Menu
Reply
ronniecy1993
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
246 Views
Message 1 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Intermittent Broadband

Hello there

Recently joined virgin media broadband and tv services, however experiencing some broadband issues. I searched in the community hub and I think the problem is about the downstream power? The broadband connection sometimes works and sometimes disconnects.

Tried to call the customer service for a few times and they just told me instructions which did not help at all. They ran checks and told me that well you are connected. But seems they dont quite understand what I am experiencing. Feel very frustrated as being unable to go on the Internet for a whole week. 

Below are some data I copied from my virgin router status. Would somebody help? Anyone from Virgin Media could help me book an engineer visit? Feel so frustrated and desperate for the whole week dealing with the broadband issues. Much appreciated for help. 

ronniecy1993_0-1612566752664.png

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
JitteryPinger
  • 1.73K
  • 188
  • 342
Super solver
242 Views
Message 2 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Broadband

Hi, while the picture gets approved could you describe the issues?

Speed or Dropping connection?

Is the issue occuring on WiFi devices or wired devices?

If I've helped please let me know 🙂 Matt

A 10+ Year Virgin Media veteran, been here through the Up's and the Down's and Down's....
Vodafone 5G EE BQM Hub 4 BQM Hub 3 BQM Hitron CGNV4 BQM TT BQM

Technical Support - AV & Networking - Customer Service - Finance - Culinary - Construction
0 Kudos
Reply
ronniecy1993
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
242 Views
Message 3 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Broadband

 

Cable Modem Status Item Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)

378750000

Locked

Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)

46199691

Locked

Provisioning State

Online

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
ronniecy1993
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
237 Views
Message 4 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Broadband

Downstream bonded channels

 

Channel Frequency (Hz)Power dBmV SNR (dB)Modulation Channel ID

1

378750000

-0.2

38

256 qam

27

2

202750000

0.5

38

256 qam

9

3

210750000

0.5

38

256 qam

10

4

218750000

0.4

38

256 qam

11

5

226750000

0.2

38

256 qam

12

6

234750000

0

38

256 qam

13

7

242750000

0

38

256 qam

14

8

250750000

0

38

256 qam

15

9

258750000

0

38

256 qam

16

10

266750000

-0.2

38

256 qam

17

11

274750000

-0.2

38

256 qam

18

12

282750000

-0.2

38

256 qam

19

13

290750000

-0.4

38

256 qam

20

14

298750000

-0.4

38

256 qam

21

15

306750000

-0.4

38

256 qam

22

16

314750000

-0.4

38

256 qam

23

17

322750000

-0.2

38

256 qam

24

18

330750000

0

38

256 qam

25

19

370750000

-0.2

38

256 qam

26

20

386750000

-0.4

38

256 qam

28

21

394750000

-0.2

38

256 qam

29

22

402750000

-0.2

38

256 qam

30

23

410750000

0

38

256 qam

31

24

418750000

-0.2

38

256 qam

32





Downstream bonded channels

 

Channel Locked Status Rx MER (dB)Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1

Locked

38.9

4

0

2

Locked

38.6

7

0

3

Locked

38.6

5

0

4

Locked

38.9

5

0

5

Locked

38.6

6

0

6

Locked

38.9

6

0

7

Locked

38.6

4

0

8

Locked

38.6

5

0

9

Locked

38.9

5

0

10

Locked

38.9

5

0

11

Locked

38.6

3

0

12

Locked

38.6

6

0

13

Locked

38.6

5

0

14

Locked

38.6

17

0

15

Locked

38.6

6

0

16

Locked

38.6

5

0

17

Locked

38.9

4

0

18

Locked

38.6

0

0

19

Locked

38.6

0

0

20

Locked

38.6

5

0

21

Locked

38.6

5

0

22

Locked

38.6

7

0

23

Locked

38.6

7

0

24

Locked

38.9

12

0

 

0 Kudos
Reply
ronniecy1993
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
229 Views
Message 5 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Broadband

what's in the picture:

Your Hub3.0 Status

Wireless (On (2.4and 5 GHz))

Internet (Partial Service (US Only))

Telephony (Ready)

 

The drop in connection happens to all devices and I cannot even setup my TV box neither using ethernet cable nor wifi connection

0 Kudos
Reply
JitteryPinger
  • 1.73K
  • 188
  • 342
Super solver
223 Views
Message 6 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Broadband

Hi @ronniecy1993

Your downstream stats look spot on and pretty good, could you post upstream to be checked and also log please.

