Menu
Tbones
Tuning in
Message 1 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Hub 3 with external router

Ever since I have had Virgin Broadband the wifi range is amongst the poorest I have ever had. 

I live in a 4 bedroom Bungalow all on one level and the wifi drops out as soon as I get into the next room which is not great.

In fairness to Virgin they have given me 2 wifi boosters which generally only cover the areas that they are in as they are not much good either.

I am new to community help and have only just started to read some of the feedback and comments regarding this issue.

It seems to me that the best way forward is to but another router and connect it to the Hub 3 box with the Hub 3 in Modem mode. 
With that said I would like cheap recommendations as to what to buy for the best and is it as simple as connecting it to the Hub 3 and leave it next to this hub with the new router being able to give me the range across the bungalow. 

What I want to do is what i have said above but I also want to keep the boosters on to give it that little bit extra range. My current set up is Hub 3 box with ethernet cable going to 1) the V6 box 2) my TV 3) Virgin Wifi booster 4) tplink booster system. So what I think I need to do is to connect a new router to the Hub 3 with an ethernet cable going to the V6 box from new router and then also my tv plugged into my new router. I believe my tv could go wirelessly if needed to.

Any advice would be great.
Thank you
Tony

0 Kudos
tehwolf
Superfast
Message 2 of 19
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 with external router

It can be a little tricky to get modem mode set up in the first instance as there’s a specific sequence you need to follow too get it all working, but that’s something folks here can help with.. 

In terms of what to buy.. imho you’d be better off ditching the boosters and replacing the entire setup with a wireless mesh. Boosters are the least good way of extending a network.