Menu
Reply
griffhouse
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
247 Views
Message 1 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Intermittent loss of broadband

Hello all,

Been having problems with broadband for around a month now, contacted support multiple times which always involves restarting/resetting our hub which doesn't fix our problem, we asked for an engineer but they refuse to send one because they say they can't find a fault. Hoping someone here might be able to have a look.

Basically broadband is unstable (happens across all devices, many of which are plugged in via ethernet cable)  it can be fine for a few hours then will just suddenly start to play up, it will non stop lose connection and just keep dropping out  and in for a while. This may not even just be a hub/internet problem as TV sometimes loses signal in these times as well but who knows and zero help from virgin support.

I'll post my router status info here, last router restart was around 12-16 hours ago:

Network Log

Time Priority Description

20/07/2021 01:56:49criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/07/2021 01:56:49Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/07/2021 01:56:49criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/07/2021 01:56:48Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/07/2021 01:54:35criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/07/2021 01:54:35Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/07/2021 01:54:35criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/07/2021 01:54:20Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/07/2021 01:54:20criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/07/2021 01:54:19Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/07/2021 01:53:59criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/07/2021 01:53:58Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/07/2021 01:53:33criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/07/2021 01:53:33Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/07/2021 01:53:33criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/07/2021 01:53:32Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/07/2021 01:51:55criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/07/2021 01:51:55Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/07/2021 01:48:33criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
20/07/2021 01:48:33Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

0 Kudos
Reply
griffhouse
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
246 Views
Message 2 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent loss of broadband

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1330750000-837256 qam25
2234750000-6.736256 qam13
3242750000-6.937256 qam14
4250750000-737256 qam15
5258750000-7.237256 qam16
6266750000-7.437256 qam17
7274750000-7.537256 qam18
8282750000-7.537256 qam19
9290750000-7.737256 qam20
10298750000-7.736256 qam21
11306750000-837256 qam22
12314750000-7.937256 qam23
13322750000-836256 qam24
14338750000-836256 qam26
15346750000-7.937256 qam27
16354750000-836256 qam28
17362750000-7.937256 qam29
18370750000-7.937256 qam30
19378750000-7.936256 qam31
20386750000-837256 qam32
21394750000-8.237256 qam33
22402750000-8.237256 qam34
23410750000-837256 qam35
24418750000-837256 qam36



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.3235142213
2Locked36.6210954525
3Locked37.3149654014
4Locked37.3109654480
5Locked37.388354538
6Locked37.390554796
7Locked37.393154888
8Locked37.3126354607
9Locked37.3708748754
10Locked36.6210251216
11Locked37.6222834981
12Locked37.3213951936
13Locked36.6226542977
14Locked36.6351949788
15Locked37.3302750490
16Locked36.6246743273
17Locked37.3240652232
18Locked37.3271151967
19Locked36.6646848043
20Locked37.3629638279
21Locked37.3503839619
22Locked37.3722337415
23Locked37.3902334229
24Locked37.3161535420

 

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

15370000041.3512064 qam2
23940000039.5512064 qam4
34620000040512064 qam3
46030000041512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0050
2ATDMA0010
3ATDMA0010
4ATDMA0010

 

0 Kudos
Reply
griffhouse
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
227 Views
Message 3 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent loss of broadband

BQM

My Broadband Ping - Virgin media home

Only just set this up a few hours ago so not much data yet, but an example of what I'm experiencing.

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 2.54K
  • 190
  • 462
Trouble shooter
198 Views
Message 4 of 8
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Intermittent loss of broadband

D/S power is too low! - DO you have an attenuator fitted to the back of the hub?

SMallish cylindrical object?

If you do - remove it and see if things improve!

If not - you'll need VM to send a tech to fix!

You can either wait here for a couple of days or:

You could call it in as a fault on 150
It'll ask you to reboot the hub (as you already have done - don't)
You will then be cut off
Wait a couple of minutes
Call 150 again - report a broadband fault - The system will recognise that you called before and transfer you to a person!





------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

griffhouse
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
157 Views
Message 5 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent loss of broadband

I did indeed have an attenuator (a 10db one), I removed that and now the d/s power levels range from around 1.0-2.0. The number of Post/Pre RS Errors are down to single digitis now also.

So far broadband seems more stable so hopefully that sorted it!

Thanks mate, I assume this was put in originally when I got the box so how come the power level changed?

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 2.54K
  • 190
  • 462
Trouble shooter
155 Views
Message 6 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent loss of broadband

Possibly! - There was probably some work in the cab and they moved you to a different 'tap' in it!

Keep an eye on it though - if the postRS errors start building quickly - you'll need a tech visit to investigate!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
DEP890606
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
118 Views
Message 7 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent loss of broadband

I rang 150 several times and never got transferred to a real person. The automatic reply confirmed that I'd phoned previously about a broadband problem but the connection broke down when I was transferred to what I assume would have been a real person. This has happened eleven times in the last two days.

0 Kudos
Reply
Paulina_Z
  • 1.06K
  • 33
  • 67
Forum Team
Forum Team
35 Views
Message 8 of 8
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent loss of broadband

Hi @griffhouse,

 

Welcome to our Community Forum! Thank you for your post, and apologies for the late reply.

 

I can understand how frustrating it can be to experience regular connection issues. I'm glad to see that our amazing Community members were able to help out in this situation.

 

I was able to locate your account and I cannot see any issues showing on our system. There are no power level issues listed at the moment and all your equipment looks good on our side.

 

Please keep us updated on your connection and let us know if there's anything we can do to help.

 

Thanks! 🙂

Paulina_Z
Forum Team



New around here? To find out more about the Community check out our Getting Started guide


0 Kudos
Reply