Menu
Reply
Philinghorn
  • 8
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
666 Views
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Hub4 Slow Ethernet Ports ?

Hello,

I'm after a bit of advise before I phone VM Tech help, not sure if my Hub4 is faulty or its me 🙂 . I have recently been upgraded from M600 to 1Gig broadband with a new Hub4. Previously I had the Hub3, I don't use the Hubs wifi, I have a mesh. My issue is.. With the Hub3 before the upgrade my AppleTV box, which is connected via ethernet was getting a steady 600+Mbs constantly using the Ookla speed test app. Since the upgrade to Hub4 & 1Gig the AppleTV box is getting anywhere from 50Mbs to 350Mbs. I have also tried connecting a laptop via ethernet & again speeds are not constant & between 50Mbs & 450Mbs. Using the Samknows speed test I can see I'm getting 1Gig coming in to the router, but slower speeds out than with the Hub3. Everything is set up the same as with the old Hub3. Am I correct in assuming I should be getting constant ethernet speeds of at least 600Mbs &  I therefore have an issue with the ethernet ports on the Hub ?

Thanks for your time,

Phil

gary_dexter
  • 32.63K
  • 2.01K
  • 4.46K
Alessandro Volta
652 Views
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub4 Slow Ethernet Ports ?

Try a different cable 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Philinghorn
  • 8
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
643 Views
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub4 Slow Ethernet Ports ?

Hi Gary,
Sorry I should have said I tried different cables with both the AppleTV and the laptop just in case. Made no difference I’m afraid. One of the cables was new out the packet as well.

Thanks 

phil

0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 32.63K
  • 2.01K
  • 4.46K
Alessandro Volta
637 Views
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub4 Slow Ethernet Ports ?

Post the Network, Upstream and Downstream logs from the hubs admin pages back here as text 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
Philinghorn
  • 8
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
610 Views
Message 5 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub4 Slow Ethernet Ports ?

Hi Here are the Network logs. Thank you Network Log

Time Priority Description

Thu Jan 1 00:01:22 19703No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Tue May 11 18:47:09 20215MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Tue May 11 18:50:05 20216SW Download INIT - Via Config file cmreg-vmdg640-bbt076-b.cm
Tue May 11 18:51:22 20216SW download Successful - Via Config file
Tue May 11 18:53:53 20215MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Tue May 11 19:20:18 20214DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Tue May 11 20:58:34 20216CM-STATUS message sent. Event Type Code: 24; Chan ID: 35; DSID: N/A; MAC Addr: N/A; OFDM/OFDMA Profile ID: 3.;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Thu Jan 1 00:01:23 19703No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Tue May 11 21:11:19 20215MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Tue May 11 21:50:24 20216CM-STATUS message sent. Event Type Code: 24; Chan ID: 35; DSID: N/A; MAC Addr: N/A; OFDM/OFDMA Profile ID: 3.;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Wed May 12 08:49:58 20213No Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Wed May 12 14:57:43 20216CM-STATUS message sent. Event Type Code: 24; Chan ID: 35; DSID: N/A; MAC Addr: N/A; OFDM/OFDMA Profile ID: 3.;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Wed May 12 20:24:20 20215MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Thu May 13 05:33:38 20216CM-STATUS message sent. Event Type Code: 24; Chan ID: 35; DSID: N/A; MAC Addr: N/A; OFDM/OFDMA Profile ID: 3.;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Thu May 13 17:35:38 20215MIMO Event MIMO: Stored MIMO=-1 post cfg file MIMO=-1;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Thu May 13 22:50:52 20216CM-STATUS message sent. Event Type Code: 24; Chan ID: 35; DSID: N/A; MAC Addr: N/A; OFDM/OFDMA Profile ID: 3.;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Sun May 16 06:57:01 20214DHCP RENEW WARNING - Field invalid in response v4 option;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;
Sun May 16 06:58:21 20216CM-STATUS message sent. Event Type Code: 24; Chan ID: 35; DSID: N/A; MAC Addr: N/A; OFDM/OFDMA Profile ID: 3.;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.1;

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Philinghorn
  • 8
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
605 Views
Message 6 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub4 Slow Ethernet Ports ?

