Menu
Joining in
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Lossing internet connecting everynight

Hi

For the past week my internet connection has been dropping out from around 11pm, and when I look at my router I see a flashing green light.

about a month ago i  have place my Router into modem mode as I have installed a personal firewall behind virgins router as I wanted better control over my network security and also I wanted to learn more about firewalls '  As I am a IT Engineer '

All was well until the 22th November when my firewall started to report that the modem had loss connected with Virgin,

After a lot of searching I have found a working solution which works about 80% and allows me to reconnect my system back to virgin, but then some point that night it loss's the connection and I have to repeat the whole progress again when I get home.

When I look at my log files in the firewall it looks like virgin is no authenticating and authorizing my external IP Address

When I check the virgin services checker it informs me that there is a known issue and that someone is working on it but this has been happening for the past week.

So can someone please inform me / help me as I am getting tired of fixing my system every night.  My area code is ( 20 )

I look forward to your reply

0 Kudos
Alessandro Volta
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Lossing internet connecting everynight

Does your firewall device have any routing functionality to it? DHCP. NAT, routing, DNS etc?

If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Joining in
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator