Menu
Reply
Elonex1958
  • 14
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
162 Views
Message 1 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Hub 3

Hello, I still have the problem with WiFi disconnecting. I was told to reset the router but it made no difference. I have  noticed that when the WiFi disconnects the green WiFi symbol is steady for a few seconds then it flashes intermittently but the white light at the base of the router is steady white. I thought that the ethernet connected devices lost WiFi as well but they don't.

 

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) SNR (dB) Modulation Channel ID

 

1    203000000    9.9    38    256 qam    9

2    211000000    9.8    38    256 qam    10

3    219000000    9.3    38    256 qam    11

4    227000000    8.9    38    256 qam    12

5    235000000    8.5    38    256 qam    13

6    243000000    8.3    38    256 qam    14

7    251000000    8.1    38    256 qam    15

8    259000000    8.5    38    256 qam    16

9    267000000    8.4    38    256 qam    17

10    275000000    8.3    38    256 qam    18

11    283000000    8    38    256 qam    19

12    291000000    8.3    38    256 qam    20

13    299000000    8.4    38    256 qam    21

14    307000000    8.3    38    256 qam    22

15    315000000    8    38    256 qam    23

16    323000000    7.6    38    256 qam    24

17    331000000    7.8    38    256 qam    25

18    371000000    7.3    38    256 qam    26

19    379000000    6.9    38    256 qam    27

20    387000000    6.6    38    256 qam    28

21    395000000    6.6    38    256 qam    29

22    403000000    6.5    38    256 qam    30

23    411000000    6.5    38    256 qam    31

24    419000000    6.4    38    256 qam

0 Kudos
Reply
Elonex1958
  • 14
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
160 Views
Message 2 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3

Downstream bonded channels

 

Channel Locked Status RxMER (dB) Pre RS Errors Post RS Errors

 

1    Locked    38.6    305    1

2    Locked    38.6    385    0

3    Locked    38.6    217    0

4    Locked    38.6    463    1

5    Locked    38.9    440    1

6    Locked    38.6    750    55

7    Locked    38.9    611    11

8    Locked    38.6    350    1

9    Locked    38.6    213    0

10    Locked    38.9    162    0

11    Locked    38.9    159    0

12    Locked    38.9    197    0

13    Locked    38.9    226    0

14    Locked    38.9    146    0

15    Locked    38.6    163    0

16    Locked    38.6    234    0

17    Locked    38.9    382    1

18    Locked    38.9    125    0

19    Locked    38.6    591    69

20    Locked    38.9    322    115

21    Locked    38.9    121    0

22    Locked    38.9    94    0

23    Locked    38.9    93    0

24    Locked    38.6    84    0

0 Kudos
Reply
Elonex1958
  • 14
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
159 Views
Message 3 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3

Channel Frequency (Hz) Power (dBmV) Symbol Rate (ksps) Modulation Channel ID

 

1    39400102    36.8    5120    64 qam    2

2    46200000    37.8    5120    64 qam    1

3    25799981    36    5120    32 qam    4

4    32599931    36.3    5120    64 qam    3



Upstream bonded channels Channel Channel Type T1 Timeouts T2 Timeouts T3 Timeouts T4 Timeouts

 

1    ATDMA    0    0    2     0

2    ATDMA    0    0    2.     0

3    ATDMA    0    0    1.     0

4    ATDMA    0    0    1.      0

0 Kudos
Reply
spgray
  • 2.39K
  • 139
  • 338
Problem sorter
149 Views
Message 4 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3

so to confirm, ethernet connected have no issues at all?

-----------------------------------------------------------

My Broadband Ping - spgray

0 Kudos
Reply
Elonex1958
  • 14
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
145 Views
Message 5 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3

There are no problems with the two bridges that I have connected to the router, I was told that it might be a problem with noise.

0 Kudos
Reply
tehwolf
  • 1.57K
  • 253
  • 379
Superfast
143 Views
Message 6 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3

One of your four upstream channels hasn't negotiated a QAM of 64, which it should.. you also have some post-rs errors, so the connection isn't perfect but it's also not terrible - it's not dissimilar to my own and VM didn't think it warranted an engineer visit.. in fairness, my own connection works for the most part, i just get some packetloss here and there (which i'd love to get rid of, but there we go..)

If it's just the wifi that is causing drop-outs and ethernet connected devices get acceptable service, then you have two options

1. you can play about with the wifi settings on the hub, split the bands, disable channel optimisation and hope that the resulting separated 2.4 and 5ghz signals give your devices a better service or

2. buy yourself a decent wifi router/mesh system and never look back 😛

for option 1.. log into http://192.168.0.1 and navigate to advanced -> wireless -> smart wifi - tick the box to disable channel optimisation and save. then navigate to advanced -> wireless and rename the two networks in there - you could just append _2 and _5 - click apply and restart the hub.. you will now see two wifi networks - connect devices to these networks.

5ghz is usually a lot faster but has shorter range, so if your device shows that as an option, use it, but be mindful of range.. 

0 Kudos
Reply
Elonex1958
  • 14
  • 1
  • 0
On our wavelength
139 Views
Message 7 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3

Thanks for that, so why does the green WiFi symbol flash when I lose the connection?

0 Kudos
Reply
tehwolf
  • 1.57K
  • 253
  • 379
Superfast
134 Views
Message 8 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3

no idea, but there's a 26+ page thread on it here where you might find some answers.. 

0 Kudos
Reply
spgray
  • 2.39K
  • 139
  • 338
Problem sorter
130 Views
Message 9 of 9
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3


@Elonex1958 wrote:

Thanks for that, so why does the green WiFi symbol flash when I lose the connection?


what does this say about the light? https://www.virginmedia.com/help/virgin-media-what-do-the-lights-on-your-hub-mean


-----------------------------------------------------------

My Broadband Ping - spgray

0 Kudos
Reply