Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
186 Views
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Intermittent connection

I have been suffering from interruptions of service for some time and have reported the issue a number of times and had no response.  From what I have seen recently this seems to be the best avenue to get something done.  There doesn't seem to be anything wrong with the router and all our internal connections are wired.  The BQM shows intermittent spikes throughout the day each of which causes my connection to a remote server to disconnect.  

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.9K
  • 929
  • 1.53K
Alessandro Volta
184 Views
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

Have you checked the 'Check Service Status' at the top of the page ?

If nothing is showing try phoning 0800 561 0061, this will tell you of more local issues that may be affecting your district. Be aware that it isn't a manned line.

Go round all the accessible internal and external co-ax connections and ensure that they are finger tight.

If everything above is OK we need do some more troubleshooting; to start with …

Can you post a 'Live Link' to your BQM please.

Instructions for posting BQM Link

Under your BQM graph are two links in red.

Click the lower link (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box, beware, there may be more text than you can see.

On here click the Link icon (2 links chain to the left of the camera icon)

In the URL box paste the link you copied and in the ‘text to display’ box write My BQM then click OK - you can post the link straight away.

Then

 

Can you please

Type 192.168.0.1 (192.168.100.1 in Modem mode) into your browser URL bar and press enter. 

Hub 2 & 3 When the page appears DO NOT LOG IN but click ‘Check Router Status’.

Hub 4 When the page appears LOG IN then click ‘Check Router Status’.

Copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream and Network Log tabs onto here, if you get a yellow warning click the Post button again. Use one post for each tab if you wish. Please do not use screen grabs.

A Guru will be along soon to decipher the info.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Semi-Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - Mike Robbo
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
98 Views
Message 3 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

As requested

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/270190fd7e741b6461e7630ea315c91e6adfa670

 

Downstream ChannelsLock Status Channel ID Frequency Modulation Rx Power RxMER Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
Locked1411000000 Hz256 QAM15.7 dBmV 36.0 dB143227240
Locked2419000000 Hz256 QAM14.3 dBmV 35.8 dB170547715
Locked3427000000 Hz256 QAM14.5 dBmV 35.6 dB214758776
Locked4435000000 Hz256 QAM15.4 dBmV 34.1 dB7730597957
Locked5443000000 Hz256 QAM15.8 dBmV 35.6 dB181566716
Locked6451000000 Hz256 QAM15.7 dBmV 35.6 dB199996103
Locked7459000000 Hz256 QAM15.7 dBmV 35.4 dB285216630
Locked8467000000 Hz256 QAM15.9 dBmV 35.8 dB190566879

To reset the Pre and Post RS error counts please use the Downstream screen under the router status screen available from the login page.

Upstream ChannelsLock Status Channel ID Frequency Modulation Tx Power Mode Channel Bandwidth Symbol Rate
Locked146200000 HzATDMA33.3 dBmV64QAM6400000 Hz5120 Ksym/sec
Locked239400000 HzATDMA32.8 dBmV64QAM6400000 Hz5120 Ksym/sec
Locked425800000 HzATDMA32.5 dBmV64QAM6400000 Hz5120 Ksym/sec
Locked332600000 HzATDMA32.8 dBmV64QAM6400000 Hz5120 Ksym/sec

 

This morning has been particularly bad getting disconnected every minute or so which is odd as there doesn't seem to be anything to cause it.

Regards

Paul

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 24.77K
  • 1.43K
  • 3.15K
Alessandro Volta
96 Views
Message 4 of 13
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Intermittent connection

Your downstream levels are too high.

Unless there’s an area fault you’ll need an engineer. 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
86 Views
Message 5 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

Thanks for that, I've been trying to get an engineer for weeks but if there is a way of doing it through their website its well hidden.  I just seem to end up going round in circles.  I have sent messages by various means but haven't yet had an acknowledgement let alone any help.

We had an engineer visit some years ago who fitted an attenuator to the line.  If it has failed it will be the first failure of such a device I have seen in 40+ years of engineering.

Thanks for your help

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 24.77K
  • 1.43K
  • 3.15K
Alessandro Volta
82 Views
Message 6 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

There’s no way to book online. You need to phone in or wait for a mod to reply here. 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
73 Views
Message 7 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

How does this look?

 

Downstream ChannelsLock Status Channel ID Frequency Modulation Rx Power RxMER Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
Locked1411000000 Hz256 QAM12.8 dBmV 36.0 dB4228527754
Locked2419000000 Hz256 QAM11.9 dBmV 35.8 dB4261125305
Locked3427000000 Hz256 QAM12.1 dBmV 35.6 dB4964328807
Locked4435000000 Hz256 QAM12.5 dBmV 33.8 dB78635312186
Locked5443000000 Hz256 QAM12.9 dBmV 35.4 dB4821329049
Locked6451000000 Hz256 QAM13.0 dBmV 35.4 dB5175531601
Locked7459000000 Hz256 QAM13.0 dBmV 35.4 dB6342534871
Locked8467000000 Hz256 QAM13.0 dBmV 35.6 dB5069131580

To reset the Pre and Post RS error counts please use the Downstream screen under the router status screen available from the login page.

Upstream ChannelsLock Status Channel ID Frequency Modulation Tx Power Mode Channel Bandwidth Symbol Rate
Locked146200000 HzATDMA33.8 dBmV64QAM6400000 Hz5120 Ksym/sec
Locked239400000 HzATDMA33.0 dBmV64QAM6400000 Hz5120 Ksym/sec
Locked425800000 HzATDMA32.8 dBmV64QAM6400000 Hz5120 Ksym/sec
Locked332600000 HzATDMA32.8 dBmV64QAM6400000 Hz5120 Ksym/sec

 

Unfortunately doesn't seem to have made any difference.  Jump in average latency and lost packets on monitor occurred when I was fitting a db attenuator.

Regards

Paul

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 24.77K
  • 1.43K
  • 3.15K
Alessandro Volta
70 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

Downstream is still too high and littered with Post RS errors.

You need an engineer for sure.

*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
Highlighted
  • 5
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
42 Views
Message 9 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

Hi All,

          I've still had no help from VM but have manages to fix it myself.  After fitting 10dB forward path filter got received signal levels in spec but made no difference.  Followed advice from another source and put (Not so) Superhub into modem mode and then connected it to a another router.  Now appears to working fine but only time will tell.

Regards

Paul

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4.61K
  • 184
  • 251
Forum Team
Forum Team
22 Views
Message 10 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent connection

Hi Oom_Paul,

 

Thank you for your post and welcome to the community. 

 

I'm very sorry to hear about the issue you're having with the broadband. 

 

I have taken a look on our side and it does look as though an engineer is required to resolve this. 

 

I will private message you so we can look into this. 

 

^Martin

0 Kudos
Reply