Menu
Reply
lewis_h
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
253 Views
Message 1 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Intermittent wifi connection to all devices

Looking for some help,

We've had Virgin broadband for around 18 months with no complaints regards speed and connection however, over the last 6 months all devices connected via WiFi constantly drop out throughout the day saying no internet access on the device, the issue corrects itself shortly after but this is across all devices in the home connected via WiFi. 

Devices 1 meter away with no obstructions stuff this error as well as the furthest away devices (albeit only 10 feet away).

I've called Virgin support, the checks ran are a connection test which comes back fine, a hub check which comes back fine..the only advice given is a pinhole router reset. This fixes the issue for around an hour, then if I move a device (laptop) around our living room, the connection drops again. I've suggested that the router is at fault but apparently the tests that come back say all is well with the hub. I think it's only a hub connection test that is ran and not a WiFi broadcast test to my devices?

Any help would be appreciated.

Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 22.49K
  • 2.41K
  • 4.02K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
250 Views
Message 2 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent wifi connection to all devices

One thing to check is that all of your coax cable connections are in nice and "finger" tight - at the Hub and wall box and also at any connectors etc.

Ensure there are no “unterminated cable loose ends. Disconnect all of the connections and reconnect them firmly to be sure. Also check that the internal wiring is ok with no kinking or chaffing, and check that all looks good with the outside cabling and wall box.

Also, are the issues only evident on wifi connections or do you see them at the same times on devices connected on ethernet cables? If you don't know, can you check to help diagnose whether it is just a wifi issue or it could be network connection related?

What Hub is it and what are the various Hub lights showing/doing when this happens?

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
lewis_h
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
230 Views
Message 3 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent wifi connection to all devices

Thanks for the reply John,

All connections are tight and not kinked. I have some devices connected via ethernet and they never cause any issues. Only WiFi.

I'm on a hub 3 and there are never any lights illuminated, just the solid white power light near the bottom of the unit.

Lewis

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 937
  • 69
  • 141
Well-informed
185 Views
Message 4 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent wifi connection to all devices

Sounds exactly like mine was - DOes ethernet still work?

Can you post your Hub status and logs?
Someone should be spot if there is a problem
Navigate to http://192.168.0.1 (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode)
Don't log in!
Click on 'router status'
Copy/paste the data from each of the tabs. The forum software will remove the MAC addresses for you (you may need to click the 'post' button again).

Also, set up a 'Broadband Quality Monitor'. This will monitor the state of your connection and record any network dropouts etc - You can do this at ThinkBroadband (https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality)



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
lewis_h
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
165 Views
Message 5 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent wifi connection to all devices

Thanks for the reply, the ethernet is working perfectly with no dropouts or issues. I'll be posting the stats in a few posts as it exceeds the 20000 character limit.

Status:

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
243000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
32600000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

Downstream

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12430000002.240256 qam14
21390000002.238256 qam1
3147000000238256 qam2
4155000000240256 qam3
5163000000240256 qam4
61710000002.438256 qam5
71790000002.538256 qam6
81870000002.540256 qam7
91950000002.538256 qam8
102030000002.738256 qam9
112110000002.538256 qam10
122190000002.240256 qam11
132270000002.440256 qam12
142350000002.540256 qam13
152510000001.940256 qam15
16259000000240256 qam16
172670000001.740256 qam17
182750000001.440256 qam18
19283000000140256 qam19
202910000001.240256 qam20
212990000001.438256 qam21
22307000000140256 qam22
233150000001.240256 qam23
243230000001.540256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.3770
2Locked38.9640
3Locked38.9690
4Locked40.3490
5Locked40.9510
6Locked38.9550
7Locked38.6960
8Locked40.3670
9Locked38.9670
10Locked38.9510
11Locked38.9390
12Locked40.3620
13Locked40.3630
14Locked40.3700
15Locked40.3590
16Locked40.3340
17Locked40.3700
18Locked40.3480
19Locked40.3610
20Locked40.3510
21Locked38.9550
22Locked40.3510
23Locked40.3520
24Locked40.3620

 

Upstream

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13260000036.5512064 qam5
23940000036.5512064 qam4
34620000035.8512064 qam3
45370000036.5512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0060
2ATDMA00140
3ATDMA00180
4ATDMA0080

 

Config

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
JKDHSUBsgvca69834ncxv9873254k

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 937
  • 69
  • 141
Well-informed
161 Views
Message 6 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent wifi connection to all devices

I may be totally wrong, and for this I apologise, - I think the upstream power could be a little low!

VM will be able to connect to your hub and take a look!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 22.49K
  • 2.41K
  • 4.02K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
146 Views
Message 7 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent wifi connection to all devices

Up powers are at the low end - but still within the normal range for connectivity.

I am thinking this is very likely just a wifi related issue but please do post up the BQM link to shared live graph" asap as that will be informative.

If its a wifi only issue, then on a Hub3, you could try separating the SSID's of the 2.4 and 5 GHz wifi bands by renaming them in the settings and at the same time switch off "channel optimisation" Then use a wifi scanning App to find the best wifi channels to use (just use 1,6,11 on 2.4GHz).

This often helps Hub3 users get better wifi performance - but its still no substitute for getting better kit 🙂 To address this, VM now supply “wifi pods” (not “boosters”). Pods are free to “some customers” most will be charged £5/month and they dont have enough supplies right now to provide them unless you have a demonstrable wifi issue.

And at that level of investment you would soon pay off that cost by buying a "better" wireless solution that will be yours to own and use forever and which will cure all your wifi woes.

Get either a…
Mesh System, (2) Wireless router, (3) Wireless access point (4) A combination of (2) & (3).


--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
lewis_h
  • 6
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
139 Views
Message 8 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent wifi connection to all devices

Thanks all for your messages and help, it is appreciated.

I've phoned Virgin today, each time I phone, their trouble-shooter eludes to boosters, which I tell them I'm happy to try albeit I don't think it's the issue but they keep telling me they are not in stock, I'm on a waiting list.

Today the agent sympathised with my issue of always reaching a booster issue so changed the bandwidth of the hub and told me to monitor for 24 hours, if no luck then an engineer can visit.

Below is an image of my BQM since starting it at mid day today.

lewis_h_0-1618849930483.png

 

I'll look into the settings myself and look at separating the SSID's of the Wi-Fi bands. Id welcome any good recommendations on kit, wireless router and an access point. I currently have a wireless access point upstairs however it doesn't make any difference if I'm connected to it or not. I have these Wi-Fi issues 5 feet away from the router 😞

Lewis

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 22.49K
  • 2.41K
  • 4.02K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
114 Views
Message 9 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent wifi connection to all devices

Your BQM pic has been rejected as it contains your i.p. address - you need to post the link to a "shared live graph". However, I can see it and what there is of it after a few hours - is pretty much perfect.

You say you have a wireless access point - by that do you mean one that is connected directly back to the Hub by an ethernet cable connection? If so I would expect it to deliver full and stable wifi speeds. Or is it an extender, or booster or similar

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Gareth_L
  • 6.18K
  • 379
  • 670
Forum Team
Forum Team
76 Views
Message 10 of 16
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent wifi connection to all devices

Hello lewis_h

Sorry to hear about the drops in wifi
I am more than happy to take a look at the hub from our side 
I will need to send you a private message to pass security 
If you can check the purple envelope top right of your screen that would be great 
Regards     
Gareth_L