Menu
Reply
IanBl27b
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
426 Views
Message 1 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Intermittent Broadband

I get intermittent drop outs of access to VM broadband internet on an increasingly frequent basis and cannot access the VM website to log in when this happens, which suggests the broadband internet connection has been lost. I can still access devices across our home network so the router is working correctly and I can access the VM website using mobile data. The internet connection is then restored and I get back to full broadband speed. A system check using VM router says no problems (when the internet is working) and the VM website says no known outages in the area. I cannot access the complaints page at any time on the VM website - says check internet connection.... (Update - I have now been able to access the complaints page and have raised a complaint)

Is there anyway of contacting VM to speak with a human to log a complaint and get this problem resolved, and is anyone else in the TW11 area having the same  or similar issues?

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 20.51K
  • 2.18K
  • 3.62K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
406 Views
Message 2 of 17
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Intermittent Broadband

Call it in on 150 (VM Phone) or 0345 454 1111 (any other phone) and see what they say when they test the connection. Calling at 08.00 (Mon-Sat) or 09.00 (Sun) is the best time to get through quickly. Although people are still reporting getting through fine at other times with no long waits.

You can also text them on 07533 051809 include account name/number and what the issue is – replies usually take longer.

If you follow this protocol we can have a look at the state of your network connection....
_________________________________________________________________

Post up your Hub/network connection details and someone will check to see if there is a problem there.  In your browser’s URL box type in http://192.168.0.1  (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode) and hit return. On the first page up [there should be no need to login if you have done so before unless you have the New Hub4 when you do] click on the “router status” icon/text at bottom-middle of first page up and then copy/paste as “Formatted Text” (not images) 3 FULL sets of data onto here – 2 pages from the Downstream, 2 from the Upstream, & the Network Logs page. Don't worry too much about the formatting it can be easily read & DON’T include personal data or MAC addresses - blank them out - if you copy/paste the data, the board software will do this for you (you may need to click the "submit" button again.

Also, in the meantime... If you haven’t already, set up a free and secure “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any true network dropouts , latency issues, packet drops, etc - it will thus allow you to differentiate between those and simple wifi dropouts. It does it 24/7/365 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections, useful data to have to match to the Network logs (in your Hub settings) and also in discussions with VM - note it will take a few hours to start seeing a sensible picture - post up the “link” to the “share live graph” (as per instructions on the TB website) when it starts to develop.

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
craiggrum
  • 8
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
401 Views
Message 3 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Broadband

Hi, I just messaged the number you provided with my own intermittent service issue (link here - https://community.virginmedia.com/t5/Networking-and-WiFi/Intermittent-Broadband-also-fluctuating-spe...). I received a reply that said:
"...this team cannot help diagnose or fix faults... includes issues with WiFi... For fault support visit https://www.virginmedia.com/help/fix-an-issue or call 150 from Virgin Media landline or mobile. You can call us on 0345 454 1111 from any other phone."
0 Kudos
Reply
IanBl27b
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
372 Views
Message 4 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Broadband

Hi John - is this what you suggest?

