Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
116 Views
Message 1 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Intermittent Disconnection in Basinstoke

Hi I'm having problems with my Broadband.
Hub3
Package: 100M

My Broadband Ping - My virgin Home Connection

As you can see from the "ThinkBroadband" graph I'm getting packet drops often and sometimes total disconnects. I've ran the tests, power cycled my router and I've done a factory reset and instructed from your general support. 

Its seems to coincide with warnings the router flags.
----
Warning!
RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
----
and
----
critical
SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
----

Here are my Network Status logs




Network Settings.jpg

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 11.97K
  • 933
  • 1.53K
Alessandro Volta
98 Views
Message 2 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Disconnection in Basinstoke

Have you checked the 'Check Service Status' at the top of the page ?

If nothing is showing try phoning 0800 561 0061, this will tell you of more local issues that may be affecting your district. Be aware that it isn't a manned line.

Go round all the accessible internal and external co-ax connections and ensure that they are finger tight.

***********************************************************************************************************************************

Mike Robinson
Semi-Retired Aircraft Engineer & Computer Based Training and Learning Designer for many of the world's Military Arms.

My Broadband Ping - Mike Robbo
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4.42K
  • 749
  • 1.8K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
97 Views
Message 3 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Disconnection in Basinstoke

I'm afraid the resolution on screen shots is always poor when posted in this way, and it's far more useful for us if you post the status data for Downstream, Upstream and the full Network log as copied and pasted text, not screenshots or images.

Provisionally this looks like an upstream noise or power issue, but you'll either have to wait for somebody with better eyesight to confirm, or repost as text.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Highlighted
  • 24.81K
  • 1.43K
  • 3.16K
Alessandro Volta
84 Views
Message 4 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Disconnection in Basinstoke

When was the hub last rebooted?


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
56 Views
Message 5 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Disconnection in Basinstoke

Sorry i didn't know the resolution or quality would be altered.
Here is the information requested

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1659000000-338256 qam32
2475000000-2.940256 qam9
3483000000-2.938256 qam10
4491000000-338256 qam11
5499000000-338256 qam12
6507000000-340256 qam13
7515000000-3.240256 qam14
8523000000-338256 qam15
9531000000-3.240256 qam16
10539000000-3.238256 qam17
11547000000-3.438256 qam18
12555000000-3.440256 qam19
13563000000-3.240256 qam20
14571000000-3.238256 qam21
15579000000-3.238256 qam22
16587000000-3.240256 qam23
17595000000-3.240256 qam24
18603000000-3.538256 qam25
19611000000-3.440256 qam26
20619000000-3.538256 qam27
21627000000-3.238256 qam28
22635000000-3.238256 qam29
23643000000-3.238256 qam30
24651000000-338256 qam31

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.642599
2Locked40.314394129
3Locked38.914824073
4Locked38.914114211
5Locked38.912554483
6Locked40.912125665
7Locked40.312243985
8Locked38.911984529
9Locked40.311305138
10Locked38.911075238
11Locked38.910014142
12Locked40.38154505
13Locked40.38714368
14Locked38.97904751
15Locked38.97685331
16Locked40.37754468
17Locked40.36925580
18Locked38.66684996
19Locked40.36924622
20Locked38.97024534
21Locked38.96904513
22Locked38.63457151
23Locked38.63327145
24Locked38.92247202

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

1536999833.95512064 qam2
2394000003.8512064 qam4
3462000003.95512064 qam3
4602999813.95512064 qam1

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
dsfd;kfoA,.iyewrkldJKDHSU

Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID5692
Max Traffic Rate117000047
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0

Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID5691
Max Traffic Rate10500047
Max Traffic Burst16320
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst16320
Scheduling TypeBestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 4.42K
  • 749
  • 1.8K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
38 Views
Message 6 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Disconnection in Basinstoke

THat's better, I can read it, thanks.  Power levels, SNR and modulation are unfortunately all looking good - unfortunate because if they are wrong it's an easy fix.  Could you post the Network log in full, then do a restart of the hub, and post the Downstream data again after a reasonable length of time say 12 or 24 hours?

The network log is the only time series recording done by the hub, and we can see how frequent serious errors are, the restart clears the downstream error counts, and I'm looking to see how quickly the post-RS error count is rising.  A cable hub always clocks up errors, what matters is how quickly they are increasing.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 5.93K
  • 1.12K
  • 1.56K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
35 Views
Message 7 of 7
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Disconnection in Basinstoke

Hello

One thing I would do as looks like noise in the line somewhere would be to go around and make sure that all coaxial connections to all VM equipment are finger tight, best way would be too loosen the connector and re-tighten, then power off hub for 30 secs and back on. If the number of Post RS Errors keeps increasing quickly then more than likely an engineer will be need to find source of noise as could be anywhere from your house to the nearest cabinet.

Regards Mike

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

0 Kudos
Reply