Menu
Reply
boryssts
  • 37
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
547 Views
Message 1 of 42
Flag for a moderator

Intermidiate network, conection drops frequently between 30minutes 60minutes

Dear Sir/Madam,

For the last few weeks our network has been degrading, from dropped speeds to infrequent loss of the network. However, over the last two weeks to connection became very unstable to the point it will reset a few times in a single hour. Rebooting the Hub or resetting to the factory setting does not help.

Please have a look at the graphs.

My Broadband Ping - VM

https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality/share/186d04a189206dfc6cb742b6075838d6c01357b9-27-05-2022

 

Cable Modem StatusItem Status Comments

Acquired Downstream Channel (Hz)
202750000
Locked
Ranged Upstream Channel (Hz)
39400000
Locked
Provisioning State
Online
 


 

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID
12027500003.538256 qam9
22107500003.538256 qam10
32187500003.238256 qam11
42267500002.738256 qam12
5234750000338256 qam13
62427500002.938256 qam14
7250750000338256 qam15
82587500003.438256 qam16
92667500003.738256 qam17
102747500003.738256 qam18
11282750000438256 qam19
122907500004.538256 qam20
13298750000538256 qam21
143067500004.338256 qam22
153147500004.138256 qam23
163227500004.338256 qam24
173307500004.338256 qam25
183387500004.338256 qam26
193467500004.638256 qam27
203547500004.438256 qam28
21362750000438256 qam29
223707500003.538256 qam30
23378750000338256 qam31
243867500002.538256 qam32

Upstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID
13940000045.3512064 qam6
24620000045.3512064 qam5
32580000045.5512064 qam8
43260000045.5512064 qam7


Upstream bonded channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts
1ATDMA0000
2ATDMA0000
3ATDMA0000
4ATDMA0000

General Configuration

Network access
Allowed
Maximum Number of CPEs
1
Baseline Privacy
Enabled
DOCSIS Mode
Docsis30
Config file
cmreg-vmdg505-bbt060+voc-b.cm


Primary Downstream Service Flow

SFID84376
Max Traffic Rate230000061
Max Traffic Burst42600
Min Traffic Rate0

 

Regards,

Sebastian Szczupak

 

0 Kudos
Reply
boryssts
  • 37
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
541 Views
Message 2 of 42
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermidiate network, conection drops frequently between 30minutes 60minutes

Please have a look at the graphs.

Network Log

Time

Priority

Description

27/05/2022 12:03:50

Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

27/05/2022 12:03:50

critical

SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

27/05/2022 12:03:50

Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

27/05/2022 12:03:50

critical

SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

27/05/2022 11:59:52

Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

27/05/2022 11:59:52

critical

SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

27/05/2022 11:59:51

Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

27/05/2022 11:59:51

critical

SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

27/05/2022 11:59:49

Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

27/05/2022 11:59:49

critical

SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

27/05/2022 11:59:49

Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

27/05/2022 11:59:48

Warning!

Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

27/05/2022 11:59:48

Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

27/05/2022 11:59:48

Warning!

Lost MDD Timeout;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

27/05/2022 11:59:46

Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

27/05/2022 11:59:46

critical

SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

27/05/2022 11:59:45

Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

27/05/2022 11:59:45

critical

SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

27/05/2022 11:59:44

Warning!

RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

27/05/2022 11:59:43

critical

SYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;

 

The logs have been taken after a full reset of all network equipment,  could a senior engineer review if there are issues with a local exchange or the installation to my premises?

Kind Regards,
Sebastian

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 30.78K
  • 3.04K
  • 5.83K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
502 Views
Message 3 of 42
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermidiate network, conection drops frequently between 30minutes 60minutes

Are you in modem mode or router mode? What equipment is connected to the Hub on ethernert cables.

Have you checked for any “known network faults”

1) Try the “check service,”Area status webpage" (link at top right of this forum) - then

2)Try the “free & automated” Service Status number - 0800 561 0061 - which usually gives the most up to date info. and tells you of more local issues down to postcode level. These may not be listed on the Area Status web page (Areas are not “Geographic” they are billing areas) as that usually only covers faults affecting 1000’s of customers) so phone may give you more info, but even that wont cover problems affecting just a few customers - or just you.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
boryssts
  • 37
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
496 Views
Message 4 of 42
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermidiate network, conection drops frequently between 30minutes 60minutes

Hi jbrennand,

Thank you for your suggestion, I had a double check on the area status and the phone number you provided,

So up to today, I was operating on the modem only with TP-Link mesh network using Archer C80 and RE505X, however, I turn VM to router back to prove the point to VM that its not my equipment fault and now the network is running HUB3.0 and it persistently loses connection(14:09:57,14:21:20,14:35:31,14:48:00,15:03:49 etc). Please see my life network monitoring banner in the first post.

