Menu
Reply
Tansleypete
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
208 Views
Message 1 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Intermittent Broadband

Hi

I am getting regular, short interruptions in broadband and am getting a bit frustrated.

Sometimes the lights start flashing, sometimes they don’t.

I am concerned it is a wiring issue but I cant seem to find a way to ask someone to check wiring.

My neighbours don’t seem to have an issue and I check the status page each time but no area issues. My neighbours do have the Superhub 4 and I have the 3.

Apart from obviously visually checking, I don’t know how to check if the wiring is an issue.

If anyone can give any advice I would be really grateful!

0 Kudos
Reply
lotharmat
  • 2.54K
  • 188
  • 458
Trouble shooter
204 Views
Message 2 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Broadband

Can you post your Hub status and logs?
Someone should be spot if there is a problem
Navigate to http://192.168.0.1 (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode)
Don't log in!
Click on 'router status'
Copy/paste the data from each of the tabs. The forum software will remove the MAC addresses for you (you may need to click the 'post' button again).

Also, set up a 'Broadband Quality Monitor'. This will monitor the state of your connection and record any network dropouts etc - You can do this at ThinkBroadband (https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality)
Give it a while to gather data and then click 'Share Live graph' and paste the 'Direct Link' into the forum!



------------------------------------------------------------------
Hub 3 - Modem Mode - TP-Link Archer C7

0 Kudos
Reply
Corey_C
  • 3.9K
  • 214
  • 323
Forum Team
Forum Team
116 Views
Message 3 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Broadband

Thanks for your post and for reaching out to the Community Forums, Tansleypete,

 

Sorry to hear that you have been having connection issues, have things improved since your post? 

Can you confirm which lights are flashing: https://www.virginmedia.com/help/virgin-media-what-do-the-lights-on-your-hub-mean

Is the hub connected to the mains or is it an extension?

 

Cheers,

Corey C

0 Kudos
Reply
Tansleypete
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
62 Views
Message 4 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Broadband

Hi All

Really sorry for the delay in replying - really busy time.

This is the Status tab

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
259000000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
32600059
Locked
Provisioning State
Online

 

This is the Downstream tab

 

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

12590000006.338256 qam16
213900000011.538256 qam1
31470000001138256 qam2
415500000010.538256 qam3
516300000010.438256 qam4
61710000009.638256 qam5
7179000000938256 qam6
8187000000938256 qam7
91950000008.538256 qam8
102030000008.138256 qam9
11211000000738256 qam10
122190000007.138256 qam11
132270000006.837256 qam12
142350000005.337256 qam13
152430000005.337256 qam14
162510000005.538256 qam15
172670000006.338256 qam17
182750000007.538256 qam18
192830000006.137256 qam19
202910000005.638256 qam20
212990000007.438256 qam21
223070000006.838256 qam22
233150000005.938256 qam23
243230000006.538256 qam24



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked38.61129132
2Locked38.927410963
3Locked38.66389685
4Locked38.65243663
5Locked38.64545430
6Locked38.64374401
7Locked38.63892401
8Locked38.63229222
9Locked38.62902248
10Locked38.62723200
11Locked38.62546244
12Locked38.62191188
13Locked37.62155203
14Locked37.62106197
15Locked37.61853114
16Locked38.61602161
17Locked38.6982240
18Locked38.9845111
19Locked37.3853112
20Locked38.6755284
21Locked38.660278
22Locked38.6587142
23Locked38.9484105
24Locked38.645094

 

I will post the others separately.

0 Kudos
Reply
Tansleypete
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
61 Views
Message 5 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Broadband

This is the Upstreamand Configuration

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

13260005936512064 qam3
23940004336.8512064 qam2
32580000535.5512064 qam4
44620005037.8512064 qam1



Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1ATDMA000

0

 

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060-b.cm



Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID1995812
Max Traffic Rate230000061
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

SFID1995811
Max Traffic Rate22000061
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0
Max Concatenated Burst42600
Scheduling TypeBestEffort
0 Kudos
Reply
Tansleypete
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
60 Views
Message 6 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Broadband

This is the Network Log

Network Log

Time Priority Description

15/07/2021 09:09:35noticeLAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/07/2021 03:31:13Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
15/07/2021 00:57:1criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/07/2021 18:05:10criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/07/2021 18:01:4criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/07/2021 18:00:57criticalUnicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/07/2021 18:00:57criticalRanging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/07/2021 18:00:14criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/07/2021 17:56:30Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/07/2021 16:46:45criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/07/2021 16:43:0criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/07/2021 16:38:47criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/07/2021 16:38:23criticalUnicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/07/2021 16:38:23criticalRanging Request Retries exhausted;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/07/2021 16:37:39criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/07/2021 13:30:17Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/07/2021 13:24:19criticalReceived Response to Broadcast Maintenance Request, But no Unicast Maintenance opportunities received - T4 time out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/07/2021 13:20:1criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
14/07/2021 13:18:58Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/07/2021 21:22:50criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Andrew-G
  • 6.88K
  • 1.2K
  • 3.01K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
55 Views
Message 7 of 13
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Intermittent Broadband

You have a problem with downstream power levels - some are too high, and the range is too wide.  I'll mark that for staff to advise.  Usually this is a straightforward fix for the field team, although very occasionally intermittent faults can be a real pain to track down and take longer.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

Tansleypete
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
43 Views
Message 8 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Broadband

What exactly does that mean? Sorry I am not great with Broadband terminology.

Is it a physical or a software/router issue?

0 Kudos
Reply
Martin_N
  • 5.54K
  • 232
  • 316
Forum Team
Forum Team
42 Views
Message 9 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Broadband

Hi Tansleypete,

 

Thank you for your post and welcome to the community. 

 

I'm very sorry to hear about the broadband issue you're having. 

 

I have been able to locate your account and would like to look into this. 

 

I will send you a private message to get some details. 

 

^Martin

0 Kudos
Reply
Tansleypete
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
23 Views
Message 10 of 13
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Broadband

You have a problem with downstream power levels - some are too high, and the range is too wide. 

What exactly does that mean? Sorry I am not great with Broadband terminology.

Is it a physical or a software/router issue?



0 Kudos
Reply