500004.140256 qam25
22507500003.240256 qam15
32587500003.540256 qam16
42667500003.540256 qam17
52747500003.740256 qam18
62827500003.540256 qam19
72907500003.540256 qam20
82987500004.140256 qam21
93067500004.140256 qam22
103147500004.140256 qam23
11322750000440256 qam24
12370750000440256 qam26
13378750000440256 qam27
143867500004.140256 qam28
15394750000440256 qam29
164027500003.540256 qam30
174107500003.540256 qam31
184187500003.540256 qam32
194267500003.440256 qam33
204347500003.240256 qam34
214427500002.740256 qam35
224507500002.940256 qam36
234587500002.740256 qam37
244667500002.740256 qam38



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.92056112
2Locked40.913994926
3Locked40.926775055
4Locked40.328752718
5Locked40.929003475
6Locked40.329562705
7Locked40.98835212
8Locked40.39576564
9Locked40.96599360
10Locked40.94506928
11Locked40.92456278
12Locked40.91817780
13Locked40.92516562
14Locked40.92747721
15Locked40.94367107
16Locked40.95796968
17Locked40.35416557
18Locked40.33216282
19Locked40.32556113
20Locked40.93245851
21Locked40.94357094
22Locked40.95086081
23Locked40.94285929
24Locked40.32755999

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

14620012745.8512064 qam2
25370009147512064 qam1
33940005345.5512064 qam3
43260000044.8512064 qam4



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0010
2ATDMA0010
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

 

I've had a look with the software InSSIder and I have a message saying my "2.4 Ghz point is being overlapped by a network or non-standard channel and this will impact my network performance" could this be related to my problem?

 

Screenshot 2020-11-18 111356.png

Best,

Guillaume

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.67K
  • 288
  • 516
Superfast
65 Views
Message 7 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: M100 slow upload only

The first time you posted stats two of your upstream channels were out of spec on QAM:

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1537000004.675512064 qam1
2461999634.525512064 qam2
3394000004.621512016 qam3
4326002304.446512016 qam4

 

Since then it appears have gone back to normal, however could be an intermittent issue on your line.

The BQM doesn't look great to be honest.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
60 Views
Message 8 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: M100 slow upload only

Hi @carl_pearce,

Thanks for your reply!

Indeed they are back to normal, yet I still have the same low upload, I'd say it's a bit worse as right now I'm on 20mbps speed, I see on my downstream loads of RS errors, upload still less than 5mbps, I'm not sure wether it's the Hub or something else to be honest.

Screenshot 2020-11-18 114539.png

 

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 3.67K
  • 288
  • 516
Superfast
54 Views
Message 9 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: M100 slow upload only


@Guillaume_lrx wrote:

Hi @carl_pearce,

Thanks for your reply!

Indeed they are back to normal, yet I still have the same low upload, I'd say it's a bit worse as right now I'm on 20mbps speed, I see on my downstream loads of RS errors, upload still less than 5mbps, I'm not sure wether it's the Hub or something else to be honest.

Screenshot 2020-11-18 114539.png

 


Send VM a text on 07533051809.

It's free, unless you pay for texts of course!, and they might be able to help you further.

0 Kudos
Reply
  • 1.99K
  • 67
  • 843
Super solver
47 Views
Message 10 of 12
Flag for a moderator

Re: M100 slow upload only

I used to get variable speeds with SH1 where speeds were erratic and drop below dial-up speeds.  It tended to "sort itself out", so I didn't pay much attention to it.  I then hit a patch of consistently low speeds and had the option to upgrade to Hub3 which solved the problem.







--
The only winning move is not to play.
No system is 100% secure
Ridicule is nothing to be scared of - Adam Ant
The only thing constant - is change. Chris Evans
The internet is a series of tubes
Windows Update isn't rocket science - if it were, it would work.
Unlike Monty Python, spam is never off.
0 Kudos
Reply