Menu
Reply
Bbdogz
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
990 Views
Message 1 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Hub 4 Connectivity problems

Hi all😃

I have recently switched from Bt to virgin gig1 internet. 

I have only had Virgin 20 days and was running the same setup on bt with no connection issues ( I only switched due to only being able to get 45mbps speed ) 

I have had a constant issue with the following connections via wifi & ethernet since day one 

Three Xbox's dropping out connection(1x Xbox series x)(1Xbox series s)(1x Xbox one X) connected via wifi first & due to no stability now via ethernet.on both I get the following errors & also am never instantly connected to the internet (I have to wait up to 5 minuets to connect )

  • DNS isn't resolving 
  • Can't connect to the internet 
  • DNS isn't resolving Xbox server names

I have also had a game download that when connected via ethernet dropped to a speed of 937.44kbps up to 296.03mbps

I also have connectivity issues with the following;

  1. Swann Cctv connection dropping out all cameras are wired and dvr-box is connected via ethernet ( when im out trying to view via mobile app I get failed to connect to device
  2. Sky Q looses internet connection and has to have the internet settings reset to connect (connected via ethernet) (no IP address obtained )
  3. I have had random disconnects via wifi from iPhone 13 pro max (no internet connection)

I had two engineers out and they did not resolve the issue first one said I need a new hub second one  said everything was working with the hub.i was given the engineers mobile number but he has stopped responding to me after the second engineer visited.

I have a Netgear GS105UK 5 port Gigabit Ethernet network switch connected to one port and all Xbox's connected to the other three ports on back of the hub.

I then have Hive connected to the Netgear , a smart tv & sky Q 2tb box.

Any help would be appreciated im no expert but will try most things to resolve this

Thanks 

Paul 

 

 

 

 

0 Kudos
Reply
Adduxi
  • 6.08K
  • 511
  • 1.57K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
981 Views
Message 2 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 4 Connectivity problems

One point I will make, BT would have been issuing IPv6 addresses to your Xbox's and that is something you will not get with VM.  I have 2 XBox's and don't have to set any port forwarding  for them using BT.

I assume you have done all the relevant Port Forwarding for your XBox's in the Hub's firewall?

As for the rest, maybe you should try splitting the wifi SSID to enable you to choose the band and channels for you IT kit.

• Access your Hub by navigating to 192.168.0.1
• Login with the default login info (on base of Hub) unless you've already updated it.
• Go to Advanced Settings > Wireless > Security
• Under Wireless Frequency 2.4GHz change the Wifi Network Name (SSID), suggest append _2 to the end.
• Repeat for the Wireless Frequency 5GHz, suggest append _5 to the end and click on Apply changes

I'm a Very Insightful Person, I'm here to share knowledge, I don't work for Virgin Media. Learn more

Have I helped? Click Mark as Helpful Answer or use Kudos to say thanks

legacy1
  • 19.5K
  • 799
  • 2.06K
Alessandro Volta
973 Views
Message 3 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 4 Connectivity problems

Run ping -n 200 194.168.4.100 with a PC to the hub  no switch if no packet loss buy a better router and use hub in modem mode.

---------------------------------------------------------------
Nickfrazer22
  • 1
  • 0
  • 1
Joining in
889 Views
Message 4 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 4 Connectivity problems

Hi Paul 

I am getting the same issue with sky q in the past week dropping the Ethernet connection to the virgin router and then not getting an IP address when reset. It will connect via wireless.

if you are having issues it may be a change virgin has put in an update rather than the coincidental switch from Bt to virgin.

if you get a fix I would  appreciate you letting me know [Removed]

 [MOD EDIT: Personal and private information has been removed from this post. Please do not post personal or private information in your public posts. Please review the Forum Guidelines]

 

 

John_GS
  • 14.36K
  • 736
  • 1.34K
Forum Team
Forum Team
857 Views
Message 5 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 4 Connectivity problems

Hi Bbdogz

Thanks for posting and welcome to the community. Sorry to hear of the issues with the broadband. Not the ideal start. 

Have you been able to try the community advice and if so has it fixed things?

Let us know if you need further assistance.