The check service,” Area status webpage" return no issues on broadband, on tv it says "TV issue Red Button missing on Sky Sports Golf Channel 505. We are sorry about this, our engineers are looking at fixing this as soon as possible. ".

The  Service Status number 0800 561 0061 states no issues in the area.

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 30.78K
  • 3.04K
  • 5.83K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
488 Views
Message 5 of 42
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermidiate network, conection drops frequently between 30minutes 60minutes

The stats do look ok whilst the BQM is terrible. I think you need VM to take a look - they will respond here in a day or two.

In the meantime can you humour me and tonight just before bedtime, put the Hub into normal router mode and disconnect all ethernet cables from it. Check that the BQM is still running ok - as the i.p. address changes in modem and router modes (or do you have two BQM's going?) and leave it overnight and then see what the BQM looks like.

The one above shows lots of issues in the wee small hours - lets see in the morning if they remained or disappeared.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
boryssts
  • 37
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
483 Views
Message 6 of 42
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermidiate network, conection drops frequently between 30minutes 60minutes

Hi John,

So, right now Hub is running in normal router mode, the big red blip on the graph is the moment I turned everything off and swapped from TP-link to VM Hub.

I will disconnect everything before bedtime as I got only one wire to pull because the hub connects to the passive switch and I will post tomorrow's BQM graph. But the BQM has been running now for a few days and it's quite consistent with disconnects.

I only got one BQM running, I just changed the IP address in the BQMsettings.

VM is sending an engineer tomorrow morning to inspect the connection to my property and they asked me to present the graphs to the engineer. So, any tests I can do beforehand to assist with fault finding might be helpful for them.

Regards,

Sebastian

0 Kudos
Reply
newapollo
  • 12.11K
  • 1.62K
  • 3.69K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
477 Views
Message 7 of 42
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermidiate network, conection drops frequently between 30minutes 60minutes


@boryssts wrote:


I will disconnect everything before bedtime as I got only one wire to pull because the hub connects to the passive switch 

VM is sending an engineer tomorrow morning to inspect the connection to my property and they asked me to present the graphs to the engineer. So, any tests I can do beforehand to assist with fault finding might be helpful for them.

Regards,

Sebastian


Hi Sebastian,

Good luck with the engineer visit tomorrow.

What is the passive switch that the hub connects to?

 

Dave

The Service you do for others is the rent you pay for your room here on Earth - Muhammad Ali


I don't work for Virgin Media.

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge. Learn more

Problem solved? Click to mark as a Helpful Answer, or use Kudos to say thanks

The do's and don'ts. Keep the community welcoming for all. Follow the house rules
0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 30.78K
  • 3.04K
  • 5.83K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
460 Views
Message 8 of 42
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermidiate network, conection drops frequently between 30minutes 60minutes

As Dave has enquired.. switches have a bad record on this board of giving BQM problems when they fail 🙂

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
boryssts
  • 37
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
442 Views
Message 9 of 42
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermidiate network, conection drops frequently between 30minutes 60minutes

Hi Gents,

So the model of the switch is tp-link TL-SG1008D, I am not convinced about the switch theory.

Because I am with VM for over a year now, at my current place and there were zero issues till late March. When I started to have first dropouts.

I am convinced something is failing as the dropouts are getting progressively more frequent, but I haven't discovered what. As you gents suggested isolating all equipment should help zero in.

Regards,

Sebastian

0 Kudos
Reply
legacy1
  • 18.61K
  • 773
  • 1.96K
Alessandro Volta
436 Views
Message 10 of 42
Flag for a moderator

Re: Intermidiate network, conection drops frequently between 30minutes 60minutes

If you run CMD
ping -t 194.168.4.100
and a speed test do you see dropped packets more or do the drops happen when idle?
---------------------------------------------------------------
0 Kudos
Reply