Heres the downstream logs

3.0 Downstream channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

253307500007.00000040.366287QAM25625
41627500007.59999840.366287QAM2564
51707500007.80000340.946209QAM2565
61787500007.69999740.366287QAM2566
71867500007.69999740.366287QAM2567
81947500007.40000240.366287QAM2568
92027500007.30000340.366287QAM2569
102107500007.50000040.366287QAM25610
112187500007.40000240.366287QAM25611
122267500007.50000040.366287QAM25612
132347500007.59999840.366287QAM25613
142427500007.59999840.366287QAM25614
152507500007.50000040.366287QAM25615
162587500007.59999840.366287QAM25616
172667500007.59999838.983261QAM25617
182747500007.59999840.366287QAM25618
192827500007.50000040.366287QAM25619
202907500007.40000240.366287QAM25620
212987500007.00000040.946209QAM25621
223067500006.80000340.366287QAM25622
233147500006.90000240.366287QAM25623
243227500007.00000040.366287QAM25624
263707500007.69999740.366287QAM25626
273787500007.50000038.983261QAM25627
283867500007.59999840.366287QAM25628
293947500007.80000340.366287QAM25629
304027500007.50000040.946209QAM25630
314107500007.69999740.366287QAM25631
324187500007.80000340.366287QAM25632
334267500008.00000040.366287QAM25633
344347500008.09999840.366287QAM25634



3.0 Downstream channels

Channel Lock Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

25Locked40.3662873600
4Locked40.3662872270
5Locked40.9462091800
6Locked40.3662871700
7Locked40.3662871430
8Locked40.3662871470
9Locked40.3662871750
10Locked40.3662871650
11Locked40.3662871380
12Locked40.3662871600
13Locked40.3662871710
14Locked40.3662871640
15Locked40.3662871950
16Locked40.3662871660
17Locked38.9832611710
18Locked40.3662871690
19Locked40.3662871990
20Locked40.3662871950
21Locked40.9462092200
22Locked40.3662872770
23Locked40.3662873230
24Locked40.3662873280
26Locked40.3662876670
27Locked38.9832618920
28Locked40.3662878830
29Locked40.3662879150
30Locked40.94620912040
31Locked40.36628714320
32Locked40.36628716610
33Locked40.36628719240
34Locked40.36628723930



3.1 Downstream channelsChannel Channel Width (MHz) FFT Type Number of Active Subcarriers Modulation (Active Profile) First Active Subcarrier (Hz)
35964K1880QAM4096759


3.1 Downstream channelsChannel ID Lock Status RxMER Data (dB) PLC Power (dBmV) Correcteds (Active Profile) Uncorrectables (Active Profile)
35Locked427.1619172202569082
0 Kudos
Reply
Philinghorn
  • 8
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
602 Views
Message 7 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub4 Slow Ethernet Ports ?

Heres the Upstream logs,

Thank yo

3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

12580000046.2705995120 KSym/sec64QAM11
23940000046.7705995120 KSym/sec64QAM9
34620000047.0205995120 KSym/sec64QAM8
43260000046.2705995120 KSym/sec64QAM10



3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1US_TYPE_STDMA0000
2US_TYPE_STDMA0000
3US_TYPE_STDMA0000
4US_TYPE_STDMA0000

 

0 Kudos
Reply
gary_dexter
  • 32.63K
  • 2.01K
  • 4.46K
Alessandro Volta
598 Views
Message 8 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub4 Slow Ethernet Ports ?

Nothing amiss there at all 


*****
If you think my answer has helped - please provide me with a Kudos rating and mark as Helpful Answer!!
I do not work for Virgin Media - all opinions expressed are of my own and all answers are provided from my own and past experiences.
Office 365, Dynamics CRM and Cloud Computing Jedi
0 Kudos
Reply
risc19
  • 849
  • 27
  • 253
Well-informed
594 Views
Message 9 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub4 Slow Ethernet Ports ?

You have something up as you have 569082 uncorrectables on your 3.1 downstream.

My Broadband Ping - Virgin Lagfest Modem Mode
0 Kudos
Reply
Philinghorn
  • 8
  • 0
  • 1
Tuning in
587 Views
Message 10 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub4 Slow Ethernet Ports ?

Thanks for looking.

I’m assuming the logs are for the up and down between the hub and Virgin ? But don’t show anything with the Ethernet ports or have I misunderstood?

cheers

0 Kudos
Reply