cancel
Showing results for 
Search instead for 
Did you mean: 

Hub5, Netgear Nighthawk (AX12) RAX120 Router, 1Gig issue

Adam26
Joining in

Hi all 🙂  first time poster! 

I was on the VM250 package and recently increased to the 1gig package for which i was supplied the VM Hub5

Even on the VM250 package i always used my own router and had the hub 3 in modem mode - sorry but just dont think the VM hubs could deliver the stated output.

Netgear Nighthawk (AX12) RAX120 Router

So i need to have my Netgear rax120 deliver the 1gig and my virgin router in modem mode. 

No matter what i have tried thus far i cannot get anywhere near 1gig so now i have both virgin hub5 and Netgear RAX120 outputting their own SSIDs and the max im getting is around 500mbps. 

Any chance somebody could go through all the steps i need to be doing to get the 1gig to work.

I sort of know about putting the Hub 5 into modem mode, but where I think i am faltering is with configuring the netgear, im a complete novice and dont know anything about wan, dhcp, QOS, armor etc.

I will reset both routers before i proceed- clean slate. 

Please can someone help me with step by step info, i and my kiddies will be evr so grateful 🙂

Thank you in advance 

PS: Currently SAM knows and Virgin says im getting 1gig into my router. 

16 REPLIES 16

Adam26
Joining in

just for clarity this is what i have done thus far:

1) Reset Netgear RAX120 (60sec press of reset button)

2) Reset VMHub5 (60sec press of reset button)

3) Then connected just the Hub5 to a PC and logged into VM portal by entering 

Modem Mode,

Enable modem mode

4) Then waited 10 minutes before switching off the VM Hub5.

5) Then connected just the Netgear Router to the PC, went to the Netgear portal page 192.168.1.1

then configured just the SSID and set wifi password (nothing else change but these two)

then changed Netgear RAX120 into access point mode. 

waited 10minutes then switched off.