If I've helped please let me know 🙂 Matt

A 10+ Year Virgin Media veteran, been here through the Up's and the Down's and Down's....
Vodafone 5G EE BQM Hub 4 BQM Hub 3 BQM Hitron CGNV4 BQM TT BQM

Technical Support - AV & Networking - Customer Service - Finance - Culinary - Construction
0 Kudos
Reply
ronniecy1993
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
219 Views
Message 7 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Broadband

hi, thanks for your quick reply

Upstream bonded channels

 

Channel Frequency (Hz)Power dBmV Symbol Rate Ksps Modulation Channel ID

1

46199691

46.5

5120

32 qam

7

2

60300242

46.8

5120

32 qam

5

3

53700395

46.8

5120

32 qam

6



Upstream bonded channels

 

Channel Channel TypeT1 TimeoutsT2 TimeoutsT3 TimeoutsT4 Timeouts

1

ATDMA

0

0

42

0

2

ATDMA

0

0

88

0

3

ATDMA

0

0

50

0

 

General Configuration

 

Network access

Allowed

Maximum Number of CPEs

1

Baseline Privacy

Enabled

DOCSIS Mode

Docsis30

Config file

cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060+voc-b.cm



Primary Downstream Service Flow

 

SFID

2206526

Max Traffic Rate

230000061

Max Traffic Burst

42600

Min Traffic Rate

0



Primary Upstream Service Flow

 

SFID

2206525

Max Traffic Rate

22000061

Max Traffic Burst

42600

Min Traffic Rate

0

Max Concatenated Burst

42600

Scheduling Type

BestEffort

 

0 Kudos
Reply
JitteryPinger
  • 1.73K
  • 188
  • 342
Super solver
214 Views
Message 8 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Broadband

Your upstream is showing an issue and isn't locking onto signals properly, this may need a technician to visit and fix.

If you wait a few days a staff member will have a look at your connection and book a technician if required.

Alternatively you can call customer service in the morning at 8am to avoid queues.

If I've helped please let me know 🙂 Matt

A 10+ Year Virgin Media veteran, been here through the Up's and the Down's and Down's....
Vodafone 5G EE BQM Hub 4 BQM Hub 3 BQM Hitron CGNV4 BQM TT BQM

Technical Support - AV & Networking - Customer Service - Finance - Culinary - Construction
0 Kudos
Reply
ronniecy1993
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
206 Views
Message 9 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Broadband

Thank you for your help, so someone from Virgin would take a look into this thread and see what actions could take? 

 

cheers

0 Kudos
Reply
ronniecy1993
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Joining in
203 Views
Message 10 of 11
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Broadband

and here are the logs:

TimePriorityDescription05/02/2021 23:39:30criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out; CM-MAC= [removed] CMTS-MAC=[removed];CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;05/02/2021 23:39:25noticeLAN login Success; CM-MAC=[removed];CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;05/02/2021 23:39:6criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out; CM-MAC=[removed];CMTS-MAC=[removed];CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;05/02/2021 23:38:42criticalUnicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted; CM-MAC=[removed];CMTS-MAC=[removed]7;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;05/02/2021 23:38:42criticalRanging Request Retries exhausted; CM-MAC=[removed];CMTS-MAC=[removed];CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;05/02/2021 23:38:33Warning!LAN login FAILED : Incorrect Username / Password / Connection Type; CM-MAC=[removed];CMTS-MAC=[removed];CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;05/02/2021 23:26:50criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out; CM-MAC=[removed];CMTS-MAC=[removed];CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;05/02/2021 23:26:26criticalUnicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted; CM-MAC=[removed];CMTS-MAC=[removed];CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;05/02/2021 23:26:26criticalRanging Request Retries exhausted ;CM-MAC=[removed];CMTS-MAC=[removed];CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;05/02/2021 23:20:4criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out; CM-MAC=[removed];CMTS-MAC=[removed];CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;05/02/2021 23:19:40criticalUnicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted; CM-MAC=[removed];CMTS-MAC=[removed]7;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;05/02/2021 23:19:40criticalRanging Request Retries exhausted; CM-MAC=[removed];CMTS-MAC=[removed];CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;05/02/2021 22:57:46criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out; CM-MAC=[removed];CMTS-MAC=[removed];CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;05/02/2021 22:57:31criticalUnicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted; CM-MAC=[removed];CMTS-MAC=[removed];CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;05/02/2021 22:57:31criticalRanging Request Retries exhausted; CM-MAC=[removed];CMTS-MAC=[removed];CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;05/02/2021 22:50:54criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out; CM-MAC=[removed];CMTS-MAC=[removed];CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;05/02/2021 22:50:42criticalUnicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted; CM-MAC=[removed];CMTS-MAC=[removed];CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;05/02/2021 22:50:42criticalRanging Request Retries exhausted; CM-MAC=[removed];CMTS-MAC=[removed];CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;05/02/2021 22:46:55criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out; CM-MAC=[removed];CMTS-MAC=[removed];CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;05/02/2021 22:46:49criticalUnicast Maintenance Ranging attempted - No response - Retries exhausted; CM-MAC=[removed];CMTS-MAC=[removed];CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

[MOD EDIT: Personal and private information has been removed from this post. Please do not post personal or private information in your public posts. Please review the Forum Guidelines]

0 Kudos
Reply