Menu
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
249 Views
Message 1 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Hub 3 will not store network name or password and drops connections

Our hub has not been able to store a network name or password for a while. It will allow me to change them but within a day it resets itself back to the factory defaults. We gave up and decided to live with it. More recently the WiFi connection to all devices has been terrible. It will intermittently provide no internet access to devices or drop the WiFi connection completely. This even happens standing right next to the hub. At these times direct wired access is fine. We have check the local area status and run diagnostics which have shown no issues. I am fairly convinced it is the hub that is malfunctioning. I would appreciate any help. 

Tags (3)
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
204 Views
Message 2 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 will not store network name or password and drops connections

I see that posting a network log is often helpful. This doesn’t look right to me 😉

 

Downstream bonded chNetwork Log

Time Priority Description

31/07/2020 15:20:33Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/07/2020 12:29:12criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/07/2020 10:01:29Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
31/07/2020 09:54:46criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/07/2020 13:56:30Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/07/2020 13:44:33criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/07/2020 13:24:18Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
30/07/2020 12:15:54criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/07/2020 06:33:22Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
29/07/2020 05:42:3ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/07/2020 19:12:35ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/07/2020 09:22:37criticalSYNC Timing Synchronization failure - Loss of Sync;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/07/2020 09:22:37Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/07/2020 08:52:35criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
28/07/2020 08:43:12ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
27/07/2020 07:21:26criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
26/07/2020 10:36:40Warning!RCS Partial Service;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/07/2020 03:48:48criticalNo Ranging Response received - T3 time-out;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
25/07/2020 03:47:43ErrorDHCP REBIND WARNING - Field invalid in response;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
24/07/2020 20:17:18ErrorDHCP RENEW sent - No response for IPv4;CM-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CMTS-MAC=**:**:**:**:**:**;CM-QOS=1.1;CM-VER=3.0;
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 15.63K
  • 1.64K
  • 2.66K
Very Insightful Person
Very Insightful Person
174 Views
Message 3 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 will not store network name or password and drops connections

If all your wired connections are fine, then you could solve all of your wifi issue in one go by doing what I and many others on here do, which is ditching wifi from the Hub and getting your own better quality wireless equipment.
Or if you wait here for 2 or 3 days for a VM person to pick this thread up they may well offer to swap your Hub.

--------------------
John
--------------------

My services: HD TV on VIP (+ Sky Sports & Movies & BT sport), x3 V6 boxes (1 wired 2 WiFi,) SH2 in modem mode with Airport Extreme Router. On VIVID200, Talk Anytime Phone, x2 Mobile SIM only iPhones.
0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
158 Views
Message 4 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 will not store network name or password and drops connections

Thanks John

I’d probably like to get the base hub replaced if possible even if I switch to a separate WiFi box. Seems like only a matter of time before it catastrophically fails and I can’t be without it when I’m working from home! Will see what the Virgin Media people say when they get on  

Appreciate you taking the time to respond and give some advice. 

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 9
  • 0
  • 0
Tuning in
95 Views
Message 5 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 will not store network name or password and drops connections

Bump to see if any Virgin Media rep will have a look

0 Kudos
Reply
Highlighted
  • 2.99K
  • 176
  • 237
Forum Team
Forum Team
84 Views
Message 6 of 6
Flag for a moderator

Re: Hub 3 will not store network name or password and drops connections

Hi WobblyGoblin,

 

thanks for posting, adn sorry to hear of the issue you're having with the hub..

 

I've had a closer look at it using your forum information, and it's showing out of spec.

 

It's something I'll need to arrange an engineer for, if they decide a new hub is needed they can arrange this on the day.

 

You can view the time and date of your appointment here

 

Alex_Rm

0 Kudos
Reply