Menu
Arsenalbirder
Tuning in
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Lost 5g

We lost WiFi on the skybox, my wife's phone and her tablet plus the "Alexa turn the plug on gadget". It remained however on my Samsung phone and tablet. We rebooted the hub (3) using the button on the back. Everything now works but 5g has disappeared.  Any help gratefully received. I am a luddite with tech so please keep it simple!

0 Kudos
g0akc
Rising star
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Lost 5g

Has the SSID (network name) changed - possibly to 1 ?

otherwise factory reset the hub - press the pinhole button for a minute and let it boot up for ten mins 

------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
I know a bit about Wi-Fi, Telecoms, and TV as I used to do it for a living but I'm not perfect so don't beat me up... If you make things you make mistakes!
0 Kudos
Arsenalbirder
Tuning in
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Hi. Thanks for replying. Don't really understand the first bit though. It has the same long digit number but the 5g at the end has disappeared.  I will try the second piece advice again though. Hopefully this time when it reboots it will pick up the 5g .

0 Kudos
tehwolf
Superfast
Message 4 of 6
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

@Arsenalbirder wrote:

Hi. Thanks for replying. Don't really understand the first bit though. It has the same long digit number but the 5g at the end has disappeared.  I will try the second piece advice again though. Hopefully this time when it reboots it will pick up the 5g .

have you recently done a factory reset on the hub? it sounds like your 5ghz and 2.4ghz networks have merged, which is the default state.. if you want to revert it so that you have the 2.4 and 5ghz networks on different SSIDs you can do the following;