Network Log
Time Priority Description
01/02/2021 11:36:12 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/02/2021 03:09:49 notice DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
01/02/2021 03:09:49 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/01/2021 16:11:35 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/01/2021 15:24:34 notice DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/01/2021 15:24:34 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/01/2021 08:47:48 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/01/2021 03:24:34 notice DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/01/2021 03:24:34 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/01/2021 22:10:55 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/01/2021 20:54:30 notice DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
19/01/2021 20:54:30 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/01/2021 22:00:47 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/01/2021 08:54:29 notice DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
16/01/2021 08:54:29 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
13/01/2021 20:39:6 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/01/2021 20:54:28 notice DHCP Renew - lease parameters tftp file-cmreg-vmdg505-bbt057+voc-b.cm modified;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
12/01/2021 20:54:28 Error DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
11/01/2021 06:51:19 critical No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
10/01/2021 16:24:28 notice LAN login Success;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
Downstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
1 259000000 5.3 36 256 qam 16
2 139000000 9.3 36 256 qam 1
3 147000000 9.1 36 256 qam 2
4 155000000 9 37 256 qam 3
5 163000000 8.6 37 256 qam 4
6 171000000 8.8 37 256 qam 5
7 179000000 8.4 37 256 qam 6
8 187000000 8.4 37 256 qam 7
9 195000000 8 37 256 qam 8
10 203000000 7.6 37 256 qam 9
11 211000000 7.4 36 256 qam 10
12 219000000 7 37 256 qam 11
13 227000000 7.4 37 256 qam 12
14 235000000 6.8 36 256 qam 13
15 243000000 6 36 256 qam 14
16 251000000 5.1 36 256 qam 15
17 267000000 5.9 36 256 qam 17
18 275000000 5.8 36 256 qam 18
19 283000000 5.5 36 256 qam 19
20 291000000 6.1 36 256 qam 20
21 299000000 6.8 36 256 qam 21
22 307000000 6.5 36 256 qam 22
23 315000000 5.9 36 256 qam 23
24 323000000 5.3 36 256 qam 24


Downstream bonded channels
Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors
1 Locked 36.6 679 0
2 Locked 36.6 4100 43
3 Locked 36.6 782 0
4 Locked 37.3 283 0
5 Locked 37.3 734 0
6 Locked 37.3 267 0
7 Locked 37.3 209 0
8 Locked 37.3 1484 0
9 Locked 37.6 4088 0
10 Locked 37.3 737 1
11 Locked 36.6 114 0
12 Locked 37.3 5742 361
13 Locked 37.3 9180 982
14 Locked 36.6 4407 104
15 Locked 36.3 2454 6
16 Locked 36.3 294 0
17 Locked 36.6 2357261 3
18 Locked 36.6 615 0
19 Locked 36.6 171 0
20 Locked 36.3 209 0
21 Locked 36.6 179 0
22 Locked 36.6 787 13
23 Locked 36.3 2103 15
24 Locked 36.3 565 0


Upstream bonded channels
Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
1 32599981 29 5120 64 qam 5
2 25800000 27.5 5120 64 qam 6
3 39399930 29 5120 64 qam 4
4 46200017 30.5 5120 64 qam 3


Upstream bonded channels
Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1 ATDMA 0 0 2 0
2 ATDMA 0 0 0 0
3 ATDMA 0 0 1 0
4 ATDMA 0 0 1 0

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 20.51K
  • 2.18K
  • 3.62K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
327 Views
Message 5 of 17
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Intermittent Broadband

Your Up power levels are all too low and out of spec. You need VM to take a look at the connection and it will need a Tech visit to sort it.

Call in to report it - 08.00 is the best time to get through quickly

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
grintricha1
  • 11
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
318 Views
Message 6 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Broadband

How does anyone manage to contact virgin?  When I call 0345 454 1111  I get an automated restart your hub and **bleep** off message?

 

How can you post so much?  when I try it tells me it is over the character limit?

 

virigin have managed to remove themselves from any respopnsibility over technical support, its a disgrace

0 Kudos
Reply
IanBl27b
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
302 Views
Message 7 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Broadband

Hi John - that’s great, extremely helpful, could you give me an idea what value would be normal or the minimum needed? Many thanks, Ian.

0 Kudos
Reply
IanBl27b
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
298 Views
Message 8 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Broadband

Hi Grintricha1 - re post length - I copied the output from the router pages into a Word document as plain text then copied the complete list from the Word document into the post again as plain text, seemed to be no issues with character limit, hope this is helpful?

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 20.51K
  • 2.18K
  • 3.62K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
254 Views
Message 9 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Broadband

The VM Upstream power range is to try to maintain between 35 dBmV and 51 dBmV. However some connections are ok with levels at 31-34 - but yours are below even that

Have you got through to them yet?  If so what did they say?


--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
IanBl27b
  • 10
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
247 Views
Message 10 of 17
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermittent Broadband

Hi John - haven’t tried to contact VM yet, will do so Wed morning and let you know what they say, many thanks, Ian.

0 Kudos
Reply