Menu
Reply
Mashermartyn
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
210 Views
Message 1 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Intermittent broadband

Hi. Hopefully someone on here can help me since the useless customer care support from virgin have not, and are wanting to charge me £99 for an engineer visit.

My WiFi drops off intermittently throughout the day (green WiFi light flashing on hub), at least 10 times. I've done the usual checks, cable management etc, resetting the hub 3 and still the problem persists. Virgin did a check on the line and say there isn't an issue, which there clearly is. I even think the range of the hub isn't as good as it used to be as the WiFi drops off in the kitchen due to signal range, a problem I never used to have. What's going on? Is the hub on the way out or some sort of signal interference. 

I'm so annoyed at virgin trying to charge me £99 I will be leaving when my contract ends.

Thanks in advance for any help

0 Kudos
Reply
conman33158
  • 785
  • 71
  • 102
Superfast
185 Views
Message 2 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent broadband

Can you please upload your router stats

Type 192.168.0.1 or (192.168.100.1 if you have your Hub in Modem mode) into your address bar at the top of your browser

For Hubs 2 & 3 - DO NOT LOG IN, just click “Check Router Status”

For Hub 4 - When the page appears LOG IN then click on:

Advanced Settings > Tools > Network Status.

Please copy and paste the contents of the Downstream, Upstream, Configuration and Network Log tabs, if you get a yellow warning just click the Post button again. You can use more than one post for each item if needed.

If you get a warning when you hit “Post” just hit “Post” again and it should work ok!

Please do not use screenshots

Also can you please setup a Broadband Quality Monitor (BQM) at thinkbroadband.com. Just click on Create a new monitor.

Post a 'Live Link' to your BQM on here asap.

Under your graph you just created Click (Share Live Graph) then click generate.

Copy the text in the Direct Link box and paste it on here

***********************************************************************************************************************************
Super Hub 4.0 (modem mode) - Gig1 Fibre FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply
Mashermartyn
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
173 Views
Message 3 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent broadband

Downstream

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1331000000-238256 qam25
2203000000-1.538256 qam9
3211000000-1.538256 qam10
4219000000-1.438256 qam11
5227000000-1.538256 qam12
6235000000-1.538256 qam13
7243000000-1.738256 qam14
8251000000-1.938256 qam15
9259000000-238256 qam16
10267000000-2.238256 qam17
11275000000-2.438256 qam18
12283000000-2.438256 qam19
13291000000-2.538256 qam20
14299000000-2.538256 qam21
15307000000-2.538256 qam22
16315000000-2.238256 qam23
17323000000-238256 qam24
18371000000-238256 qam26
19379000000-238256 qam27
20387000000-238256 qam28
21395000000-238256 qam29
22403000000-2.238256 qam30
23411000000-2.238256 qam31
24419000000-2.238256 qam32



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.960
2Locked38.650
3Locked38.650
4Locked38.970
5Locked38.950
6Locked38.950
7Locked38.960
8Locked38.660
9Locked38.670
10Locked38.960
11Locked38.950
12Locked38.650
13Locked38.630
14Locked38.640
15Locked38.950
16Locked38.960
17Locked38.650
18Locked38.610
19Locked38.640
20Locked38.660
21Locked38.650
22Locked38.950
23Locked38.960
24Locked38.960

 

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Mashermartyn
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
172 Views
Message 4 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent broadband

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

16030023436.7512064 qam1
23939995435.3512064 qam4
34620000035.3512064 qam3
45369995435.3512064 qam2



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000
0 Kudos
Reply
Mashermartyn
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
169 Views
Message 5 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent broadband

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
ewrkldJKDHSUBsgvca69834ncxv98



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID18417
Max Traffic Rate690000278
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID18416
Max Traffic Rate44000278
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling TypeBestEffort

 

Time Priority Description

14/02/2021 10:55:29noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/02/2021 10:54:42Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/02/2021 09:22:33noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/02/2021 23:54:22criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/02/2021 21:32:55noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/02/2021 13:17:4criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/02/2021 09:38:5noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/02/2021 09:24:25criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/02/2021 06:46:41noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/02/2021 06:45:46Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / ConnectionType;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/02/2021 11:45:49criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/02/2021 15:16:32noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt078+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/02/2021 15:16:32ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/02/2021 10:45:9criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/02/2021 03:16:32noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt078+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
07/02/2021 03:16:32ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
04/02/2021 07:02:46criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/02/2021 15:16:32noticeDHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt078+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
03/02/2021 15:16:32ErrorDHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/02/2021 06:19:6criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Mashermartyn
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
166 Views
Message 6 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent broadband

Thanks for getting in touch. I've done what you ask.

I have been messing about with the 2ghz, 5 ghz settings this morning and done another factory reset. Not sure if this will interfere with what you expect to see.

I'm a complete novice with this sorry

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
conman33158
  • 785
  • 71
  • 102
Superfast
164 Views
Message 7 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent broadband

That's ok, we were all there at some stage 🙂

I can tell you that your upload stream power levels are too low and would need an engineer to put right unless there is a problem in your area.

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

16030023436.7512064 qam1
23939995435.3512064 qam4
34620000035.3512064 qam3
45369995435.3512064 qam2

 

Try calling 0800 561 0061 for most up to date information for your area. It's just a bit concerning as when the green wifi light flashes it would sometimes indicate that work is being done on the network, either that or you could have a faulty hub. If it was just a wifi issue, connection problems etc, you would probably be better of investing in a decent third party router, that way you can put the Virgin Hub into modem mode and let the router deal with all the traffic. This would give you better wi-fi coverage and if you go for the likes of a wi-fi 6 capable router you would get better speeds. There are loads of options from Asus, TP Link etc and seeing as the VM Hubs are well known for their lack of wi-fi capabilities you would be better of using your own equipment, especially if you are suffering from poor wi-fi coverage and speed. I know it's a case of having to spend money that you shouldn't have to, but it really is worth it and gives you a better all round internet experience.

Set up the BQM as per instruction above and we can get a better look at what your line is doing 🙂

***********************************************************************************************************************************
Super Hub 4.0 (modem mode) - Gig1 Fibre FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply
Mashermartyn
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
159 Views
Message 8 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent broadband

Thanks i'll look at this now.

I do have around 24 devices connected at the minute, do you think this is all a bit too much for the virgin 3 hub?

I did think about another router going forward, maybe once the other issue is sorted out I can look into it. I'm just so annoyed that virgin were so dismissive about any problems.

0 Kudos
Reply
conman33158
  • 785
  • 71
  • 102
Superfast
147 Views
Message 9 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent broadband

24 devices is quite a lot for a hub to be honest. As for Virgin, if they don't see any problems at that time they won't move forward on the issue. Best to ring VM on or just after 8am or alternatively you can wait here for a Virgin staff member to pick it up, typically between 5-10 days, sometimes sooner, sometimes later depending on how busy they are.

***********************************************************************************************************************************
Super Hub 4.0 (modem mode) - Gig1 Fibre FTTP - Asus RT-AX82U & Asus RT-AX56U with AiMesh setup
***********************************************************************************************************************************
My Broadband Ping - conman33158
0 Kudos
Reply
Mashermartyn
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
137 Views
Message 10 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent broadband

0 Kudos
Reply