Menu
Highlighted
On our wavelength
Message 1 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Installing BT Home Wifi with VM Superhub 2

Hi all. I am not tech savvy at all but have installed a NAS at home previously so can do more than just use MS Office programs to give an idea of my level.

I am awaiting a BT Home Wifi set (3 discs) and just been reading online about installation - sounds like it could be a nightmare with my lack of knowledge.

Will I just be able to leave the router running as normal and just set up the mesh discs and away I go, happily using wifi or do I need to do something to the router first? (e.g. put in modem mode or turn wifi off)

I was planning to change SSID and password on BT mesh to my old routers SSID and password in the hope all devices already connected will just continue running as normal and connect to the BT discs as and when necessary. Am I right or being naive?

Getting a bit worried that I have bitten off more than I can chew!

Any help appreciated.

Thanks in advance.

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Wise owl
Message 2 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Re: Installing BT Home Wifi with VM Superhub 2

I have the Whole Home system and it works extremely well.  You still use the Hub as the router. If you have any problems with installation just come back to this thread. 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
On our wavelength
Message 3 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Many thanks for the quick reply.

Sounds like I can just set up and go with no fuss then which is awesome.

What about changing SSID and password on the mesh discs to the same as my current VM router? Will it/should it work?

Thanks

0 Kudos
Highlighted
Wise owl
Message 4 of 10
Flag for a moderator

I don't see why not.

You will of course need to turn the Hub's WiFi off. 

There is a BT help forum if you need it. 

0 Kudos
Highlighted
On our wavelength
Message 5 of 10
Flag for a moderator

Right. See, this is where my knowledge falls down.