Best,

John_GS
Forum Team


Need a helpful hand to show you how to make a payment? Check out our guide - How to pay my Virgin Media bill

0 Kudos
Reply
Bbdogz
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
852 Views
Message 6 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 4 Connectivity problems

Nothing has fixed the issue

i will be going down the modem mode soon as i have had another engineer out tonight and he agreed and recommended this

 

thanks   

0 Kudos
Reply
Tom_F
  • 4.22K
  • 250
  • 537
Forum Team (Retired)
Forum Team (Retired)
821 Views
Message 7 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 4 Connectivity problems

I've taken a closer look into this today Bbdogz and can't see any obvious issues. 

 

Please post your Hub/network connection details so we can check to see if there is a problem there. If you're unsure how:
In your browser’s URL box type in  http://192.168.0.1  (or http://192.168.100.1 - if in modem mode) and hit return. If you have a hub 2 or 3 when the page loads don't log in but click ‘Check Router Status’. If you have a Hub 4 when the page loads log in and then click ‘Check Router Status’.

 

Copy full sets of data from the downstream, upstream, & network logs pages and paste them here. Please don’t post screencaps - if you copy/paste the data the forum software should blank any sensitive details out for you.

 

You can also set up a free “Broadband Quality Monitor” to continually monitor the state of your connection and record any network dropouts.  It does it 24/7 and it keeps a visual record of any/all of your network disconnections: https://www.thinkbroadband.com/broadband/monitoring/quality

 

Tom

0 Kudos
Reply
Bbdogz
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
807 Views
Message 8 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 4 Connectivity problems

Hi Tom

I will post that now 

any help is greatly appreciated 

Thanks 

Paul 

0 Kudos
Reply
Bbdogz
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
805 Views
Message 9 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 4 Connectivity problems

3.0 Downstream channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

1411000000737.4QAM2561
24190000006.837.6QAM2562
34270000006.737.6QAM2563
44350000006.837.4QAM2564
54430000007.137.6QAM2565
64510000006.937.6QAM2566
74590000006.737.6QAM2567
84670000006.937.4QAM2568
94750000006.537.6QAM2569
104830000006.537.4QAM25610
114910000006.337.4QAM25611
124990000006.637.6QAM25612
135070000006.437.6QAM25613
145150000006.637.4QAM25614
155230000006.837.4QAM25615
165310000007.137.6QAM25616
17539000000737.4QAM25617
18547000000737.6QAM25618
19555000000737.6QAM25619
205630000007.137.4QAM25620
215710000007.337.6QAM25621
225790000007.137.6QAM25622
23587000000737.6QAM25623
245950000006.937.6QAM25624
256030000006.737.4QAM25625
266110000006.537.6QAM25626
276190000006.337.4QAM25627
286270000006.137.4QAM25628
296350000006.237.6QAM25629
306430000006.137.6QAM25630
316510000005.937.6QAM25631



3.0 Downstream channels

Channel Lock Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

1Locked37.35598800
2Locked37.63627600
3Locked37.63627600
4Locked37.355988257180
5Locked37.63627600
6Locked37.63627600
7Locked37.63627600
8Locked37.35598800
9Locked37.63627600
10Locked37.35598800
11Locked37.35598810
12Locked37.63627600
13Locked37.63627600
14Locked37.35598800
15Locked37.35598800
16Locked37.63627600
17Locked37.35598800
18Locked37.63627600
19Locked37.63627600
20Locked37.35598800
21Locked37.63627600
22Locked37.63627600
23Locked37.63627600
24Locked37.63627600
25Locked37.35598800
26Locked37.63627600
27Locked37.35598800
28Locked37.35598800
29Locked37.63627600
30Locked37.63627600
31Locked37.63627600



3.1 Downstream channels

Channel Channel Width (MHz) FFT Type Number of Active Subcarriers Modulation (Active Profile) First Active Subcarrier (Hz)
33964K1880QAM4096728


3.1 Downstream channels

Channel ID Lock Status RxMER Data (dB) PLC Power (dBmV) Correcteds (Active Profile) Uncorrectables (Active Profile)
33Locked383.1761950230
0 Kudos
Reply
Bbdogz
  • 7
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
804 Views
Message 10 of 14
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 4 Connectivity problems

3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

15370000040.85120 KSym/sec64QAM2
260300000415120 KSym/sec64QAM1
339400000405120 KSym/sec64QAM4
44620000040.35120 KSym/sec64QAM3



3.0 Upstream channels

Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

1US_TYPE_STDMA0000
2US_TYPE_STDMA0000
3US_TYPE_STDMA0000
4US_TYPE_STDMA0000

 

0 Kudos
Reply