Menu
Bluey0121
Joining in
Message 1 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Hub 4 Do I need a router

Hi Guys I moved house last month and decided to get the 1Gig package with the Hub 4, I had it fitted last Saturday and the WiFi signal is terrible looking on here I'm not to only one with issues. I'm not very technical but I read up and get by when I need something done but I'm not sure where to start here.

I see a lot of people don't rate the kit you get with Virgin anyway and get there own router to run in modem mode I don't mind spending some money and it needs sorting but I don't know where to start could someone please let me know of some kit that would work well with the hub 4 maximum speed is not my aim but I'm after something stable to run a smart home and run plenty of devices together. 

I can't stand a two year battle with Virgin I would rather get it sorted.

Cheers people

0 Kudos
jbrennand
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
Message 2 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 4 Do I need a router

See this - will be free to you so worth a try..

https://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php/2021/01/virgin-media-uk-launch-plume-powered-intelligent-wifi-...

--------------------
John
--------------------

I do not work for VM. My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router +2 Airport Express's. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Bluey0121
Joining in
Message 3 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Thanks mate it's worth a go.

Cheers

0 Kudos
tehwolf
Superfast
Message 4 of 5
Flag for a moderator

Do you want to run any cables?

how much do you want to spend in total?

what’s the property like? (Size, construction type I.e modern construction / plasterboard or big thick stone walls etc..)