Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
219 Views
Message 1 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Intermittent loss in hard wired connection

Hi,

I am trying to work from home and experiencing a regular intermittent loss in connection. I am hard wired to a laptop but signal is dropping on average 5-6 times per hour. I have had an engineer who came and checked the cables from the main cable box in the street to my house and he thought it was just a weak signal due to a line being shared. I have also tried factory resetting the hub and neither has resolved the connection issues. Does anyone have any other suggestions as this is impossible to get any work done.

Thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 24.39K
  • 1.4K
  • 3.1K
Alessandro Volta
213 Views
Message 2 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent loss in hard wired connection

Post the Network, Upstream and Downstream logs from the hubs admin pages

*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
196 Views
Message 3 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent loss in hard wired connection

Downstream bonded channels

 

Channel

Frequency (Hz)

Power (dBmV)

SNR (dB)

Modulation

Channel ID

1

139000000

5.4

40

256 qam

1

2

147000000

5.3

40

256 qam

2

3

155000000

5.1

40

256 qam

3

4

163000000

4.8

40

256 qam

4

5

171000000

4.5

40

256 qam

5

6

179000000

4.3

40

256 qam

6

7

187000000

3.9

40

256 qam

7

8

195000000

3.4

40

256 qam

8

9

203000000

3

40

256 qam

9

10

211000000

2.7

40

256 qam

10

11

219000000

2.7

40

256 qam

11

12

227000000

2.7

40

256 qam

12

13

235000000

2.2

40

256 qam

13

14

243000000

1.7

40

256 qam

14

15

251000000

1.5

40

256 qam

15

16

259000000

1.7

40

256 qam

16

17

267000000

1.5

40

256 qam

17

18

275000000

1.5

40

256 qam

18

19

283000000

1.5

40

256 qam

19

20

291000000

1.2

40

256 qam

20

21

299000000

1.5

40

256 qam

21

22

307000000

1.2

40

256 qam

22

23

315000000

1

40

256 qam

23

24

323000000

0.7

40

256 qam

24




 

Downstream bonded channels

 

Channel

Locked Status

RxMER (dB)

Pre RS Errors

Post RS Errors

1

Locked

40.3

22

0

2

Locked

40.3

39

0

3

Locked

40.3

35

7

4

Locked

40.3

28

205

5

Locked

40.3

16

0

6

Locked

40.3

6

0

7

Locked

40.9

8

0

8

Locked

40.9

6

0

9

Locked

40.9

7

0

10

Locked

40.3

7

0

11

Locked

40.9

8

0

12

Locked

40.3

5

0

13

Locked

40.3

8

0

14

Locked

40.3

4

0

15

Locked

40.9

5

0

16

Locked

40.3

8

0

17

Locked

40.3

10

0

18

Locked

40.3

12

0

19

Locked

40.3

12

0

20

Locked

40.3

7

0

21

Locked

40.9

5

0

22

Locked

40.3

8

0

23

Locked

40.3

27

0

24

Locked

40.3

11

0

 

 

 

Upstream bonded channels

 

Channel

Frequency (Hz)

Power (dBmV)

Symbol Rate (ksps)

Modulation

Channel ID

1

32600000

4.25

5120

64 qam

11

2

39400000

4.3

5120

64 qam

10

3

46200000

4.35

5120

64 qam

9

4

25800000

4.2

5120

64 qam

12




 

Upstream bonded channels

 

Channel

Channel Type

T1 Timeouts

T2 Timeouts

T3 Timeouts

T4 Timeouts

1

ATDMA

0

0

0

0

2

ATDMA

0

0

0

0

3

ATDMA

0

0

0

0

4

ATDMA

0

0

0

0

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 24.39K
  • 1.4K
  • 3.1K
Alessandro Volta
187 Views
Message 4 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent loss in hard wired connection

When was the hub last rebooted?

*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 17.25K
  • 1.82K
  • 2.99K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
182 Views
Message 5 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent loss in hard wired connection

Also post the Network logs.

Also, in the meantime, if you haven’t already, set up a free “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts , latency issues, packet drops, etc - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” (as per instructions on the TB website) when you have the first 24h period.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
182 Views
Message 6 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent loss in hard wired connection

I did the factory reset that was suggested on the Virgin media page this morning before posting on the forum. Still getting breaks in connection.

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 17.25K
  • 1.82K
  • 2.99K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
170 Views
Message 7 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent loss in hard wired connection

FYI
------

Note that a pinhole reset on a Hub3 can be a bit problematic - so do it (again) EXACTLY this way (not as the VM website says!).

Firstly, make sure the Hub's sticker/card with the two passwords on it is still there and legible or you will be stuffed ! If its not – DON’T DO IT !

With the Hub switched "on", disconnect any ethernet connections and then push in the “reset pin” with the end of a paperclip/thin nail/SIM tray “tool” or similar (bigger items like ball point pen ends may not press it in far enough) until you feel it at the “stop point” and hold it there firmly for a "timed" minimum of 60 seconds do NOT restart the Hub after that. Leave it 10' or so to stabilise and then your passwords/passphrase for both the Hub settings and the Wifi networks will revert to the two printed on the Hub sticker on its base/side/card. Make sure you use the wifi one for devices connecting to the wifi and the settings/admin one to access the Hub (it is a six digit numeric one).

See if that sorts it.

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
158 Views
Message 8 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent loss in hard wired connection

Virgin engineer was here on the 21st

network log

27/10/2020 13:40:35noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;27/10/2020 10:53:45noticeSW download Successful - Via Config file27/10/2020 10:51:35noticeSW Download INIT - Via Config file27/10/2020 00:07:56criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;23/10/2020 08:03:12ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;21/10/2020 22:01:18criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;21/10/2020 13:41:39Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;21/10/2020 13:41:31Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;21/10/2020 13:41:25Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;21/10/2020 13:41:25criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;21/10/2020 13:41:25Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;21/10/2020 13:41:25criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;21/10/2020 13:34:56Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;21/10/2020 13:34:41Warning!Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;21/10/2020 13:34:38Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;21/10/2020 13:34:38criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;21/10/2020 13:34:37Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;21/10/2020 13:34:37criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;21/10/2020 13:34:35Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;21/10/2020 13:25:12criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 13
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
120 Views
Message 9 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent loss in hard wired connection

<a title="Broadband Ping" href="https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/02352fa90ee43cf914733bb6cf38541efcb55800-28-10-2020">My Broadband Ping</a>
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 3.44K
  • 270
  • 465
Superfast
112 Views
Message 10 of 24
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent loss in hard wired connection

Sounds an odd request however could you connect wirelessly to see if the issue persists?

You could have a faulty HUB (I've seen similar threads where the ethernet connections would drop intermittently, however wireless was ok).

The BQM doesn't look too bad (Some minor packet loss).

0 Kudos
Reply