Menu
Reply
dufcuk
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
257 Views
Message 1 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Hub3 with D-Link Wi-Fi issues

Hi all,

A newbie on the forum and seeking some assistance from far more technical savvy individuals 😀

My Hub3 wasn't performing that well so I purchased a D-link AX1500.  Set up went well (I thought), Hub3 into modem mode, connected it to the D-link.  I've a mix of ethernet wired through the house and these devices are working very well.  Phones etc are running well via wifi but I have two chromebooks the kids use that are constantly losing connection with No Internet, secured.

D-link App on mobile shows a speed test of 213.4 download/20.7 upload.  

Any suggestions?  Thanks in advance.

 

  

Tags (2)
0 Kudos
Reply
legacy1
  • 15.49K
  • 664
  • 1.52K
Alessandro Volta
246 Views
Message 2 of 15
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Hub3 with D-Link Wi-Fi issues

Is the firmware up to date?

Do you have a SSID for 2.4 and 5 bands?

Try the chromebooks on 2.4GHz
---------------------------------------------------------------
dufcuk
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
243 Views
Message 3 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub3 with D-Link Wi-Fi issues

Yes, I've checked the firmware on the D-link and it is up to date, similar for the devices.

No, I haven't changed anything so it will be 2.4/5 on the same settings.

 

0 Kudos
Reply
dufcuk
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
222 Views
Message 4 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub3 with D-Link Wi-Fi issues

I've logged into the H3 via 192.168.100.1 and it is showing:  Wireless (off), Internet (modem only) so it looks like the Modem only setting is working okay.   

Under the network status link, under the network log it is showing two critical priority and two warnings in the last 2 hours.  Warnings are RCS Partial Service, critical are SYNC Timing Synchronization failure.   

Not sure if any of this helps identify the problem though! 

0 Kudos
Reply
jbrennand
  • 20.76K
  • 2.21K
  • 3.68K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
215 Views
Message 5 of 15
Flag for a moderator
Helpful Answer

Re: Hub3 with D-Link Wi-Fi issues

Long shot... did you connect it using the "correct sequence" as per belpw? If not it would be worth a try
_____________________

Disconnect all cables from your new router (or Mesh first unit) and unplug it. Put the VM Hub into modem mode (see VM website for “how to” details) and wait for the base light to turn magenta/purple (on a Hub3 - but not on a Hub4!). Once it’s in modem mode, the VM hub must then be powered off. Then, set up your own router/Mesh with the WAN port set to be in DHCP & Nat mode, it may be pre-set that way anyway. Make sure it’s fully initialised (leave 5 min) and then put in the WAN cable to the VM hub. Now power up the VM hub and you should get a connection. Use the recommended App to connect other Mesh units to the first one. This order only needs to be done the first time you connect the router to the VM hub.

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
legacy1
  • 15.49K
  • 664
  • 1.52K
Alessandro Volta
215 Views
Message 6 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub3 with D-Link Wi-Fi issues

On your D-link AX1500 can you give 2.4G its own SSID and 5G its own SSID.

---------------------------------------------------------------
Adduxi
  • 2.54K
  • 181
  • 521
Trouble shooter
214 Views
Message 7 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub3 with D-Link Wi-Fi issues


@dufcuk wrote:

<snip>  Under the network status link, under the network log it is showing two critical priority and two warnings in the last 2 hours.  Warnings are RCS Partial Service, critical are SYNC Timing Synchronization failure.   

 


I don't think this is the issue as this would affect all connected devices.  As stated earlier split the SSID into two distinct names, e.g. append _2 and _5 to the names.  .  This will allow you to connect to a specific band and may stop the Chromebooks disconnecting.

Post your power levels and Network logs for comment to see if we can spot the issue around the SYNC errors.

Brava210
  • 256
  • 4
  • 38
Fibre optic
213 Views
Message 8 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub3 with D-Link Wi-Fi issues

FWIW, I had the exact same issue when I was using the D-Link Router.

It also had the worse App I have ever used for a router or Mesh system.

I changed to an Asus AX56 and the difference was incredible

******************************************************
Virgin 350 Hub 3, 3 x V6, TP-Link Deco AX20 x1, M5 x2 - United Artists/Telewest/VM Since 1990
dufcuk
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
192 Views
Message 9 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub3 with D-Link Wi-Fi issues

On your D-link AX1500 can you give 2.4G its own SSID and 5G its own SSID.

Yes, I've now given the two channels their own name.  I've tried connecting a Firestick as a test and I can see both channels but the wifi is so weak that I can't get connected.  The Hub3 was okay.

0 Kudos
Reply
dufcuk
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
171 Views
Message 10 of 15
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub3 with D-Link Wi-Fi issues

Logs:

Downstream bonded channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1419000000240256 qam32
22030000004.538256 qam9
32110000004.138256 qam10
42190000004.338256 qam11
5227000000438256 qam12
62350000003.738256 qam13
72430000003.238256 qam14
82510000003.538256 qam15
92590000003.738256 qam16
102670000003.740256 qam17
112750000003.538256 qam18
122830000003.438256 qam19
132910000003.438256 qam20
142990000003.738256 qam21
15307000000438256 qam22
16315000000440256 qam23
17323000000438256 qam24
183630000003.440256 qam25
193710000003.240256 qam26
203790000002.938256 qam27
213870000002.540256 qam28
223950000002.240256 qam29
23403000000238256 qam30
24411000000240256 qam31



Downstream bonded channels

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked40.321009251
2Locked38.6213412287
3Locked38.6219112044
4Locked38.6210611223
5Locked38.9230410166
6Locked38.923059699
7Locked38.923229293
8Locked38.923788930
9Locked38.923218642
10Locked40.325748240
11Locked38.926437978
12Locked38.925947310
13Locked38.926017691
14Locked38.624387734
15Locked38.922868272
16Locked40.322808519
17Locked38.923008575
18Locked40.320639591
19Locked40.3196510618
20Locked38.6211910595
21Locked40.3211710136
22Locked40.321799547
23Locked38.9221510052
24Locked40.322679414
0 Kudos
Reply