Menu
Reply
S2Art
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
160 Views
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Lots of T3 timeouts and some Post RS Errors

Hello there I'm getting a lot of T3 timeouts lately and its causing my internet to drop out randomly. Here are my networking logs, do I need an engineer to visit?

I've done a reset and made sure all connections are solid.

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

14620000049.5512032 qam11
23940000049.5512032 qam12
35370000051512032 qam10
46030000049.5512032 qam9

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA002160
2ATDMA002610
3ATDMA002090
4ATDMA002410

Network Log

Time Priority Description

08/02/2021 03:39:28criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/02/2021 00:46:26noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
08/02/2021 00:46:26ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/02/2021 18:15:53criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/02/2021 12:46:26noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/02/2021 12:46:26ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/02/2021 18:26:43criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/02/2021 00:46:26noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/02/2021 00:46:26ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/01/2021 15:07:39criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/01/2021 00:25:42Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/01/2021 18:05:54criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/01/2021 12:46:26noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/01/2021 12:46:26ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/01/2021 15:18:41criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/01/2021 00:46:25noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/01/2021 00:46:25ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/01/2021 14:11:56criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/01/2021 12:46:25noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
21/01/2021 12:46:25ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
S2Art
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
158 Views
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lots of T3 timeouts and some Post RS Errors

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

13310000005.838256 qam25
2267000000738256 qam17
32750000006.638256 qam18
42830000006.838256 qam19
52910000006.938256 qam20
6299000000738256 qam21
73070000007.138256 qam22
83150000006.638256 qam23
9323000000638256 qam24
103390000005.538256 qam26
113470000004.638256 qam27
123550000004.538256 qam28
133630000004.938256 qam29
14371000000538256 qam30
153790000005.138256 qam31
163870000005.138256 qam32
17395000000538256 qam33
184030000005.538256 qam34
194110000005.638256 qam35
204190000005.538256 qam36
214270000005.438256 qam37
224350000005.138256 qam38
234430000004.638256 qam39
244510000004.338256 qam40



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.647015
2Locked38.63800
3Locked38.94660
4Locked38.63370
5Locked38.92760
6Locked38.63400
7Locked38.63130
8Locked38.62810
9Locked38.64340
10Locked38.937112
11Locked38.65500
12Locked38.65340
13Locked38.93020
14Locked38.63770
15Locked38.63580
16Locked38.9276735
17Locked38.64460
18Locked38.62680
19Locked38.91770
20Locked38.92990
21Locked38.92120
22Locked38.61700
23Locked38.62211763
24Locked38.63030
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 20.68K
  • 2.2K
  • 3.65K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
153 Views
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lots of T3 timeouts and some Post RS Errors

Stats do look a bit iffy - could be a problem. Just to confirm can you do this and then post them back up.
_______________________

Switch the Hub off and unplug it for a five minutes and then start it up. When done, check back in the settings and ensure that the RS error counts and T3 errors have all reset to 0. Then check every hour or two for the next day or two to see if they start reappearing - they shouldn't.

If they havent reset try a pinhole reset make sure the 2 passwords on the Hub sticker are still there and legible first ! Disconnect any ethernet cables from the Hub, and then with the Hub still "switched on" throughout, press pin in firmly with paper clip/SIM tray tool or similar "thin thing" and hold it firmly for at least 60 seconds, release the pin, leave for 10’ to stabilise - dont manually switch it off at any time. Check again that they are 0.

Also, in the meantime... if you haven’t already, set up a free and secure “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts , latency issues, packet drops, etc - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” to the “share live graph” (as per instructions on the TB website) when it starts to develop.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality



--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
S2Art
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
124 Views
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lots of T3 timeouts and some Post RS Errors

Try again : Today

S2Art_0-1612982842595.png

Yesterday:

S2Art_1-1612982906086.png

 Monday:

S2Art_2-1612983000839.png

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
S2Art
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
78 Views
Message 5 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lots of T3 timeouts and some Post RS Errors

So i reset as suggested and this is from this morning only: 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

14620000049.5512064 qam11
23940000051512064 qam12
35370000051512064 qam10
46030000050.5512064 qam9



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA00140
2ATDMA00120
3ATDMA00190
4ATDMA00200
0 Kudos
Reply
S2Art
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
24 Views
Message 6 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lots of T3 timeouts and some Post RS Errors

I've since found out that this is somewhere in the local network and not a problem at my home. Taking to my neighbours it seems there is varying issues with one having to revert to a 4g dongle.  We've been told that there's an engineer scheduled for April, which is ridiculous given the amount of properties effected. What is the best way to progress this quicker?  

0 Kudos
Reply
Robert_P
  • 1.85K
  • 84
  • 149
Forum Team
Forum Team
14 Views
Message 7 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lots of T3 timeouts and some Post RS Errors

Hello S2Art

 

Sorry to hear of the broadband issues experienced, it's clearly not the level of service we aim to provide. We appreciate you taking the time to raise this via the forums.

 

Having checked, there is currently an area issue local to you. This has a ticket ref of F008610616 with an estimated fix date of the 1st April at 10.55am. We appreciate this may not be the message you wanted to receive, the fix date is estimated so this may be resolved sooner.

 

We appreciate your patience.

 

Rob

0 Kudos
Reply