Menu
Reply
deama
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
250 Views
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Lots of packet loss all the time

So basically I've been experiencing big packet losses these past few weeks (or months), it's gotten worse lately so I wanna try and fix it.

Here's the link to my live BQM

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/b1854443d14780da75df9aee7269c8fe0d...

There's a big 100% loss at one point, that was be unplugging it from the socket and leaving it for about 30 minute sand then plugging it back in, didn't seem to do anything.

At one point I played around with the MTU size to see if would have made a difference, no change.

I've also done a traceroute using winMTR, here's the table:

Host%SentRecvBestAvrgWrstLast
192.168.0.11024222019358
10.53.33.910242220610349
brig-core-2b-xe-831-0.network.virginmedia.net92462259123610
No response from host1006600000
eislou2-ic-3-ae0-0.network.virginmedia.net825023019234520
72.14.212.2924622515194218
216.239.62.758250230213167126
142.250.215.127825023021244722
lhr48s27-in-f14.1e100.net924622521244922

 

It seems to drop packets at every route, no idea why.

Any ideas? Maybe an engineer could contact me to help me out more?

0 Kudos
Reply
deama
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
248 Views
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lots of packet loss all the time

Here's also the downstream:

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 386750000 -0.5 40 256 qam 28
2 202750000 1 40 256 qam 9
3 210750000 1 40 256 qam 10
4 218750000 0.9 40 256 qam 11
5 226750000 0.9 40 256 qam 12
6 234750000 0.7 40 256 qam 13
7 242750000 0.5 40 256 qam 14
8 250750000 0.2 40 256 qam 15
9 258750000 0 40 256 qam 16
10 266750000 -0.2 40 256 qam 17
11 274750000 -0.5 40 256 qam 18
12 282750000 -0.5 40 256 qam 19
13 290750000 -0.7 38 256 qam 20
14 298750000 -0.5 38 256 qam 21
15 306750000 -0.5 40 256 qam 22
16 314750000 -0.4 40 256 qam 23
17 322750000 -0.5 38 256 qam 24
18 330750000 -0.4 40 256 qam 25
19 370750000 -0.4 40 256 qam 26
20 378750000 -0.2 38 256 qam 27
21 394750000 -0.5 40 256 qam 29
22 402750000 -0.7 38 256 qam 30
23 410750000 -0.7 38 256 qam 31
24 418750000 -0.5 40 256 qam 32


Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 40.3 5 0
2 Locked 40.3 7 0
3 Locked 40.9 3 0
4 Locked 40.3 7 0
5 Locked 40.3 8 0
6 Locked 40.3 6 0
7 Locked 40.3 4 0
8 Locked 40.3 6 0
9 Locked 40.3 6 0
10 Locked 40.3 6 0
11 Locked 40.9 5 0
12 Locked 40.3 12 0
13 Locked 38.9 6 0
14 Locked 38.9 19 0
15 Locked 40.9 22 0
16 Locked 40.3 18 0
17 Locked 38.9 7 0
18 Locked 40.3 6 0
19 Locked 40.3 0 0
20 Locked 38.9 6 0
21 Locked 40.3 6 0
22 Locked 38.9 5 0
23 Locked 38.9 5 0
24 Locked 40.3 12 0


And the upstream:

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 53699981 32.3 5120 64 qam 10
2 39400000 32.3 5120 64 qam 12
3 46200000 32.3 5120 32 qam 11
4 60300002 32.3 5120 64 qam 9


Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1 ATDMA 0 0 1 0
2 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
3 ATDMA 0 0 4 0
4 ATDMA 0 0 0 0


And also the logs: 

Time Priority Description
16/06/2021 00:06:10 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:0e:f3:68;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:f0:5a:41;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/06/2021 20:28:57 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:0e:f3:68;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:f0:5a:41;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/06/2021 20:28:57 critical Unicast Ranging Received Abort Response - initializing MAC;CM-MAC=**:**:**:0e:f3:68;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:f0:5a:41;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/06/2021 19:53:1 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=****:**:0e:f3:68;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:f0:5a:41;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 2.54K
  • 188
  • 462
Trouble shooter
204 Views
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lots of packet loss all the time

You have one U/S channel at 32 QAM which won't help

Apart from that - Stats look OK

I'd call the freephone area status number - Looks like a massive SNR problem in your locality:

The most useful and up to date info comes from the 0800 561 0061 number. Try that to see if there are any faults that the web service hasn't picked up!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
deama
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
190 Views
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lots of packet loss all the time

I just called them up but says everything is fine, I did the online checkup as well and they say it's fine too.

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 2.54K
  • 188
  • 462
Trouble shooter
186 Views
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lots of packet loss all the time

A forum rep should be along shortly!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
deama
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
182 Views
Message 6 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lots of packet loss all the time

I just had a phone call with them and they say that apparently it's due to one of the cabinets in my area not working right, sadly they've no idea how long it'd take to resolve this but they've got engineers working on it, so hopefully soon.

There was a power outage about a month ago in my area, I think that's when the problems started happening, maybe something short circuited or something.

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 2.54K
  • 188
  • 462
Trouble shooter
175 Views
Message 7 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lots of packet loss all the time

That'll do it!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
Molly_G
  • 825
  • 39
  • 100
Forum Team
Forum Team
95 Views
Message 8 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lots of packet loss all the time

Hi @deama,

 

Many thanks for getting in touch via the forums and welcome 🙂

 

I'm really sorry to hear of the issue that has been impacting your services recently and thanks for confirming that our engineering team are aware.

 

Hopefully this is a quick fix but apologies that so far you haven't been given an estimated time for the completion - please keep us posted on this.

 

Kind regards,

Molly_G
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply
deama
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
30 Views
Message 9 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lots of packet loss all the time

It's been working nicely these past several days so far, ever since the power outage that happened last week.

0 Kudos
Reply
Kath_F
  • 28.14K
  • 1.08K
  • 2.17K
Forum Team
Forum Team
18 Views
Message 10 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lots of packet loss all the time

Hi deama, 

Thanks for popping back and updating us on the situation. 

I'm really glad to hear that all seems to have been resolved. If you have any further issues, don't hesitate to pop back and let us know. 

Take care,

Kath_F
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply